We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Interesting Blend of Old and New in the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central

Central
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.98*
and up
Hong Kong Food Tour: Central and Sheung Wan Districts
Ranked #31 of 807 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Very Interesting Blend of Old and New in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Me and my wife spent a day exploring the Central District on 10th Dec 2012. We took the train from the MTR Tsuen Wan Station (Red Line) to the MTR Central Station and started our walk from Peddar Street, Queen’s Road Central, Li Yuan Street East and West, Pottinger Street, Stanley Street, D’agullar Street and Wellington Street.

Central District has a good mix of old and new buildings next to one and other and the people moving around Central is also very diverse – there are casual local folks from the old buildings, well dressed office workers from the new skyscrapers of the financial district and tourists from different countries browsing through the shops, restaurants, local eateries and the very colorful street market stalls at Li Yuan Street East and West.

We planned our walk to end at Wellington Street so that we can have our Dim Sum Lunch at the Lin Heung Tea House as many travel blogs have recommended that travelers visit the Lin Heung Tea House to taste their delicious dim sum and to experience the Tea House atmosphere of the past era.

When we step into Lin Heung Tea House, there was no customer service staff to show us to the table and no one in the restaurant seems to take notice of our arrival. After some observation, we noted that customers have to look for empty seats at any tables for themselves and only when you are seated then the waiter on duty would clear away the empty dishes on the table and set up the utensils for you i.e. a pot of tea, tea cup, a pair of chopsticks, a spoon and a piece of dim sum order form. Thereafter, customers are expected to DIY i.e. to order your dim sum from the push-cart, get your order form stamped and bring your dim sum back to your table and eat it. The process of ordering dim sum is very challenging and comical i.e. whenever the push-cart appears from the kitchen, a big mob would rush to the push-cart lady to place their dim sum order and within minutes, many would be walking away disappointed as the dim sums on the push-cart had all been taken up. This process would be repeated over and over again until everyone in the restaurant gets their share of the dim sum. At the end of your meal, you are expected to pass the dim sum order form to the cashier counter and make your payment before leaving the restaurant.

Personally, I find Lin Heung Tea House to be too overly casual. Dim sums are OK but nothing to shout about. Customer service is zero and not a good place to have meal if you are rushing for time or you have more than two persons with you as empty seats are hard to find.

We enjoyed our day at Central very much as Central is a very interesting place with many surprises waiting for the tourists to discover.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyTay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    354
    111
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Busy place...WOW!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lot's going on. This was the most crowded area that I saw while in Hong Kong. There are a lot of shops...and alleys with temporary markets. Lots of vendors...and people to watch. Lot's of noise...and trucks...I had never seen anything like it. there were HUNDREDS of people crossing at the crosswalks at a time. It was pretty amazing to see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheFly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
826 reviews
568 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
“HKG other heart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is another busy area of Hong Kong at Victoria. It is a MTR hub and a Star Ferry destination from Tsim Sha Tsui. There are shops and cafés, not so many restaurants. It is not far from the Airport Express Terminal or the Hong Kong-Macau Ferry Terminal. So it is basically an unescapable area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“EXPAT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

every expat comes to Central, daytime its full of tourists going round the shops and the escalator and restaurants come evening its the route expats take to the mid-levels, sunday afternoons / evenings are busy in the bars and so are most midweeks.. restraunts and clubs are plentyful... so is LKF

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
166 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Busy busy busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We always drop by here since this is one of the connecting location of the MTR. So I decided to check out the place. It was very busy and I found out that most filipinos hang out here or work here. We also decided to buy tickets for Disneyland here because it was cheaper compared online. It was ok to see if your a first timer but after seeing it over and over, you will get used to it and find it as normal as back in my country. I havent check most of these area so definitely I will go back here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ayan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central also viewed

Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing