We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location! Location! Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #42 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel last June and loved its central location. A party and shopping place. Lan Kwai Fong, restaurants - from small hole in a wall type to fine dining, and shopping are literaly steps away. The footbridge that will lead you to the IFC and Star Ferry is right next door. Central MRT station is a five minute walk. Any place is accessible because of its proximity to the MTR. The hotel is across fruit stands and surrounded by small establishments and restaurants. Quite busy during the day. Can be scrungy at night with the garbage bags lining the streets but quite safe.

We found the room and bathroom tight. Level of cleaniness was inconsistent, depending on the day’s housekeeping staff. The sheets were a little worn and with a bit of stain. There is no breakfast outlet within this boutique hotel. You have to walk out of the hotel and although there are many cafes around, it is a hassle to go out just to eat breakfast. No coffee maker in the room, so you have to live with the instant coffee packets or tea bags. It was always raining during our stay and there was not enough umbrellas for the complimentary use of the guests.

Staff was very helpful. Our concierge helped us roll our luggages till the IFC where we caught the Airport Express. It was faster to do this than wait for a cab and take the cab to the IFC.

Our conclusion: because of the excellent location we are willing to come back here but get a room on the Executive floor where the rooms are bigger. We have to go to Little Mermaid bakery of City Super at the IFC to buy their yummy breads and goodies for breakfast the next day.

Room Tip: Take rooms at the executive floor as the lady at the receptions said they are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliJac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you had a wonderful time with us at Butterfly on Wellington.

Our convenient location is indeed one of our greatest advantages as we are at the center of the Hong Kong Island, within minutes to shopping malls, business centers and surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants and cuisines.

By the way, we are regretful for the inconsistency in housekeeping standards during your stay. Hygiene and cleanliness of the hotel is definitely our top priority as we strive to provide a comfortable stay for our guests. Be sure that we will monitor closely on our housekeeping procedures to ensure our standards are kept in top quality. We will absolutely pay attention to our complimentary amenities to ensure there is enough inventories for our guests.

Thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    454
    100
    17
    13
See reviews for
133
358
178
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Butterfly on Wellington has always been our choice whenever we stay at Hong Kong Central. It's just 5 minutes away (or less) from the outdoor escalator which leads you to all the good restaurants, bars and shops. It is also very accessible from the Airport Express station at IFC Mall, no need to take the MTR or a cab. The hotel has no restaurant but it's not really needed because there are so many good eating places within the vicinity. They do however, have a Nespresso machine in the room so at least you can have coffee at night or in the morning. WIFI has never been a problem, always fast and easy to connect! Good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your continuous support. It is definitely your compliments that keep us striving to provide excellent services. We hope we did not disappoint you this time and we would love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Close to everything, loved the stay, always friendly especially the girls by the front door. Quiet room and very comfortable, easily enough room to spread out. There's a bar 2 doors down and the longest escalator 100m up the road with access to hundreds of restaurants and bars. Great stay, very easy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retemeyerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback. First of all we are happy to hear that you liked our hotel location. Regarding the service aspect, we are totally disappointed as well that you have experienced such an issue with out guest services team. The service quality you mentioned is absolutely no where near our usual standard, we will surely look into this matter carefully and rectify any shortcomings immediately.

Please do consider to visit us again in the future so that we can make up our impression to you. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I'm currently staying in the hotel for two nights...today is my birthday and we hadn't mentioned it, but the staff just turned up at our door this afternoon with a cake and balloons. Lovely touch!
I would stay here again as the location is great. If coming from the airport to Hong Kong station on the MTR, I'd recommend just grabbing a taxi (it was less than $50HK) from Hong Kong station to the hotel. It's probably too far to walk with large suitcases. Staff have also been really helpful with restaurant bookings, maps etc. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are glad that you liked our surprise birthday cake too! Thanks for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you again and it will be as enjoyable as your recent one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Well, when I say a small room, for a HK hotel room I though it was pretty spacious - but then i was lucky enough to get an upgrade to the deluxe room - which had two big windows, and a desk, overlooking typical HK back streets - and as it was by a wet market you did get the piles of rubbish awaiting collection & a rather sticky street - but that's part of the 'location' (brilliant for Central) and 'local charm'. Great location for business meetings, no problem with a 'late check in' - i.e. 1.30 am in the morning, and great place for restaurants. Plenty of cupboard space, really good shower room, OK selection of TV channels, the free Wi-Fi worked every time, & the place was spotless. I'd definitely go back there again - & being on the 11th floor meant there was no intrusive street noise at all at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - be above the heat, smells & noise & get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for you positive comment! It's good to know that you enjoyed a great stay with us. Central is a very unique district in Hong Kong. On one side it's a business epicenter, on the other it's filled with some of the most traditional and tasteful local culture. It would never be a complete traveling experience if one can only see the modern side of Central, while Butterfly on Wellington is definitely sitting on a great spot that travelers can easily explore both sides of its beauty.

Again, thanks for your feedback and we hope to serving you again in the very soon future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotels location cannot be beat. It is right in the central area and a few minutes from everything. The service was not great. I felt like they gave me wrong information and wasn't too concerned about our needs. There's also no room service which is bad in my book. Its a place to crash for a few nights but doesn't feel 'homey'. Its a nice bed and shower but thats about it. I think I paid $300/night for a queen bed. The room was small and would have been too small for two people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry you felt our services were lacking which is normally not the case in our hotels. Our guest services team is always available to assist our guests with any inquiries. At Butterfly on Wellington, we do have a selection of rooms that offer more room space for our guests such as our Executive rooms. We regret not providing top notch service quality during your stay; we hope we will have another opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely trim hotel, well maintained with highly hospitable staff and clean amenities in a very desirable precinct of Hong Kong. Centrally located on Hong Kong Island, a stone's throw from the banking district, fortuitously close to the MTR and fashionable International Finance Centre. Arriving in Central by airport express, you can wheelie your luggage for a 5 minute walk through a concourse of walkways and alight within 30 metres of this hotel. I love the smart chicness of this Butterfly, I admire its demure elegance and appreciate its peerless value. Those seeking a 5 star hotel experience with suitably 5 star price tag are advised to look elsewhere, but if you're after neat & tidy accomodations in a smart and stylish, award winning venue, then I would find Butterfly Wellington very hard to beat. There's no grand entrance and the rooms are modestly sized but I lived here comfortably for a week, working for several hours a day on 2 separate computers and never felt claustrophobic or constrained. Proximity to the clubs & restaurants of Lan Kwai Fong makes this a world class location. I should add that I recently stayed at a similar hotel of high repute, just a few metres down Wellington Rd, in a room that was half the size, and was billed 3 times the price. I'll give this place full marks for it's the hospitality of its marvelous staff, high standards of tidyness and hygiene, and comfortable accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidbonvivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
It's such a great honor being praised as a perfect boutique hotel, thank you so much! We are so pleased you enjoyed a full week of great stay with us, and your kind words about our guest services would be the best motivation for our continuing improvement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#23 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#81 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#80 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Property: Butterfly on Wellington
Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing