We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hong Kong
Post
Inbox
Search

“Hidden gem.A new restaurant”
Review of Mono

Mono
Reserve a Table
Ranked #991 of 14,473 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $64 - $296
Description: Contemporary French by Ricardo Chaneton Set within a sleek and minimalistic space, MONO focuses on a single (mono) ingredients-driven seasonal tasting menu with a wine menu focused on exquisite wines from the Burgundy and Bordeaux regions of France. It takes inspiration from the art movement ‘MONO-ha’ in the late 1960s, honouring the same essentialist approach but towards cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Contemporary French by Ricardo Chaneton Set within a sleek and minimalistic space, MONO focuses on a single (mono) ingredients-driven seasonal tasting menu with a wine menu focused on exquisite wines from the Burgundy and Bordeaux regions of France. It takes inspiration from the art movement ‘MONO-ha’ in the late 1960s, honouring the same essentialist approach but towards cuisine.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hidden gem.A new restaurant in Hongkong and after 2 months have a nice reputation.The whole experience was fabulous.
From the service to the food ,it was super.Thanks to the the Chef and his staff for the evening.Michelin isn’t far away.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank bernardverheecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago


From beginning to end, Ricardo takes the diners on a cultural journey by showcasing his evolvement and adaption on how to make use of different cooking techniques, ingredients throughout his life journey.

Outstanding items include Beef Tendon/Arctic Char, which is a perfect marriage between two different ingredients derived from sea & land, let alone the perfectly cooked Monkfish with the pseudo "Green Curry" sauce which is a de-facto Mediterranean Sauce inspired by the Corsican French that is always under the radar in the contemporary French cuisine undiscovered by Ricardo

When I visit Hong Kong again next time, I will definitely reserve a table

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank foodiepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

I felt warmly welcomed by the staff who were all very professional and attentive to my needs. Chef Ricardo took time to explain his concept and his several dishes which I found enjoyable. Despite a busy evening in the restaurant I felt looked after by the Chefs and Staff.
The food degustation was a memorable journey I loved every dishes. They are curious, delicious and well balanced. It was a firework of delight in my mouth.
I will highly recommend to try this new restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank d-agathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

It was a pleasant surprise when I was invited a business lunch at MONO. We were seated at the counter which is a first for me for fine French dining. It was very interesting to see the kitchen hands at work and converse with them at different times. There are only two set lunch menus - either 4 or 7 courses. We both picked the 7 courses. Food is excellent, ingredients were fresh and sometimes rare. All 7 courses have different flavors. The foie gras was exceptional..... not to mention the pigeon breast.....yummy. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Since then I have brought business contacts to lunches there several times. And Ricardo.... the head chef served me different main dishes every time - this is what I call service - understanding your customers’ preference and providing them food that wet their appetite is truly an art of serving fine cuisine.
Definitely worth a try.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Monkeyeagleking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

An absolutely different restaurant. I love the counter sitting which provided space and the intimacy with the chefs for exchanging conversations. It is enjoyable to see how each chef prepare “his portion “ of the dishes. Ricardo, the head chef, presented the dishes to us, explaining in every detail the ingredients, their sources and the story behind them. The dishes were absolutely gorgeous. Ingredients were fresh. Staff were very friendly. It makes one feel eating at home!!
Enjoyed every bit of it - not just the food, but also the atmosphere and the companionships.
Will definitely frequent this place for any type of lunch meetups in Central

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Arithmetic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing