We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money but hard to locate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Ranked #158 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Taguig, Rizal, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Value for Money but hard to locate”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

hotel can be found in selected floors of a building, the lobby is located in one of those floors. i am just basing my review now from my stay a year ago. the hotel room of the cheapest rate is small as expected since HK prices for hotels is really expensive. the hotel is quite difficult to locate but once you get the hang of it, it becomes accessible to and from MTR stations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    126
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
94
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Right now is not a good time to stay at this hotel. While the rooms are very nice, the property is undergoing construction. There is only one elevator running and it's slow. There are interruptions in the water service from time to time. They are offering reduced rates, but in my opinion they are still too high for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottchamberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is undergoing renovations but this had no impact on our stay. The staff were attentive, courteous and their English speaking skills were fine. The rooms amenities are fine and the new without is modern and fresh. The location is just around the corner from Knutsford Terrace which has some fantastic restaurants. A laundry just across the road is cheap for hk$30 for 7lbs of washing. It is a 5 minute walk to Nathan road and the MRT station. There are grocery shops around the corner in Kimberly road - 7 Eleven and Wellcome. The nearest shopping centre, Mira , is on the corner of Nathan and Kimberly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

When arriving at this hotel you may be put off initially as there is still building work going on and the lower floors below reception are not finished. The lift is covered in plastic sheeting. However, once you get upto the hotel it is very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and clean with great bathrooms which had a nice big shower. It is in a great location for nightlife, with lots of bars and restaurants right at the end of the street. The staff can also organize an airport transfer for 200 HKD.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floors have excellent views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildy1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was my second time visiting the Bauhinia, and like the previous visit, it did not disappoint. Free up-grades were given at check-in and the staff were brilliant, with excellent English as usual. The rooms had all mod-cons that one would expect, and whilst being somewhat cosy, do offer some great views of the harbour. Check-out was swift and easy. Will be returning here again on my next visit to HK.

Note: The lindt chocolate with a note about the renovations was a nice touch, heard no noise from the room though!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is currently under renovation and we were nervous when we pulled up to the building and saw all the construction material outside. Then when we got in the elevator to check in and found it covered completely with plastic we became even more anxious. But once we completed check in and reached our room it all went away. Our room, though on the small side, had ample storage and a wonderful view of the city. There was a safe and mini fridge, and the bathroom was great, a nice large shower that didn't leak all over the floor and soft towels compared to many other places we've been.

The location of the hotel is on a hill but it's otherwise a perfect location. It's a short walk to several different MTR lines and there is an airport express stop just down at the bottom of the hill. There are several restaurants and pubs nearby, and with easy access to public transport some of the city's best sites are within easy reach.

As it is a boutique hotel, some of the frills such as a pool or breakfast are not included but with so many food options nearby it is not difficult to stay full on your visit. They have a business area with computers, etc and also provided us with umbrellas that we could use during our stay which was much needed and appreciated! The internet in our room was also very reliable which was nice. As for the construction, we never once in our 4 day stay had any problem with noise. The elevators, though covered in plastic, were always clean.

All in all, we loved our trip to Hong Kong and this hotel and its staff helped with our positive experience. When we return, it's nice to know we have a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wattage85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Tsim Sha Tsui District in Kowloon is a very popular tourist destination in Hong Kong, where the Bauhinia Hotel -- Tsim Sha Tsiu is conveniently located in a quiet neighbourhood, and the room rates are reasonable. It provides all the comforts and amenities offered by more expensive 3 or 4-star hotels, except an on-site restaurant, and swimming pool. All sorts and kinds of eateries, bars and bistros are within walking distance, groceries and convenience stores too. Although the bedroom is of average Hong Kong size, the enclosed shower stall is exceptionally spacious, suffice to accommodate two adults and two children at one time. What could be better than feeling refreshed, clean and comfortable in the teeming "World City" of Hong Kong?

Room Tip: Above 19th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKGEWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#164 of 718 in Hong Kong
431 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#80 of 718 in Hong Kong
707 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#131 of 718 in Hong Kong
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
#219 of 718 in Hong Kong
119 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Popway Hotel
Popway Hotel
#127 of 718 in Hong Kong
168 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#162 of 718 in Hong Kong
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui

Property: The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Address: No.5-9 Observatory Court, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BAUHINIA currently operates 4 boutique hotels and 2 serviced apartments in Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Guangzhou. Our THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - CENTARL and THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - SHENZHEN has been operating for a decade. With years of hospitality management experience, our first hotel THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - TSIM SHA TSUI opened in the vibrant Tsim Sha Tsui in 2010 featuring the stunning harbour view. THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - CENTRAL, with a modern boutique hotel concept, opened its doors in Central and contemporary modern designed in Guangzhou and Shenzhen in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing