We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, great price (hotel comparison sites)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Ranked #153 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, great price (hotel comparison sites)”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nightsin august (£64 a night for double- through kayak). Great location near Nathan road and Kowloon park (swimming). Also near to knutsford terrace for bars and pubs.

Great hotel- stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwolfliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    127
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
95
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Room is clean and got free upgrade so would consider spacious as there is a small living room that has a sofa and TV beside a TV at the bedroom.
There are amenities provided as well as bathrobe and slippers. bathroom is rather spacious and clean too
Location - perfect to me. Close to ferry terminal to Macau as well as from Shenzhen. 10 mins walk to MTR where airport express is located. Sheung Wan MTR station is just round the corner of the building (exit B).

Free Wi-Fi at level 4 and cable connection in room. No Wi-Fi in room though - I tried with the password but cannot log in and was told that there is no Wi-Fi in the room.

If I were to go to Hong Kong via Shenzhen or the other way round, this would be my first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pheng2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I loved this hotel. Got off the train and with the help of Google maps quickly found it. It is down a bit of a back alley, but it is so close to Nathan Rd & is about 1 minute walk to Kimberly Rd. I checked in at 00:00 and the staff were brilliant and even gave me a free upgrade. The room was spacious for a HK hotel room and the room was amazingly nice. Great view of the Hong Kong skyline from my room!

Am planning to stay here every time I come to HK!

Note: I stayed in the cheapest room

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greely CO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This place is a great value. The room was very tastefully done and service was meticulous. It is walking distance to most tourist and shopping sites. It is a block from Knudsford food terrance and some great food. The view from our 15th floor room was to two sides. Do not let reception being on the 19th floor put you off.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room. Ours #158 was fantastic especially for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docbrown59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great place with extremely fast internet. We got upgraded to the harbour view room which was awesome. Room is small, like all hotels in HK, but it was decent for the two of us. Room was sufficiently clean. A tad far from the MRT entrance (about 15 min walk) but its ok since there are restaurants and shops along the way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was a very last minute booking when we failed to get on our ongoing flight whilst in transit in HK. I didn't have much time to research but know the Tsim Sha Tsui area and this seemed to be the best deal for the price.

The taxi driver had problems finding it (as did others in the reviews) and we directed him using our map. I was a bit shocked at the location in what looked like a bit of a shabby back street up a steep, if short hill.

First impressions were not good as the hotel doesn't have a proper reception, just a side doorway into a lift lobby. The lift was in the process of refurbishment and was lined with plywood and tape - rather depressing! The reception on the 9th floor was just a very small area in front of the lift and there were virtually no facilities other than a very small bar/lounge area which I couldn't have imagined spending time in.

The room was pleasant if compact and the bathroom an attractive but unusual design which rather dominated the room. Definitely not for anyone who values their privacy. It looked new and was very nicely decorated.

I would really put this more in the category of an apartotel rather than a hotel. The staff were pleasant at the desk but other than check in/check out there was no service or facilities to enjoy. The dual aspect views from the windows on our very high floor were great. I was envious of the large public pool complex in the park below. The free wifi was a bonus, a major irritant when it's lacking or charged for.

The area seemed very strange at night. We ventured out for something to eat, by this time very late at night and had a bad experience in the local traditional chinese restaurant (didn't note the name) but they appeared not to understand English. Even though I carefully pointed out and confirmed my dish I was brought something totally different containing lots of fatty pork (I don't eat meat!) the waiter just walked off when I objected and asked for it to be changed. By this time I was too tired to bother. Incidentally this was the only bad meal I had in HK.

The next day the area appeared less seedy and and turned out to be very convenient for sightseeing. The free airport bus at the bottom of the short hill was a real bonus.

I wouldn't plan to stay again at this hotel, though if it was the cheapest in the category I might be swayed. It was however preferable to the BP International where we stayed the following night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turkeyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have stayed at many other hotels in the same price range while staying in Kowloon- this hotel had the nicest rooms by far. (That being said, I had a deluxe room with a great view of the harbor). The location is great and you can walk to the MTR in about 5 minutes. There are countless restaurants and bars in the area.

The outside of the building isn't too impressive, but once you are inside the lobby you can see that the place is well taken care of. (One elevator was being worked on while I was there and while it was obviously under repair, the space was still clean).

I would happily stay at the Bauhinia again. Also, every single staff member I came in contact with was extremely helpful and polite and seemed genuinely concerned about making my stay enjoyable. (this has not been true for me at other hotels in the area).

Room Tip: ask for a harbor view and get a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#164 of 718 in Hong Kong
433 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#70 of 718 in Hong Kong
753 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#132 of 718 in Hong Kong
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#156 of 718 in Hong Kong
232 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
#220 of 718 in Hong Kong
119 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Popway Hotel
Popway Hotel
#128 of 718 in Hong Kong
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui

Property: The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Address: No.5-9 Observatory Court, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BAUHINIA currently operates 4 boutique hotels and 2 serviced apartments in Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Guangzhou. Our THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - CENTARL and THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - SHENZHEN has been operating for a decade. With years of hospitality management experience, our first hotel THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - TSIM SHA TSUI opened in the vibrant Tsim Sha Tsui in 2010 featuring the stunning harbour view. THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - CENTRAL, with a modern boutique hotel concept, opened its doors in Central and contemporary modern designed in Guangzhou and Shenzhen in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing