We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Great location, Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #39 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the second half of our week in H.K. The first hotel was paid by work, this was now personal vacation.

All the staff was very helpful, getting checked in was a breeze, helping us get a cab to lunch straight away, replacing the fridge when it wasn't keeping cold, we were very pleased with the level of service at The Butterfly.

We stayed in a deluxe room and had a view up Wellington St. towards the mid-level escalators and it was so fun to look over the neighborhood! The room was cozy but well appointed, we appreciated the fridge being empty so we could stock it with our own snacks. Electrical outlets were smartly placed- an issue with some places! and they had an adapter in the room. The bathroom door isn't the most private, it slides shut and doesn't seal, so there's a small gap between it and the wall but the shower pressure was good.

Location is fabulous. Close to MTR stations, Mid-Levels, very walkable, surrounding neighborhood very fun with lots of hip shops and great restaurants. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keb0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to have delighted you with our rooms, the amenities as well as the convenience and accessibility of our hotel. It's especially encouraging to hear your wonderful words about our guest services, we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
There are newer reviews for Butterfly on Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Smart and simple fuss free hotel along one of the most popular restaurant infested streets in Central Hong Kong with excellent access to the MTR, Hong Kong station and the mid levels. A good number of highly recommended eateries (including Michelin rated) and local coffee shops are within walking distance. Rooms are on the small side typical of a boutique hotel in HK but well equipped and with blazing fast internet connection- a big positive for business travelers. Hotel staff are most helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Opt for higher floors
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for choosing Butterfly on Wellington. It sounds like you had enjoyable time staying with us and exploring the area around. Next time when you are visiting us again, we will surely give you some more travel, dining recommendation and to make your trip a refreshing and memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great location for Hong Kong travelers , its close to MRT and right next door to some great restaurants . Nice sized rooms and the staff have been amazing . Very impressed . I will be definitely staying there again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

It’s our huge pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our guest services team amazing! We look forward to having you back and to impress you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed at Butterfly on Wellington on recommendation from a friend, what a great recommendatio it turned out to be. "Budget" hotels in Hong Kong usually turn out to be very cramped, smelly and with zero service. Butterfly on Wellington was none of these, I would not even call it a budget hotel as that would be unfair.

The room was very well laid out, didnt feel cramped at all. Bed was very comfortable, and although on 10th floor it was very quiet. Bathroom is incredibly well laid out. Water was hot and lots of it. Aircon worked just as expected, changed the settings and it still worked as expected. The workspace was big enough for me to have two laptops and all my portable devices charging and working at the same time.

But the best part were the staff, very friendly, very helpful, nice people all round.

By Hong Kong standards and considering the hotel is smack between Connaught Road and Soho, it caters for all and is in walking distance of everything including Central (although not with a heavy suitcase, definitely take a cab for that.

This is my new Hotel in Hong Kong for sure.

Room Tip: Higher is usually better, but here its so quiet anyway I dont think it matters.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It’s terrific to know you had such a wonderful time here and you see Butterfly on Wellington a great hotel choice for your Hong Kong stay. We can't wait to impress you again and please do not hesitate to contact us directly while you planning for your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I've stayed at Butterfly on Wellington on weekend visits to HK. Room standard is good - functional (what's important in the HK reality of tiny spaces) and with nice design. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Location is great, especially for travellers who plan to hang out in SoHo or Central or enjoy the city's nightlife, with Lan Kwai Fong just around the corner. Moreover, you can get to the Airport Express station at IFC mall by 10 minute walk (take the Central - Mid-Levels escalators). The Macau Ferry Terminal is also close, but I haven't traveled there myself.

Importnat notice: Hotel don't offer any food service. However, there are plenty of places to eat in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaska M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are simply pleased knowing that you enjoyed our convenient location and found the guest services provided to be up to your expectations. We certainly welcome you back to Butterfly, each and every time you are in Hong Kong, and look forward to the next opportunity to be at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Butterfly On Wellington was in a neighbourhood filled with character, close to MTR ,Soho nightlife, Staff on 'way out' were extremely helpful with tips and directions. V. clean rooms....only problem was the fridge was replaced and still was Not cold enough to store water and Wine. Loved our stay in H.K. and would definitely stay @ BOW again.

Room Tip: if you want somewhere to head back to after a long day sightseeing and know it's going to be rel...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

It's wonderful to know that we are capable to offer you a great experience with our warm, gracious services. Regarding to the comment of fridge, we have made improvement on this immediately. We truly appreciate your advocacy and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not far future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at numerous hotels and we thoroughly enjoyed the front desk, concierge, and manager at this property. The gave impeccable service and helped us with all our needs with great attitudes and beautiful smiles!
There boutique rooms were comfortable and very clean. The best part was the location of this hotel. It was in the middle of Central Hong Kong and only blocks away from shopping, nightlife, and delicious food.
Thank you Micheal, Cris, Ivan, and Molly!! We will see you again and keep up the great work and service!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aengalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

How nice it is understanding our services have impressed you so much during your stay. The guest services team at Butterfly on Wellington are delighted to have offered you and your husband a comfortable & memorable experience. Look forward to serving you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 721 in Hong Kong
810 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#19 of 721 in Hong Kong
359 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,253 reviews
Sheung Wan
Travelodge Central Hollywood Road
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $144 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing