We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many good news & only one not so good - fantastic value for money!”
Review of The T Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The T Hotel
Ranked #8 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel is more or less the best hotel value in Hong Kong! First of all, the website of the hotel, so you can check it out or even book through it (which is recommended) is http://www.vtc.edu.hk/thotel/index.html. The reason that this hotel is much cheaper than similar others is that the hotel is run/operated by trainees of the Vocational Training College of Hong Kong (always under the supervision of experienced managers) as the whole organization is an educational institution for tourism!

Before i'll give you the hotel facts so you can deside for yourself i'll have to inform you that by saying Hong Kong someone usually means, the whole area, which is the (rather small) island of Hong Kong and the bigger area which is called Kowloon. As you can easily imagine, the properties on the island of Hong Kong are way more expensive than the other ones. So, you have to deside where you want to stay as the hotels in Hong Kong island are expensive (as all of the properties over the island, for example the rent of a 2bedroom appartment costs about 3,500US$ per month) except this one, the T hotel, which has an average cost of 90euros or 120USD per night, including breakfast and an ocean view room ! Absolutely worth it !

The good news about the T hotel are,
* Everything looks (and is) brand new.
*Beatiful reception / entrance. Don't get fooled by the first look, the entrance area is inside the complex and it is very beatiful!
*You will feel very welcome! Always! As the trainees are trying hard to do their best, you'll benefit from that - though sometimes it takes a bit more time (like 5-10mins more) for some standard proccedures like check in etc.
*Safety, as there is 24hours guard for the whole complex and moreover the elevators are working only with card rooms - by the way i felt very safe in hong kong, there wasn't even the need to keep an eye for scams or something..
*Fantastic rooms - exactly as they look in their official site's photos! Big and VERY clean. Workstation with all the types of plugs (!), high speed internet (included / free). Big closets with enough space. Safety Box. Light control for the whole room near the bed.
*VERY good sleep quality as the big bed, the matresses and the linens are high quality! These plus the variety of pillows means the you'll sleep great - which for me is the most important in a hotel.
*Big bathroom with both options (!) a big modern shower and a bathtub. Very good quality and "fluffy" towels.
*Every day room cleaning (sometimes twice a day). Small chocolates that you'll find nearby your bed after that plus two (or sometimes even 3 or 4 ) bottles of water - remember they are trying to do their best.
*Whatever you ask for, after 2 mins there is a smiley trainee in front of your door ready to bring it to you!
* Breakfast with great variety and quality. The view is awesome in the breakfast area!
* Well equiped gym with treadmils and machines.It has towels and it's spacy and new!


The not so good news:
* It's location requires the use of a taxi for the Hong Kong center (10-15mins ride - about 5-7euros / 7-10US$) or a bus (30 mins total for waiting and transportation 1,1euro or 1,5$).

All in all i totally recommend this hotel, you can save much money while enjoying the welcome feeling that you get all the time. Don't forget to get the bus A10 from the airport which will cost you only 4euros/6US$, 45mins ride. I forgot to take the bus (every 30') though it was very easy to go to the bus station and i took a taxi so i paid 430HKD, which is about 40euros or 55US$. Wasn't worth it for this one.

Good luck in whatever you'll choose to do and have a great time in Hong Kong ! :o)
Thanks for reading my review.

Room Tip: All the rooms will mostly meet and exceed your expectations, those facing the ocean have better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank nikosgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 557 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We are at the T Hotel now and we are enjoying it throughly. The rooms are very clean, and modern and have everything I feel you could ask for in a hotel room. You must understand this is a training hotel and all the young staff here are in training so your patience & understanding is required but it is a wonderful experience,from the detailed turn down service at nite, to the delicious food in the restaurant I am so glad we chose this special place in Hong Kong! Did I mention the amazing views here! You book through the hotel website thotel@vtc.edu.hk

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank BrisbaneBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

T-hotel is located at Pokfulam, from the airport you can take Bus A10 to the hotel. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel and It only take 20-30mins to reach Central or Mongkok. A cab ride to Peak tram will cost around HK$70.

Don't be put off by the outside appearance of the hotel, T-Hotel is actually a very chic and modern hotel run by Vocational Training College of Hong Kong. The hotel rooms, restaurant, gym and business centre are all located on the 6th floor of VTC. As T-hotel is run by trainees in the college, check-in/ check-out might take around 15-20 mins but the trainees show very good effort and enthusiasm to help you with the luggage and show you around the room - which is very rare.

The size of the room is big if you compare it with a 4/5-star hotel in Hong Kong. Room is chic and modern, bed super comfortable and bed sheets are very clean - not even a single stain! There is a walk in shower and a bath with TV in the bathroom and the hotel provides you with loads of toiletries - there is even a bath scrub provided. The mini-bar is very well stock and a can of coke cost only HK$6! Complimentary wifi is provided by the hotel. What I like most is the attentiveness provided by T-hotel. Everyday when I went back to the hotel, there will always be a bucket of ice and a plate of cookies and chocolates placed on the table! The best part is it only cost HK$745nett per night for a room with ocean view!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank valtripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I visited Hong Kong recently to see the folks with my girlfriend, and to give us some privacy and space, my folks booked us this hotel in Pokfulam.

Now first off, a bit of background. The T-Hotel is a training facility run by the Vocational Training College of Hong Kong. It's located on the 6th floor of the VTC facility in Pokfulam. There are about 35 rooms, a restaurant / cafe, a gym and a business centre all on the 6th floor. The hotel is run by trainees in the college, and they do pretty much everything, from checking you in to cleaning the rooms and turning down the beds, under the watchful eyes of their instructors (who seem to really know their stuff).

We checked in on a Sunday afternoon and were pretty stunned by the size of the room, it's big by HK standards. There is a walk in shower and a large bath, with a TV in the bathroom and a glass partition between the bathroom and room that turns opaque at the touch of a button! The mini-bar was well stocked and the room was pleasantly air conditioned. Everything you would expect in a four-star hotel.

The super King sized bed was just right in terms of softness, with a variety of pillows provided to suit your weary head. Linen is changed daily if you so wish.

The staff throughout our stay were enthusiastic and helpful, we quickly identified the "Good cops" and the "Bad cops" amongst the instructors and some seem to ride their trainees quite hard. However, anything the the trainees can't deal with is easily rectified by their instructors.

The room price included a complimentary buffet breakfast which is well prepared, with fresh fruit and Chinese and Western options.

Now, the down sides. It should be made clear that this is a training facility. The trainees are all learning on the job and everything takes a little bit of time so you have to be patient. We returned from Ocean Park one afternoon to find two housekeeper trainees standing at the door, awaiting a formal inspection by their boss! Needless to say the room was spotless.

The location is not the best, there is a bus stop directly outside the hotel but sometimes there's a bit of a wait for taxis.

The overall cost for the room with mountain+sea views was HK$750 per night. Yes, that's 750 for a 4-Star hotel in Hong Kong, some rooms are as cheap as HK$550. That's pretty good value for money and you'd be helping young people learn on the job and prepare for their future.

Overall, I would recommend this to leisure travellers and young couples. Though older folk and business people might find the slower service frustrating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Philip_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

this hotel is school training hotel, so don t expect so much but still for the price you fell like you are in 4 star hotel.
Student take care of you to well there is the problem but well i can adapt...
so yes staff make mistake but it is great if you can past it but at 850 hkd a night not a big dill.
the worst is the location but the view is fabulous.
if you don't care payed 60khd for taxi it is a place i recommend to stay in HK

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank popoaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This is a training hotel and you are served by students in training. There might be a few hiccups here and there but you can see that they are devoted to the job and serve wholeheartedly. A refreshing break from robotic service that you see elsewhere. Don't worry -- they are monitored by experienced trainers and the overall experience is exceptional. The only catch is that the location is a bit out of the way. Make use of the bus stop right in front of the hotel as calling a taxi may take longer than waiting for the bus.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ruadocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I recently heard about this new property from a friend of mine who is a member of their club so I decided it was a great opporunity to try something new considering I was in Hong Kong for a vacation.

My friend said that the hotel was actually trainee operated so with this in mind, my partner and I decided to take a tour of the property (in case it wasn't for us). Tours of the property are readily available and after one lunch at the Chinese restaurant on the premises, we decided to participate in the tour. It was fairly quick and brief but it was enough to see the main facilities in the property which were the executive lounge, two room types, gym and business centre.

We were told on the tour that the property is a training facility and that it is operated mainly by students with little supervision. Why I have to state this is because if you plan on staying, I think it's best you know (and I will explain later the repercussions of having students organize and prepare everything).

My partner and I decided to take the plunge and give it a try and since the room rates were more than reasonable (HKD $550 for a Saturday night in an Ocean View Room including buffet breakfast for two!) we thought we had nothing to lose.

We arrived on the following Saturday and was delighted to be greeted by the trainees in a loud and clear manner. We were rather impressed at the professionalism however it may be deemed slightly intimidating as there were 5 student porters on each side of the front door and as you walk in, they all greet you in unison.

The room was absolutely stunning! Complete views of South China Sea, television in the bathroom, large soft king size bed; I was truly impressed. I guess you could say that I was slightly iffy about the place because of the fact it is a ‘training’ hotel but the room itself was really good. It was also good because it was around 4PM so the sun was still up and we were able to see the sunset.

I guess the main issues with it being a ‘training’ facility is that there tends to be an abundance of students, very willingly of course to assist you but it tends to be overwhelming from time to time. For example, during my buffet breakfast we were served by 4 students which is nice but for me was a tad too much because I am not much of a morning person. Another issue is that the security to the building is rather tight. I decided to venture out at night and came back to be questioned by the security twice if I was a guest at the hotel and one of the guards even followed me until he saw me walk through the lobby. Not saying that there was anything wrong with the safety but I felt a little bit of pressure.

Overall, I would say to give it a try. I understand that they are in a soft opening period at the moment so there are still many things that need to be tweaked but it was a lovely experience and it was fantastic to enjoy a decently made coffee in Hong Kong whilst looking over the ocean. It’s worth trying out because at the end of the day, it was definitely value for money, the service is pleasant, the room is gorgeous (I must reiterate this!) and the coffee is fantastic! (In comparison to all the other coffee places I’ve tried in HK!)

I hope this helps! I know this is quite lengthy but my partner wanted to contribute. =)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Migii_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 723 in Hong Kong
6,021 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 723 in Hong Kong
627 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,014 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 723 in Hong Kong
2,280 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#24 of 723 in Hong Kong
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The T Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The T Hotel

Address: 6th Floor, VTC Pokfulam Complex,145 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $100 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The T Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The T HOTEL is a training concept hotel committed to providing vocational training in the field of hospitality and tourism, while dedicated to delivering a pleasant hospitality experience to our guests.Set among the lush greenery surrounding of Pokfulam, 20 minutes southwest of Hong Kong's city centre with panoramic views of the South China Sea, this 30-room training hotel is situated on the 6th floor of the VTC Pokfulam Complex as part of the Hotel and Tourism Institute, "HTI". Since first introduced our hospitality programmes in 1984, HTI has been the forerunner in the field of hospitality training in Hong Kong. Together with our training spa and training restaurants, The T Hotel forms a vital element of the HTI's ongoing initiative to provide integral vocational training beyond the classroom environment. The T Hotel is operated by trainees under the supervision of experienced professionals from various fields of the hospitality industry.As our trainees deliver this unique brand of hospitality while in return receive world-class vocational training, we look forward to welcoming you to The T Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The T Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The T Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing