We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, kind of tired inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #40 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Shenzhen, China
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great location, kind of tired inside”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hard to find a better location - Wellington has amazing restaus and you're a block from the escalators.
Price is also good and I think appropriate for what you get.
The only downside is that the interior is slightly worn - the carpets are not new, the rooms are a bit dark, and the bathrooms don't sparkle. But I didn't feel that it was dirty, just a little worn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vnyc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and it's great that you liked our hotel location so much. Regarding individual guestrooms' condition, we have been paying extra attention on maintaining each of their quality and hopefully you will see our improvement during your next visit. Thanks again, we look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    469
    101
    17
    15
See reviews for
142
373
183
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at a boutique hotel called Butterfly at Wellington for three nights. It is located a tiny bit off the heart at the "Central" area on the Hong Kong island. The room is relatively small yet clean and functional. What makes this hotel special is 1) Its location - easy access to tons of old and new restaurants in Central HK. 2) Its wonderful staff - they are all young and energetic, willing to go out of their way to assist you and make your stay comfortable, not to mention their beautiful smiles. I highly, highly, highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memedutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are more than pleased to know you enjoyed our hotel and it's lovely to hear your appreciation about our guest services team. We hope our beautiful smiles have made your experience more memorable, and we can't wait to welcoming you again in one of Butterfly Hotels very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Right in the heart of Central District and surrounded by innumerable street vendors, shops of all kinds and dozens of restaurants. It is a boutique hotel with no extra facilities - even a restaurant or bar. The rooms are not large but extremely well appointed, clean and amply endowed with storage space, and quiet as well. The price is very reasonable for Hong Kong and the service is excellent, especially the front desk, who will bend over backwards to help you with anything you need and to provide local information.
The hotel is a three minute walk to the mid levels escalator, thence to the Central financial district one way or up into Soho the other, where there are lots of great restaurants. It's about ten minutes to the nearest MTR station - Hong Kong)
Very highly recommended for anyone who can do without the extra facilities provided by a big hotel (pool, restaurants, gym, atc.). We will certainly consider it next time we are in Hong Kong.
Surrounding streets are very hilly - it would not be good for wheelchairs.

Room Tip: Lower rooms might be noisier, but it is not a busy street so may not make much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank What
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
It's great to know that you liked our hotel and the standard of our guest services team so much. We hope you had a wonderful time with us as well as traveling in the neighboring entertainment hotspots. Thanks so much for your recommendation and we hope to bring you another memorable and satisfying experience again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel has a great location, located in the center of the business district. It is close to many local bars and stores. The service was superior, and the rooms were comfortable. I would definitely stay here again when returning to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank your for your positive comment. It's pleased to hear that you enjoyed our services and location, we look forward to welcoming you with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was in Hong Kong for a workshop and this was near to the workshop location. I have stayed in butterfly before and this is my 2nd time in wellington. I like the convenient location and the many eateries nearby. The wifi was good too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks so much for visiting us again. We are glad you liked your return stay and we look forward to welcome you back for another wonderful experience very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed only one night here and found it to be perfect for a night out in Hong Kong and a day walking around the city. Very convenient to Central and all of the food and nightlife areas close by. The hotel is beautifully designed in a modern Asian style, the room is comfortable but on the small side, and the staff seemed very pleasant.
It is however not in a glamorous locale, but it is very cool for an "authentic" HK experience! Wet markets and dripping air conditioners just outside the door, taxis flying past down tiny alleys.
Noise, smells, heat, wet streets, etc.
I would recommend this hotel for someone looking for convenience and comfort, but not those looking to see only the glamorous upmarket side of HK.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
It's great to know that you liked our hotel although it was just a one night stay. Exactly what you mentioned, it was indeed one major characteristic of our hotel - located in the prime business area while offering very authentic Hong Kong experience at the same time. There are so much to experience around this unique Central area, let's come back soon to explore the true side of HK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was my second trip to Hong Kong and I think this is definitely the best district to stay in and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

It is modern, nicely decorated and clean boutique hotel, but the room we had was quite small. There was the usual safe, hair dryer, mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was novel - basically 2 of the walls are sliding glass.

Outside there are loads of restaurants and Wellington Street is very close to Hollywood where there are also many bars and restaurants offering both Asian and Western food. The whole area had a great atmosphere and felt really safe even in the early morning.

There are side streets full of markets selling everything from fruit and veg to Halloween costumes. Local boutique shops and designer shops too. It's also close to the Malls with all the top designer retailers.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk to Hong Kong metro station and maybe another 5 to Central. Using the elevate walk ways gets you away from the bustle, traffic and uneven paths and everything is generally well sign posted.

Things to note: The roads around the hotel are steep however and the paths uneven.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallyl0vest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Central is in fact a very convenient yet unique district that is perfect travelers' stay. Flagship stores of top luxury brands, entertainment & dining hotspot and also places rich in traditional characters are all within walking distance from Butterfly on Wellington. We are glad that you had a nice time exploring the neighborhood, and that our hotel offered you great convenience in traveling around.

Thanks for your lovely review and recommendation, we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
802 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#19 of 718 in Hong Kong
336 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#80 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,223 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#35 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,104 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Property: Butterfly on Wellington
Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing