We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unique alternative in Hong Kong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #11 of 697 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unique alternative in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were looking for a less expensive hotel option in Hong Kong, and decided to try the T Hotel despite our curiosity about the reviews. Conclusion is that this is a great option; the T Hotel's luxury combined with its training mission will give you stories for years to come.
The rooms are first-rate (and extremely high-tech), the workout facility is excellent, and the breakfast buffet has plenty of options for all. The trainees are extremely eager to please and the on-site managers keep a close eye on any trainees who are interacting with the public, so you will usually have two or three trainees plus a manager involved in your service. This actually helped us since we grabbed the wrong bag on the way from the airport. The hotel staff kicked into action--located my bag at the bus office, arranged for me to get it, and took custody of the other bag. The hotel's mission might be better served if the managers allowed the trainees to spread their wings a little more, but that is just a minor suggestion. We recommend the T Hotel highly--you will have a great experience.
Echoing others' comments--if you are arriving at night on the airport bus, be alert as you enter the Pok Fu Lam area to get off at the correct stop. The T Hotel is in an office building with very little else around. People on the street pointed us in the right direction (to the VTC complex) but most people don't know anything about the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Specifically ask when reserving if you want a shower--one of our rooms had a tub with a short hose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CincyJoe95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    54
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
87
200
32
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed there as part of our honeymoon and the hotel was really great, its not at the center but its really easy to transport from and to the center. The bus stop is right in front of it. Big rooms for Hong Kong standards

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akasmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are fabulous and very clean. The staff are very friendly and try their best to accommodate your needs (though their English isn't the best and at times things need to be said slower or repeated - but this is to be expected as they're training) They genuinely try to impress.

We only stayed for a night, it's a little out of the way but easy to get to by bus or taxi. We spent our time on the buses and enjoyed travelling with the locals and ex-pats and it wasn't a very long journey into the city.
Overall we'd definitely stay here again - perhaps for longer next time. Good service, a super clean room that is a decent size and at a great price - what more can you ask for?!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syd05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We are family with 5 y-o toddler and 7 months baby. We're lucky that the hotel can put 4 of us together in one room (with a cot for my baby) thanks T hotel for arranging this only in less than 3 weeks booking! Communication via email was so easy and smooth, and definitely FAST! I even didn't have to make any phone calls to do the reservation, which made it comfortable since we're not Hongkong residents.

First, the bed was superb. We also stay in Disneyland Hongkong Hotel afterwards and I have to say that T-hotel bed is far more comfortable. Room was excellent. Clean, big, bathroom was very clean (with a flat TV!) and they even provide digital weight scale which I normally found only in 5stars-hotels. It's very nice to go back to this excellent comfortable room after the whole day exploring the city. Oh towels are so comfortable too! (Again comparing to the other hotels')

Second, service. Some trainees were a bit limited in english. We tried to ask some questions but after talking with 2-3 people we decided to talk directly to the supervisor. This is not a big problem for us, anyhow we are also not an English native speaker. But we found other guest was a bit annoyed with this so maybe this is something you need to consider.

Third, location. This is more into my mistake. I read all the reviews which mentioned that the location is a bit far from the city, I just didn't expect it was "that far". With limited time to explore the city and small kids travelling with us, it's a bit difficult to go back to the hotel for a quick nap and go back to the city without at least sparing 1-2 hours for all the fuss. We tried to take the bus to go to the city as suggested by other reviewers, but unfortunately it's not as easy as expected (or maybe it was just not our luck) After around 20 minutes waiting in the bus stop with windy-cold weather (we went in dec), we decided to take taxi which was not that cheap for a quick trip. Won't be a problem if you plan to go since the morning till night (particularly if you're a single traveller or travelling with friends).

Fourth, food. Breakfast was ok. A lot of choices and the greatest part was they even extended the breakfast til 10.30am, noticing us coming late with the kids. And they even let us know (even more than once) which food would be put aside first etc. Very considerate. Had dinner at the hotel and it's good. Unfortunately the in-room dining was not that great, we ordered sandwich and it came without any garnish at all, just a very plain sandwich with chips. Maybe because lack of salada etc? But nobody informed us anything about that.

Fifth, don't worry about taxi. As long you asked the card from the front desk and showed it to the taxi driver, you won't have any trouble going back to this hotel. But you really have to have that card.

Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank monikatanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Hong Kong. It is a little out of the way but that is only an issue if you happen to arrive after 10 p.m., as we did, and have to depend on room service for dinner. There are no restaurants near by. The hotel is very new and the rooms are gorgeous with all the amenities of a five star hotel. We especially enjoyed the well equiped fitness room. There are over 200 students training at this hotel and some of them are as young as 15. Don't go there expecting polished service-these students are there to learn. What they lack in polish they make up for in eagerness. Sometimes you have to smile at their enthusiasm. I have never had my napkin refolded so many times during a meal. The breakfasts were great with an enormous selection of fresh fruits, baked goods, an egg station and just about anything else you could think of. The view from the restaurant out over the ocean was lovely. We had asked for an ocean view room when we booked six months earlier but were told on arrival that none were available. I don't know how far in advance you need to book to get an ocean view but six months ahead did not do it. The only negatives were the two evening meals we had there. The first night we ordered from room service because the dining room was closed. After a half hour wait I got a call to tell me there was no lettuce for a salad. I changed my order and half an hour after that my sandwich showed up minus the chips and garnish which I was told they had run out of too. My husband had dinner by himself one night and was really disappointed. He said the house wine was so bad he could not drink it. The appetizer resembled cardboard and the main course was just adequate. I would highly recommend the hotel but would visit one of the many wonderful restaurants in the city for dinner.
Reviewers have said the hotel is a little out of the way but the public tranportation system in Hong Kong is so good that the location is really not an issue. Buy an Octopus card at the booth in the airport as soon as you arrive . Put $200 Hong Kong dollars on it and then use it for the train from the airport, the subway, the bus, the ferries and even the food courts. It can be topped up at any Octopus desk. The bus comes by the hotel every ten minutes or so and will take you downtown to connect with subway or ferry. When you leave visit the Octopus desk again and they will return any money left on the card except for a very small administrative fee. Cabs are also readily available and very cheap.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can. This hotel is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank almonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here recently as a result of the Tripadvisor rating.....we weren't disappointed. Rooms are simply stunning, staff cannot do enough for you - the trainee style adds to the experience, the dining is inexpensive yet very good. On returning on our last night, we were greeted with a red carpet and all the staff in traditional oriental outfits - the trainees were clearly learning how to receive VIPs....and that included us! It is not in central HK or Kowloon, but there are multiple buses into Central or the other way to Aberdeen if you fancy something different......or cabs are under HK$100. From the airport, take the express train and then get a cab from Central.

Couldn't fault the stay at the t hotel....for about a fifth of the price of a 5 star elsewhere in HK.

Room Tip: The views over the South China Sea are breathtaking......
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank patnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Other hotels are hard to meet our expectation after staying in this hotel. Indeed it lives up to the number 1 rating in Tripadvisor. We were lucky that we managed to get the Ocean view room as the view through the window glass panel is breathtaking. Everything in this room is of quality. You do not need to bring any of your toiletries as everything is provided, including a loofah! The bed is extremely soft and comfy. Each night when we got back, we were greeted with a bucket of ice cubes and the room is arranged as though we were royalties. My son looked forward to the rubber toy, chocolates and cookies that the hotel provides every night.
The room service dining is fantastic. Not only is the price reasonable, the presentation is as though you are eating in a restaurant.
A word of advice to those who want to stay here. Pokfulam road is very long. So, make sure you get the phone number and the address of the hotel ready as some taxi drivers do not know this place. There is also no sign outside the building. Our taxi driver had his GPS but even with that he had trouble finding the place. So we called the hotel and ask for direction. Secondly, be prepared to take bus or taxi if you stay here. It is not difficult to take a bus here as they are many buses plying this route. Ask for the list of buses from the reception. If you want to take a taxi, the staff will walk out to hail a cab for you and they will tell the driver where to drop you.
There are so many good things to say about this hotel that I can go on and on. I will go back to Hong Kong again and it will be because of The T hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank yellowie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 697 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 4,657 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 3,246 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 697 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Property: The T Hotel
Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing