We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #7 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Steinbach, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I just checked out after a 2 week holiday with my son. Great place to stay. One floor only with 15 rooms in a hospitality training facility. Room are large, staff great. Special thanks to Christie, Lorraine and Terrence, just to name a few. You made our stay very special. The facilities are great, great food, great room, very clean and the staff is very attentive. It is a training hotel where students have direct contact with the guests. I ink it is a beautiful idea. Definitely a place to recommend! Bus station in front of the hotel with 20 into central station Hong Kong. Very good rates with great comfort and care...I'll be back! Thanks for making my stay special.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefmike_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    67
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
107
241
40
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My twenty-first trip to Hong Kong and finest hotel experience. I've stayed in many higher end hotels here, but none were as enjoyable as The T Hotel. The staff was amazing beyond words. Always at your service, helping with taxi drivers, making sure they understood your destination. Lawrence at the front desk was especially helpful and so eager to please. The housekeeping was the best. One morning I called for laundry pick up, and within one minute, the young lady was there! The rooms are the cleanest anywhere, I promise. Breakfast buffet was western style, fresh and bountiful. Location to me is not a worry, just allow for an extra fifteen minutes to your destination. Looking forward to my next stay at The T. John Harper

Room Tip: Ask for "partial" sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just spent a week at this hotel - our third time in as many years.

I can safely say that this is my favorite hotel in Hong Kong. (Really! - see my review of the Ritz Carlton) Their rooms are the largest of any I have seen on Hong Kong island and the prices are very reasonable.

One must remember that this is a training hotel (*gasp* maybe that's why the hotel is so named) and that the service can oscillate between "overwhelming" (6 students to open the door for you when you arrive?) and "oh lord, I don't know what I'm doing". Fortunately, their instructors are never too far away, and are always on hand to salvage the situation.

The lovely touches in this hotel are those that you only expect in the finest establishments. Turndown service with petite fours and a bucket of ice are wonderful, but the masterstroke is in providing a bath toy every evening for your child. That is gold. (only 1 teddy bear per stay Conrad? *Humpf*)

The location, is one that I had struggled to rate. it is in honesty a 5 star rating for me. Only because I have a) family living in the vicinity and b) I actually dislike jostling with the 7million people in the more central areas of Hong Kong. But for the benefit of most people who presumably want to be somewhere or see something (other than the gorgeous surroundings) I give it a conservative 3 stars.

My one bugbear, is that the TDS training restaurant does not admit children. (I can't imagine why!) so choices for dining are limited solely to the lounge (where breakfast is also served). The food is otherwise very palatable, if not lovely; although I think I may have pushed the boundaries of student capabilities when I asked for poached eggs for breakfast. Poor dears may have gone through half a basket to get them perfect... but like most things at the hotel, they eventually get there. And they get there with an A+.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are much larger if you value the space (unprecedented in Hong Kong). Otherwise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sejok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The T-Hotel may be a little hard to find but well worth the effort. We took the A10 or 11 (can't remember but the hotel will send you a map with bus info) from airport for an hour's worth of local touring. Bus stops directly in front of hotel as do other buses to Central. No problems there. The service is meticulous and it is gratifying to help the well-supervised students practice their English. The included breakfast is ample but it is the size of the rooms, the view, the attention to detail that really makes the T-Hotel a delight, especially if you prefer quiet nights. Bathroom has shower and tub with TV over the tub and telephone by the toilet. Be sure to ask them how to work the magic window.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level Contributor
178 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

My favourite restaurant in Nice is a training restaurant, and this training hotel is going to stay as a golden memory.
Set aside in a quiet zone of HK, you'd need a taxi or a bus to go anywhere, trainees try their best to make you feel welcomed, and most of the times they succeed and when they don't is just because of a lack of security.
Hospitality is an art that relies on confirmed expectations (we chose it thanks to TA) and little surprises (a toy frog appeared on the bathtub for my son) and treats (afternoon chocolatines), T Hotel is an artist forming place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AgentOrangeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We spent 2 nights here last Oct and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of being served by trainees. We smiled a lot! Every time we appeared there was a scramble to open the doors for us. Everywhere you turned there was a white-gloved waiter ready to pounce. The accommodation was very good, and we really enjoyed the breakfast dumplings. We also appreciated being a little distance from the hurly-burly of the city. There's nothing quite like the 'T Hotel' - which made our first trip to Hong Kong so memorable. You could pay at least twice the price to stay in a bland city-centre hotel. Don't - go here instead!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This really has to be the best value for money hotel in the world. It is such a crazy experience from start to finish. When we arrived there were no less than seventeen trainees in the reception lobby, with the vast majority having their first day on the job, so the check in was a little painful. A few minutes later however we were shown to our fabulous suite with probably the best view of any hotel in the world, vast sweeping panoramic windows looking over the magnificent harbour, packed with vessels of all kinds, whilst eagles soared seemingly within reach just outside. The bathroom had a full length window, so you could soak and enjoy this magnificent view, The bed was fantastic, the food in the restaurant excellent and unbelievably cheap and you even have your own nespresso machine in your room! Everywhere you go, each of the trainees are tripping over themselves to be of service and nothing was too much trouble. It would be hard to over rate what a great hotel this is. Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,466 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
TUVE
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Property: The T Hotel
Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing