We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Ranked #150 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had to wait for about 15 mins to get checked in, it was no biggie really, but for our "trouble", they upgraded our room to a corner deluxe room! The room was fantastic! Very clean, spacious, modern, quiet, it was great. The location, if not for the steep slope, would have been perfect. It's within walking distance to everything. The staff was very friendly and patient as we had so many questions on how to get around. The housekeeping staff was extremely thorough. Free wired internet connection in the room, they even have computers with fast internet connection at the lobby. No restaurant in the hotel but there were plenty outside so finding a place to eat is hardly an issue. I will definitely stay here again and would have no problem recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillWork4Travel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 229 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

There are a lot of ballar 6-7 star hotels in HK for you to spoil yourself on, especially in the Tsim Sha Tsui area. However there are also a lot of choices for budget/valued conscious minded travels and this is one of my favorite!

I travel to HK a lot and because of a friend working in the Starwood group I always stay at the W in Kowloon station. So I consider myself pretty spoiled about hotels in HK. When I no longer can get the family and friends rate at the W, I've been experimenting with boutique hotels in the Tsim Sha Tsui area. The rule of thumb I had is, hotels get cheaper and better with each city block you are willing to walk away from a MTR station or the Harbor City mall.

This hotel fits the description the best! If you are someone who only need a decent place to rest at night while you roam the city by day this one of the place for you!

As my title suggests, you pay for the things you need and nothing you don't! I got upgraded into a harbor view room upon arriving for free which was great! The hotel is great (4 star), roomy for HK, has free internet, and just 4 blocks from the closest MTR entrance. It doesn't have a giant lobby or a hotel front which you don't need anyway. Note there is no swimming pool which is something you may like to have for a vacation. However because it the 15-19th floor rooms on a top of a hill you actually get a view of the harbor and the sea, which usually cost an arm or a leg in HK!

The only down side is 35 degree uphill leading into the hotel. Its not for disabled or heavy luggage. Also the walls a bit thing so its easy to hear noise from the hallway.

In the area I've tried, the Marco Polo Prince, The Mira, and the Butterfly on Prat.

The Prince is your standard 4 star hotel roomy and great location in the middle of the shopping mall, but it doesn't have free internet and cost twice ($200-$300) as Butterfly.

The Mira is trendy and most W like, but when you take a step back, its an older 3 star hotel layout with a giant face lift decorated into a 5 star boutique and cost like a 5 star.

The Bauhinia and Butterfly are both great values. The Bauhinia is a bit farther away but I find it to be a even better value than Butterfly on Prat in terms of the quality of the room and price! Its the cheapest Hotel I've stayed in HK outside of the scary Chungking hostels but turned out to be one of the best!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Realq86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

we arrived at this hotel on our visit to hong kong in august 2011 . as accommodation in hk isnt cheap , the beauhinia was just a gem . other reviewers have been right about the step hill but its really not that bad , we always just let the taxi overcome that hurdle . the walk to TST station was about 10-15 minutes away which proved to be challenging during the hottttt summer weather , but there were heaps to see on the way and we would just seek refuge in the air-conditioned shops along the way .

the hotel was small but it was big enough to cater for our suitcases and alllllll the shopping we did . there is soo much to see and do in hk that we were too delusional and exhausted to care about room size , it was just always so nice to come back to your own small confined space with everything being tidied for you during room service. it was very clean , which i think is the most important aspect about a hotel .

hotel staff were reserved but still friendly . it is no luxury or five star hotel but for the price vs. standards , i cant help but give the Bauhinia five stars :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel is situated on an extremely steep hill. My partner and I cut through Knutsford Terrace to avoid some of the hill to make it an easier walk. The location of the hotel is very central and close to the Tsim Sha Tsui and Jordan MTR.

Reception is at level 19 of the building. The ladies who checked us in were efficient and friendly but do not offer porter services. We had ALOT of heavy luggage which my partner and I carried to our room. Upon arrival we received a free upgrade to a magnificent deluxe room.

The room was very modern and clean with a monstrous window. The bathroom was almost in the centre of the room which also had a monsoon shower option which was a great surprise, a curtain is used to keep it private but have the option to keep it opened so you can watch some tv while showering. The free wifi was easy to access and speedy. The rooms do not offer mini bar snacks as they leave it to you to stock up with your favourite snacks and drinks. Downstairs of the building, across the road there are a few bars and pubs then over "the hill" on Knutsford Terrace there are many great restaurants which make up for the hotel not having a restaurant or any form of dining options.

Our time here went by to fast we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusTravellers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The hotel is on a really big hill, view is nice, price not bad. Clean rooms and central to everything

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My parnter and I arrived at the bottom of a short but daunting hill from the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station. After we conquored the hill we spotted the bright purple facade and headed up to reception where the frendily staff informed us we had been upgraded to a deluxe room which was an unexpected perk.

The room was designed to utalise space in a way i had never seen before, the shower was placed almost in the centre of the room with an external curtain for privacy and the way it opened up the room was great it made the whole area seem larger. All the good things were included here such as free wifi and cable tv.

The hotel also had a small vending machine and free computers with internet for guests as well as offering printing via the front desk ($5HKD per sheet). A business/meeting room was also on the reception level it looked nice from the outside.

The location was great as it was not far from the MTR station or shops but in particular a small row of restuarants and bars just over the road was great lots of variety and quality food available. Our favorite was the ben and jerry's ice cream stand.

It is a great hotel for what it is, reasonably priced, small but uses it well. It lacked some features like room service or a restaurant but made up for all this through locaton. Also the mini fridge in the room was empty which actually proved quite practical for us. My partner and i enjoyed our stay and would reccomend the hotel to couples and solo travellers.

Room Tip: Deluxe room were great, higher levels have city views over the apartment buildings.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty_Rimfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have 2nights stay over here. Room is well maintained but of course the thing expected was the size of the room was small but that was fine for us. We can view the harbour from our window too eventho bit far but you still can view the ship and sea
.
Bathroom clean as well but it's quite huge to our expectation (half of the room is taken by the bathroom lol). Staff was friendly too. Lobby at 9th floor.

Nearby you don't need to worry about pubs because there were about 4-5 Irish pubs just outside the hotel :) Lotsa of foods and shopping places around there. However note that the distance from TST MTR to this hotel actually not to say near - around 20mins.

The only downside was the HILL!! It's really 45degree steep and imagine we are carrying big luggages and climb all the way up. phewww...sweat but if you take cab, this should not be a prob for you. Also if you have more than 2 persons, advise you to take the cab. Save time, energy and money too!! It tooks about HK$ 230 per cab from airport to TST.

If you plan to take the Kowloon Airport Express from airport to Kowloon MTR and then to the hotel, there was actually free shuttle bus at Kowloon station to quite a number of major hotels. You can take this shuttle bus and stop at Luxe Manor hotel. From there, you don't need to walk so far and distance only took less than 10mins walk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgnesCPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#162 of 721 in Hong Kong
437 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#64 of 721 in Hong Kong
776 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#135 of 721 in Hong Kong
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#166 of 721 in Hong Kong
234 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Acesite Knutsford Hotel
Acesite Knutsford Hotel
#255 of 721 in Hong Kong
96 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
#224 of 721 in Hong Kong
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui

Address: No.5-9 Observatory Court, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $64 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BAUHINIA currently operates 4 boutique hotels and 2 serviced apartments in Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Guangzhou. Our THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - CENTARL and THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - SHENZHEN has been operating for a decade. With years of hospitality management experience, our first hotel THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - TSIM SHA TSUI opened in the vibrant Tsim Sha Tsui in 2010 featuring the stunning harbour view. THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - CENTRAL, with a modern boutique hotel concept, opened its doors in Central and contemporary modern designed in Guangzhou and Shenzhen in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing