We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This property is simply one of the worlds great hotels. Luxury everywhere you look. There are also a number of excellent restaurants on site. I visited the Chinese and the Italian restaurants and both were very good.

The rooms are impeccably decorated, of a good size and spotlessly lean. The staff are as friendly and attentive to your needs as any I've experienced anywhere in the world.

I've taken one star off for the location. As at October 2013 the property is surrounded by roadworks upgrades which makes walking anywhere very unpleasant. As the site is a little isolated from the Nathan Road action, this is an important consideration. You really need to jump in a taxi to go anywhere. Of course, this may improve when the work is completed.

This is a hotel with an amazing WOW factor. I strongly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brizzietraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,391
    271
    62
    20
    19
See reviews for
578
924
171
573
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A Lifetime experience! A unique luxury Stay on the clouds in the spacious guest rooms. Breathtaking view of Victoria Harbor.When you visit Ozone Bar you are totally on the Top of the world! Friendly Stuff and stunning Interior.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yi0taE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you have money to spend and would like a memorable experience I suggest you try this impressive hotel. Real luxury. Staff would do their best to offer you perfect service. Dinner in restaurant Tosca was impeccable, but I feel the wine I chose was a bit overpriced. The bar Ozone
is also a good dinner option and you could enjoy the famous light show from there though at the night I stayed it was a disappointment.
Another advantage is that you could spend a whole day inside and in the shopping area at the base of hotel to escape from the heat.

Room Tip: with view of HK island
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Fx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wow, I've never stayed anywhere like this. Firstly, the reception is on the 103rd floor and the rooms are up from there. The staff, service, food and rooms are exquisite. Breakfast is delightful and not to mention the views. The rooms are the perfect size and have more then everything that you need. Every time you turn around there is a staff member to greet or help you. Also take the opportunity to use the Spa on the 116th floor, the treatments are sensational. Massive shopping centre downstairs and make sure you go up to the bar on the 118th floor at night to enjoy the view. Great hotel, I was there for work but highly recommend it as a splurge!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I feel compelled to write my first review to share what a wonderful experience we had at this property. This was, without a doubt, the best stay we have had at any hotel anywhere in the world. Everything from the smell that is pumped in on the ground floor (which we would love to know what it was) to the views from the pool on floor 118 -- everything was exquisite. But what really sets this hotel apart from the scores of others is the wonderful staff and their incredible attention to detail and willingness to go the extra mile for us. In my experience, it's quite common for 5 star hotels to have the feel of arrogance in the air, but not at this property. Everyone from the woman manning the door to the Elements mall to the Spa staff seem to genuinely love what they do -- and it really shows in the Guest experience.

I also have to mention a few people by name as they all provided an incredible level of service:

Violette Fung gave us a warm welcome and ensured our every need was met. Jessica Lui ran a tight ship in the club lounge and was quick to offer her local expertise. Carmen and Maggie, in addition to their great club service, spent hours hand making a "Happy 15th Anniversary" sign for my wife and me -- that is exceptional! The Spa staff (Tony?) noticed that it was our anniversary and had strawberries and a bottle of champagne waiting for us (another example of anticipating needs and exceeding expectation). Finally, Igor, Declan, Quentin and the rest of the Club lounge staff were always willing to help and had constant smiles on their faces (even when dealing with some of the more demanding Guests).

I have to admit that I have never taken the time to write a hotel review before, but I wanted to make sure you everyone what an incredible hotel this is -- you cannot go wrong staying here. I doubt we'll ever be able to top the hotel experience we had at the Ritz-Carlton Hong Kong.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room in the house -- but we highly recommend upgrading to Club le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Ritz HK,1st night at Island Harbour room then 2 nights at Grand deluxe suite. We chose it based on TA community's reviews n decided to splurge on a birthday celebration.
We arrived on a late night flight, shortly after midnite. Unlike other reviewers' experiences, we weren't escorted to our rooms but the birthday cake was there. To be honest, I wasn't satisfied with the Island Harbour room though it was strongly upsold to us by the hotel booking staff when we called directly to book. The layout was just ordinary. The toilet showed signs of being heavily used. Maybe it is just us being fussy. We normally stay at one of the best hotels a city offers, so a Ritz Carlton, Banyantree, Park Hyatt, Shangrila is the norm. When u pay for more than SGD $1100 a nite , your expectations are naturally high.
When we were given a change of room, to the Grand deluxe suite, it was a better experience. The layout at the Grand deluxe was far better n the view was very good
What wows :
I actually liked the luxurious decor of the reception lobby n the Grand deluxe room we stayed, the tv at the bath n the swanky nice-smelling corridors.
The view of Victoria Harbour was ok at such a high floor but not fantastic. How long can u be staring at the sea and the boats against the dense pea-soup sky? When I compared it to the stunning view at Sydney's Shangrila of the beautiful harbour, the opera house n the harbour bridge against azure blue skies, this one at HK just paled in comparison ( shangrila at less than half of the cost of this hotel).
The view at the breakfast cafe was good, that is before the skies turn hazy (my mistake for not checking how many days HK has clear skies).
Yes we did meet one or two nice and helpful staff. However many of the staff standing around the lobby are hospitality students on internship and they are not experienced or uniformly warm. For instance, they will stop a lift for u at the 9th floor where u arrive, but do not help with pressing the lift floor to the 103rd floor of the reception where u need to go.
What is not value- for- money :
I seriously think the F&B department of this hotel has a mental block- hey the cheapest guests r all paying close to SGD 1000 a nite including service charge (the rest r all paying above SGD$1000) but the food served at the breakfast cafe was, to be fair, embarrassingly mediocre n canteen-quality.
Aside from the freshly prepared juices, nothing else was more elaborately offered. For travellers who have never been to really good-class hotels, they would say the breakfast here is fabulous but if you look past the eggs, noodles, porridge n baked potatoes n the tired , rubbery dimsum , the discerning traveller will wonder "What's there to eat?" Frankly, u would expect any top-rated hotel to offer more exciting salads than just plain lettuce in balsamic vinegar (yup they served that for 3 days in a row) .
There is simply no effort or heart put into the breakfast menu. We saw the same food for 3 days.
At the Lalu, a renown hotel in Taiwan that sets the gold standard, guests are served cooked Korean, Japanese, Continental, fine Chinese ,Italian breakfast n many dishes r prepared on- the- spot for the guest. In Singapore's Ritz Carlton, the vast breakfast spread even provides chocolate n ice cream.
And if you try the Chinese restaurant, you will know why the locals do not frequent it. Yes, expensive. We dined twice to spend the credits given to us, one at dinner n another at lunch. The service beyond the initial greeting was disappointing. At both times, I had to remind the service staff twice to change my wet plate (they use teenie weenie plates).U would expect a good restaurant to change plates after each course. And they don't know the difference bw baby kailan n normal kailan. The baby kailan we ordered was clearly not kailan shoots.
This hotel also does not give the exclusive feeling. It is particularly popular with mainland chinese families with young kids. You hear kids at the taxi stand, at the reception, at the lifts, the breakfast arean at the restaurants. U must be able to stomach indulgent parents n their kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mordecai12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Whilst staying in Hong Kong recently we discovered the Ozone bar on the 118th floor of the Ritz Carlton - it was fantastic, great service, amazing views - a very pleasurable experience I would highly recommend if your are ever in HK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 458Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,466 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
West Kowloon
W Hong Kong
W Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Address: International Commerce Center, No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying floors 102 to 118 of the International Commerce Centre in Kowloon, The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong is the highest hotel in the world. The hotel's 312 guestrooms all offer spectacular city and harbour views. With six dining venues including the state-of-the-art Michelin-starred Italian restaurant, Tosca; two-star Michelin Chinese restaurant, Tin Lung Heen; The Lounge and Bar, which features an international all-day dining menu; and Cafe 103, which serves signature chocolate afternoon tea. The rooftop bar, Ozone, is truly a stunning venue at 490 meters above sea level. For those wishing to relax and indulge, The Ritz-Carlton Spa by ESPA located on the 116th floor features nine deluxe treatment rooms and two couple's suites, redefining the urban spa experience in the city and across Asia. The hotel features a fully equipped fitness center and an indoor pool on the 118th floor with a 28m x 7m LED screen on the ceiling, as well as one of the largest ballrooms in the city at 870sqm. Complemented by an additional four meeting rooms, the ballroom has become the major social venue for Hong Kong and has set the benchmark for events in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing