We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!!!! but be prepared for some interesting experiences”
Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #8 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Booked this hotel as part of a nine day stay - the other 4 days were at Langham Place and subject of separate review. A bit hard to find, no signs but if you look for Chinese Training College sign you are there
Firstly I will say that when you pay 50% of the rate of a normal 4-5 star hotel you cant expect it to 100% as good - but it comes so close. The rooms are spacious ,brand new and have everythng you would expect - Great view of the shipping channel for our room . Most of the fittings were good quality but not 5 star . Check in worked well , bags came quickly - so if you want to check in sleep and leave you have a great time . However if you want to eat in house be prepared for some things to go wrong . Cold food , Chips that came 30 mins after the main and some communication issues ,along with a fairly bland menu, on the plus side its so cheap , main course A$10,beer $2 , cocktails $3 bargain price even by HK standards.
Some of the problems stem from lack of english with the students , no their fault perhaps the first 6 months of the course should be english . No one knew what Milk was???
The location will not suit everyone for us it was great we have been to HK 5 times so using the bus out the front to get to central was easy and its only A$7 in a cab TIP if you want a can get them to call one - extra $5HK - much quicker
The students try their best and have big hearts and I really enjoyed the good and bad of this
Sometimes they just dont use commonsense
Overall I would go back in an instant - just great value - but I do want to mention a disturbing incident on checking out - in short the supervisor argued with us over a mini bar item worth 80 cents - even got the students to check the bin to see if there were 2 empty bottles - there was but one we had bought in
so basically just after we paid a total of $13,000HK for 2 rooms - we were confronted over $6HK
and my wife was accused of lying - Commonsense says even if the the guest is wrong you dont argue over such a tiny amount - I am writing to the management about this
Despite this we will go back

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ron1955goldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for The T Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 552 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and the hotel was 1 of the highlights of our trip.

The rooms are big, clean, new and well-furnished. The toilet had a long bath, a shower area and a TV! We stayed in a sea-view room and you really get an unblocked scenery of the ocean from the bed and we enjoyed watching these big birds ( couldnt tell what they were) soaring in the air every morning.

We really liked the thoughtful touches: every night, we were delighted by 2 pieces of yummy choc truffles and cookies, well-placed towel-floor mat for each side of the bed; and a cute little rubber ducky/toy for the long bath. The chocolates were so good that we bought 1 box back for the family who also raved about them. They didnt sell the cookies otherwise we would have bought them too.

The staff are young, earnest and smiley. What they lack in professionalism, they more than make up for, in their eagerness to please.

Location was mentioned in other reviews as its disadvantage. However as this is not our first trip to Hong Kong so we found it to be a nice change to take the bus up - down the hill. The bus-stop is located just outside the Hotel and the sign board tells you clearly where the buses go to; we found many buses go to the major tourist locations. It is about 20 mins away from Central. It is true tho that you wont find any eateries or shopping around the hotel.

We think this is a 5* hotel at 4* prices and will definitely return.

Room Tip: the extra for the sea view is worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sporeantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a hotel is geared towards training youngsters in the hotel business, which is why you are charged a much lower rate than a hotel of similar quality. The hotel frontage is nothing special to look at - its an appartment block. The views from the hotel rooms look the other way, over the bay, with a lovely view. The students are always supervised, so if they have difficulty, there is always someone on hand. Have a little patience and you will find it a rewarding experience - they are keen to learn.
The hotel is a little way out of the main town, but easily accessible by buses (the octopus card makes it very cheap and easy), which stop just outside.
The room and facilities are top quality, the (inclusive) buffet breakfast was excellent, the views over the bay delightful.
We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GrahamL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The T hotel was an amazing experience and we were very happy with our stay. The previous reviewers said it all before, this truly is a hidden gem. The whole staff makes you feel welcome and they are so eager to please, the service is impeccable and the young trainees are such a nice change to be around from the somewhat starchy service in other top hotels.
Breakfast is great - dim sum were either steamed buns or lo mai gai - the lotus leaf sticky rice wraps were actually better than at the Tim Ho Wan michelin star place in Kowloon. You also have american roasted breakfast, pastries, cereal, deli meats, cheese, fruits etc. all is delicious. the view from breakfast terrace is to die for, on a clear day you see all the island in the channel and ships approaching Victoria harbour.
the transport to and from downtown was no problem, never you have to wait for more than few minutes, multiple buses serve Macau terminal, central and even Kowloon. on the way back we found the most convenient to get bus from central bus terminal ( exit A1 and the walkway), bus 71 in front of Western market across macau ferry terminal or green minibus 22 from Caine rd at the mid level escalators.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ilsalmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

You almost don't want to tell people about this place as it is sooo good. What everyone already said, the hotel is a training facility, however you hardly feel like a guinea pig, everything is top notch and the view is AMAZING. There is also a culinary institute attached as well as a western dinning society, the food is really very good - especially for the prices. The location maybe a bit out of the way, especially if you are a tourist, however it more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biztrav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My kids (20,17,14,9) loved this hotel so much that they did not want to leave to see Hong Kong. We let 2 of them stay one day and play video games in the room while the rest of us toured Hong Kong. They said it was their best day of the vacation.

The hotel and staff are peaceful and you feel well cared for. They really focus on making sure you are happy. The rooms are fabulous and spotless. They have considered every detail for your comfort. There were lots of ooohs and ahhhs from the kids when we were showed our rooms.

The taxi driver from the seaport seemed put out that we were going off the beaten path and kept telling us he had never heard of this hotel. He found it with no problem and the many times we went back and forth to Hong Kong, there were no problems either. The location is quite convenient and we were glad to stay here. It seemed just a 15 min ride to wherever we needed to go.

The view at breakfast is fabulous. It is so nice that it makes you want to linger all day. Our rooms had a view of the other side which was also very nice.

We came to Hong Kong thinking we were going to buy custom made suits. We did not feel these were a great deal and the quality we saw was not great either. My son had a fabulous silk and wool suit and 2 shirts made in Vietnam a month before for $80. Here the suits were $300 and up and not so nice. We decided not to waste our time. We found no great deals on shopping either. You can buy the same things in the US cheaper. The food is a good deal in Hong Kong and we loved that. My daughters had their long hair cut and styled at a salon for $12 each. They did a fantastic job so it was a great deal. We pay $50 each in the US for the same thing.

We went up the long escalator to the mid cities and that is a trip not to miss. It was beautiful, scenic, and lush. We also visited the zoo and the children's museum and highly recommend them. I would skip having high tea at the Peninsula as many recommend. It is severely overpriced and the people who work there are pretentious. I was told I was not dressed appropriately as I had on a dressy pair of sandals (I knew not to wear flip flops). People in Hong Kong think feet are dirty and do not want to see them. Maybe this is why the Chinese used to bind feet...they don't like them. If I had on a pair of sneakers, I could have gotten in. We didn't want to after we saw the prices. We went instead for dim sum which was fabulous at a fraction of the cost.

After a long day on our feet one of my daughters and I decided to get a foot massage. We found a nice little place in the main shopping area. During our massage the other girls working there started bringing nervous looking business men to the back rooms. We realized too late that the girls here were prostitutes. It is so unfortunate for the women (and children and families) of Hong Kong that this practice is so prevalent.

It seems everyone here speaks English and they are very good to Americans. My girls became facebook friends with a young waiter who was excited to take photos with them to show his friends. It is the people of Hong Kong that make visiting so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank natalie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

While this is a training facility for future hotel staff we had wonderful service. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was wonderful, from a soaking tub with tv to a lovely separate shower with multiple shower heads.We had a lovely view of the China Sea. A very nice buffet breakfast was included in the price. The biggest draw back was the location as there isn't much around the area. There is a bus stop nearby and the hotel does provide 2 daily shuttles to the central area (you need reservations).

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sanismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,953 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 721 in Hong Kong
544 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,979 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#35 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,177 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $106 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing