We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merryland Guest House
Ranked #85 of 258 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very convenient location”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My friend and I were supposed to stay in a totally different location, but due to our ignorance we got off at the wrong bus stop. So we roamed around Mirador Mansion, about to lose hope because almost all hostels are fully-booked for 3 straight nights, then we ended up here.

Mr. Bruno was very friendly and accommodating. We arrived way earlier than the check-in time so the room he gave us wasn't cleaned yet. He asked us to stay at the room beside it for the moment. Because we were restless ourselves and couldn't wait for the room to get ready, he gladly offered to watch out for our bags until the room is ready. When we got back in the evening, everything was settled properly. He lent us a universal charger because I forgot to bring one. He also offered discounted prices for major tourist spots in HK.

Overall, the double room was a bit small but we managed (maybe because we're not the type to complain about these things). Air-con worked fine, bathroom okay, Wi-fi available, the television has not much channels but we didn't go to HK to watch TV. The Mirador Mansion, on the other hand, was a different story. It's a bit dirty but tolerable still. Not a big issue.

The location was right at the center of everything. It's very near the MTR station, 7/11, and at the center of shopping scene. There's also a computer shop nearby in case one would need. I did because I had to check emails for work. My friend and I don't mind walking at all, so we just walked to the museums, Avenue of the Stars, even the ferry terminal.

I emailed Mr. Bruno few months after to thank him again (because I had serious HK travel nostalgia that time), and he gladly replied with a thank you as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
10
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Merryland Guest House is best for what I paid for. I got what I'm expecting. Mr. Bruno is very nice guy and I thank him personally for his best service and guidance during our stay in Hongkong. I am recommending Merryland Guest house. Bruno always giving us good suggestion from our trip to disneyland and ocean park, even transportation going to the airport, especially when you are traveling with a group. My wife and 6 children are well accommodated with the rooms provided for us. Thank you Mr. Bruno once again and I will see you someday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masamok A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

What's best with this hostel is the service from the manager bruno who is very accomodating ..He make sure that you'll enjoy not only your stay in the hostel but as well as your stay in hong kong. He gave us discounten tickets to the different tours... thumbs up

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathet81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were supposed to stay in another hostel just beside this. But we arrived at 3:30AM and nobody opened the door for us. Then we met Bruno, the Indian guy incharge of this hostel. He was very friendly, nice and accommodating.He asked us if we have already eaten dinner and he brought us to a nearby McDo and he paid for our food. Bruno was also very helpful and honest, giving honest information to customers. The room itself was small, as can be expected. But all the things you need are there (tissues, shampoo, soap, hot water, etc). The linens and bedsheets were not that clean though. But overall I can say our stay was worthwhile because of Bruno.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yacque_717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

seven days stay in Hongkong,very nice place,clean,comfortable,free wifi in the room very fast,attached bathroom 24 hours hot-cold shower,free local call,more important i follow always who is care taker really very nice and respectful,friendly.anything i needed he help me with smile.I stay there fully safe,if i come here sure i will be back again here and stay there.also i recommended that if you budget travelor must be come here safe and cheap.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akiko_yjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

7th of dececmber 2012 i came here in Hongkong without booking hotel.Ohh in ground floor to everybody only try to more money,single room 650hkd with out bath room in usa hotel,cosmic guest house,also there very bad behave,who are working there,really they don't know how to respect,suddenly i found Indian guy ohh he really help full,friendly,bruno,merryland guest house,mirador mansion,13f/d2.He gave me 280hkd,room is quite small but in room have everything what you need.free wifi,attached bathroom,hot-cold 24 hours shower.free call phone in local.I am really happy to stay here,always come here also if you are bugget guest must be come here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sayan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Was slightly concerned after reading mixed reviews previously. But we took the risk and I'm very happy with it.

You can not expect a big large room for this price. So it would be unfair to complain about that.

It was very clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout my stay. What more can I ask for at this price?

Oh and a great shower!

Thanks!

Anthony

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ant7F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Loi Loi Guest House
Loi Loi Guest House
#295 of 718 in Hong Kong
29 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Wellyet Guest House
Wellyet Guest House
#368 of 718 in Hong Kong
8 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Pearl Premium Guest House - Premium Guest House Limited
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
#89 of 258 in Hong Kong
186 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Pearl Guesthouse
Pearl Guesthouse
#47 of 157 in Hong Kong
26 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ashoka Guest House
Ashoka Guest House
#73 of 258 in Hong Kong
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merryland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merryland Guest House

Property: Merryland Guest House
Address: 13/F, D2, Mirador Mansion,No.56-58 Nathan Road, Tsin Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Merryland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merryland Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing