We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms, staff and food excellent.”
Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #7 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms, staff and food excellent.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Staying at this hotel now, and cannot fault the service, food and help with booking tours the staff have given us. There are only a small number of rooms available, and staying here feels as though you are the only guests they have to look after, such is the individual attention you are given. Can't rate or recommend staying here highly enough. It is a little far out of Hong Kong, but access is very easy and frequent, and the staff only too willing to help you get where you want to be. The rooms are very modern and comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Five star rating for everything. Loved staying here, and recommend it to all - it's a gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Looniemummy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    69
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
110
245
41
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

As the name suggests, this is an establishment where most of the staff are training, under supervision, to work in the hotel trade. We stayed here for 4 nights in February and found the whole experience positive and enjoyable. The 'hotel' itself is located about 15 minutes drive from Hong Kong Island's Central district. There is a frequent bus service and taxis are cheap at around 60 HK dollars. The rooms are modern, spacious and well appointed, with great sea views. They have twice daily housekeeping with a nightly turndown service. There is an extensive high quality hot or cold buffet breakfast on offer. Additionally, omelettes, poached eggs and fried eggs are made to order. As the hotel was fairly quiet during our stay, the trainees generally outnumbered the guests at breakfast. This meant that we received more attention than we would normally like, as students tried to practice their newly gained skills. Also, there was sometimes confusion due to the meaning of our requests being lost in translation. However, as long as you are prepared to go with the flow, you'll enjoy the experience. There is also a limited evening menu of a good standard and at a very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend staying at the T hotel. It is wonderful value, at a fraction of the price of the big hotel chains. The young staff are friendly, enthusiastic and keen to learn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phantomfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights for business purposes in one of the Ocean View rooms. Although the hotel is pretty standard as in dont expect anything exquisite it is very clean, offers great views and everything simply works / functions as it is supposed to. The staff is great. A young crowd of which some are obviously in a learning environment but being mentored by what I would say very professional supervisors. All in all, value for money and a great atmosphere!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 7wondersDONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights as a stop over. Great place. All reviews accurate so not much more need be said. Restaurant also well worth a visit. Rooms great. Value for money particularly in Hong Kong. Gives easy access to the sights on the island

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank bractullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pender island
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The T Hotel on Hong Kong Island in Hong Kong is a nice, very new hotel where everyone tries to please you but you must remember the staff are all in training, This is a hospitality training academy that operates a hotel as part of its facility. It is very well appointed, reasonably priced, comfortable, quiet and easily accessed from the island, Kowloon or the airport. Breakfasts are very good. From the airport, an A10 bus drops you right at the base of the hotel drive and buses or taxis can easily get you to restaurants or shopping in all of the major areas.
The staff try very hard but are very new at the work and often don't understand the intended process very well. (Watching a bottle of wine being opened for the first time was really quite amusing.) The positive side is they ARE trying and the minor mistakes are easily forgiven. Book early because there are limited rooms. Some have a spectacular harbour view.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bucketlistmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in February and were very glad we did. Having read the many flattering reviews, I had guessed we would be underwhelmed by the actual experience, but we were mesmerized by the property and concept. It's modern, minimalist designed and spotlessly clean rooms and public areas; advanced technology throughout as well as the can do attitude of the instructors and trainees was a pleasure to behold.

True, the hotel is a little out of the way sitting as it does above CyberPort, but that's actually a nice benefit in Hong Kong. Having stayed at the Conrad Hilton in Admiralty the last time we were in Hong Kong, this was much quieter and relaxing not to mention easier on the wallet. If you're on the company's credit card, go for the Conrad, otherwise on your own dime, this is less than one-third the price for similar comfort in a training facility. Keep that in mind and you'll sleep even better at night.

We were in the midst of the Temple Street Night Market one evening and jumped aboard a bus (#970) that took us directly back to our little oasis away from all the hustle and bustle of Kowloon in just 25 minutes. Another day we took the complimentary hotel shuttle to the HK Central station and caught the MTR to Tung Chung for the CityGate Outlet Mall. A trip which took less than 45 minutes overall. We caught a bus (#23) to the Big Budda from there. I could not have driven there faster if I had known the way. Use the Octopus Card for convenience. There is even one specifically for elders that will automatically adjust your fare to the concession amount. There is a fabulous mass transit system for the area not to mention inexpensive cabs. I would not let the location stop you from staying here even though it is away from the most common tourist sights.

We got a chance to dine in the Chinese Culinary Restaurant on the 8th floor for lunch one day. It was really an excellent 7-course meal. This was similar to the many times we have dined at culinary schools around the World and we love the experience. It may not provide flawless service for a true restaurant critic, but really excellent Cantonese food at what amounts to the cost of ingredients. Make sure to try it for lunch or, preferably, dinner if you stay over a Friday night.

Upon checking out, we used the hotel shuttle to Central plus the Express MTR train to the airport which was very nice. We noticed this is how flight attendants and pilots get to the airport. We will definitely book the T Hotel again if we return to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank TravlinfoolSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Thank you tripadvisor for the tip. This place doesn't advertise and nor does it need to. The quality of the hotel room is very high and the sea view is just stunning. Some of the staff are better than others and they can be over attentive. But they're training, they're allowed to make mistakes. And they certainly try to make your stay enjoyable. The lunch and dinner menu is a bit limited but you're not in Hong Kong to eat at the hotel. I'd recommend it to anyone and I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. It's a panorama over Waterfall Bay and we had a family of red kites outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,536 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,715 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
TUVE
#28 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Property: The T Hotel
Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing