We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel. Great Location. Worth Staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #34 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This hotel is located in Hong Kong Central. Its about a 15 min walk or 5 min cab ride from Airport express tram center in Central. from Airport is only a 22 min ride. Its about $100 to $150 HK dollars each way and you get a discount fare if you are with someone and buy two tickets together. Hotel situated on Wellington which is quiet street at night but within 5 min walk to a great 24 hr restaurant that has great reasonable price food. While walking down wellington street it really give you a feel for Honk kong. There are two restaurants, one across from hotel and the other about 25 yards to rt of hotel if you exit front door. They have great breakfast, Ham and egg sanwhiches on bun for like HK$30. Well worth a visit. The hop on Hop off bus is located by airport exress tram terminal, and for the price is a great deal. Both busses takes you all over the city, gives great opportunities for pictures, and can travel on both buses in about 2 hrs if dont get off but to switch buses at the harbor. Great place for burgers while waiting on next buss is at place called Burger Box, It located next to ferries. Back to Hotel. Great location, 5 min walk to nightlife in Soho, and rooms are super cleam, comfortable, flatscreen tv, and Shower has a rainfall shower head hanging from the ceiling. Staff very helpful. I deff will stay here again on my next trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiestoFan242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

Good to hear that you have a great experience in our hotel. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

A new hotel. Rooms small but comfortable. No breakfast but many eateries in the vicinity. I would visit again. The only downside is that I amn battling to find an e-mail address for the hotel. The hotel is still holding on to my visa debit card guarantee even if I left the hotel more than 1 month ago. There are no funds outstanding which I owe to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dezign99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

With a need for a convenient location to walk from, WiFi and comfort, we selected Butterfly on Wellington Street, Hong Kong for all the above.

Why a boutique hotel?
Our preference for a smaller, more select clientele, faster checking in and out, more personalized service (if required) and usually less "worn out" rooms.

Fortunately this hotel recently opened its doors a few months back so everything was very new and that was a big plus in our filter.

There isn't much of a front entrance/lobby so make sure you print out the map and address. Taxis are very efficient from the Airport Express Link to the city and know their way around (but of course!). While it is possible to walk from the train station I didn't fancy lugging my suitcases around past midnight and unfamiliar with my surroundings.

The hotel's fast and efficient check in staff made sure that we were comfortably settled into our room after a late night check in.

There are large windows but not much of a view from where we stayed, the view is blocked by many sky scrapers that dot the city.

Everything that was supposed to work, worked from the (branded) capsule coffee machine, TV, high pressure shower cubicle, firm mattress. I know many people enjoy soft pillows but I'm not one of them, preferring a firm, foam pillow. Fortunately it didn't affect my sleep.

If you are a foodie, Wellington Street boasts many well known eateries from end to end including the 24 hour Tsui Wah toward the Lan Kwai Fong pub area. There are lots of well known restaurants but make it a habit to call ahead of lunch and dinner to avoid a 30-45 minute wait.

There isn't a restaurant or cafe in the hotel. They do serve tea and coffee at tea-time at the reception but with the amount of cafes and restaurants all within a few minutes' walk, it would be pointless.

Hong Kong is very safe and I didn't feel any danger so I would place it at par with Singapore.

I enjoyed my stay at Butterfly on Wellington and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VinceChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

It’s great to hear that you found Butterfly On Wellington a great boutique hotel for your stay. Thanks for choosing us and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We liked the location of this hotel and also the staff were very nice. The room was a bit small and dampness was a problem, especially after showering. Some amenities could be improved – tv remote was broken and towels were incredibly thin. Staff were friendly and helpful overall.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lin-sento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

Thanks a lot for your feedback. We will pay additional effort to improve the quality of guest room’s amenities. We believe you will have an even better experience during your next stay in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Step out the door of this hotel and your in the midst of Hong Kong street life, including a great daily market right on the corner. There are dozens of interesting shops and restaurants throughout the neighborhood (Soho/Lan Kwai Fong/Central) catering to both locals and tourists.

Our room was the Executive, the largest size available. It would compare to a standard size room in a US hotel, so I imagine standard rooms here are truly tiny. But it was comfortable and surprisingly quiet too. The bed was very very hard - you'll either like that...or not...

If you want the convenience of an onsite restaurant, pool or fitness center - or if you have trouble walking up and down hills and stairs - this might not be the best choice of hotel for you. I loved it and will definitely stay there again when I return to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jfh310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a total of 4 days in January to sight see around hong kong. The location is right in the middle of central, allowing good access to the piers and also to the restaurants and bars of soho. The room we stayed in allowed excellent sleep - room 302. However we had initially been given a free upgrade to an executive room which we stayed in for 1 night only as outside this the air conditioning vents provide a constant background hum. I am a light sleeper so we opted for one on a floor away from the air conditioning. YOu can just hear the cars outside but you are in the central busiest part of hk & we slept well here.
There is no restaurant hence no breakfast option which is fine cos there are so many places outside the hotel within 100m that provide food.
Overall a very good stay. Would probably stay again if we go back to hk.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamestam30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

On arrival we were greeted by smiling, helpful, English speaking staff who took us to our room. The room we were given was spacious, clean with a massive bed and huge shower. Internet access was free,

The location was excellent, it was about a 5 min walk from the train station, close to bars, shops, restaurants and the escalators to go up to the peak.

If I was going back to Hong Kong I would without doubt stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fernandez124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

Thank you for your feedback and support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#30 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,188 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#45 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,067 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#19 of 729 in Hong Kong
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 729 in Hong Kong
859 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $123 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing