We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the HK foodies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #38 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you're a foodie going to HK to look for great eats, this hotel is a perfect location, surrounded by all the really good restaurants and food stalls. You can come back tired from a full day of walking around the city and just walk 2 min from the hotel to get to find a great eatery.

The rooms are nice - a little small but its HK so I guess thats average. That said, the beds are amazingly comfortable - I think they use Sealy mattresses so I slept very well. The toilet is also very clean and well done I loved the shower its nice and strong not like some weak water pressure you get in some hotels. My only disappointment is that their television has extremely limited channels - they don't have the good cable channels like AXN and Starworld etc which may not be a big deal for some but I quite like to just chill with the TV at night before I sleep so it was sad not to have anything entertaining to watch at night.

The location while good for food, I wouldn't recommend it if you're there for shopping because Welington st is very narrow and you have to climb quite steep steps to get up there so its really quite a bother after a long day and you're tired and have tons of shopping bags to lug. The hotel also is not on the route of the free Airport shuttle service which makes getting to and from the airport a bit of a pain.

All in all a good experience. its a nice place but if you're an avid shopper I'd go with something in Kowloon which is alot nearer the MTR.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the higher floor - they are (marginally) more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for staying at Butterfly on Wellington! We hope you had a fantastic time with us.

We are very glad that you are pleased with our hotel locations, room facilities and had comfortable sleep with our Sealy mattress! Also thank you for your suggestion about the television channels selections, we will definitely look into this area to seek for possible improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived early at the hotel but was told room will be only ready at 2pm. So, we went for lunch and came back and waited for our room to be ready. Due to unknown reason, past 2.30pm as our designated room was still not ready so the hotel upgraded up to bigger room - which was nice.

The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The hotel located on the more traditional side of Wellington street whereby you can still see side-street sellers and more on the old style outdoor eateries, which is quite worthwhile for those who wish to see the 'old' Hong Kong.

Staff at the door reception is friendly and helpful - the problems for the hotel is getting on and off taxi (especial with luggages) is quite stressful as it is a one way street with heavy traffic during the day.

Overall impression is from the external, it doesn't look very grand but once inside, the room we stayed was quiet and tasteful decorated. If you don't mind that your hotel is not next door to big shopping malls or MTR - but you are next door to a lot of small eateries that would be good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW_Lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your recommendations and we are very delighted to know that you enjoyed staying at Butterfly on Wellington.

Our hotel is located at a vibrant part of Central where you can see the modern & local HK sides tastefully blended together - an unique, relaxing area with trendy boutique shops stand along with traditional wet market street sellers. For a lots of travelers nowadays, we believe the experience of traveling with us is much more appealing than staying right on top of a shopping mall or business center.

Our guest services teams are glad to know their services are appreciated, we are always available to assist our guests and to make your trip with us hassle free. Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Finding the place was a bit hard, I wasn't sure I was going to the right place. The lobby was okay, the receptionist was helpful enough to help me calm my nerve if I was on the right place. The coffee service in the lobby was great and the room was nice, pretty spacious and relaxing, though the bathroom door and setup is pretty weird if you are with friends and not with a lover (pretty interesting setup).

This is a good place to stay, the price is great for the room it has to offer. This is a good place to stay when visiting Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and comments regarding our in room layout and facilities. We will take note of your concerns and we will see if any necessary improvements could be done in the bear future.

Thanks again especially for your kind words about our guest services team, we look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago but had a great experience.
Location is excellent, lots of local bars and restaurants nearby. Close to the elevation system and easy walking distance to underground.
We we pleasantly surprised with our room, we got the top floor (great view of sky scrappers and neon), lux feeling (huge bed, nice furnishings,extremely quiet/soundproof, tea and coffee etc) and our bathroom was lovely (could have fitted 4 people in the shower cubicle alone).
The staff were excellent too, very helpful and polite.
Would highly recommend this hotel, especially for its location and price and room standard (remember it is central HK).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Lovely to hear the review of your stay with us two years ago.We are glad that our rooms and services were up to your expectations, and it would be great if there's a chance to welcoming you with us again to show you our improvement. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The lobby, room, service were impeccable. The room size was large, by Hong Kong standard (not cramp), clean, modern, well insulated from adjacent rooms and street noise. The hotel was a jewel. The neighborhood was almost HK back alley. Great location in term of distance from business district, a few blocks away from LAN KAI FONG, Landmark Shopping Complex, Airport Express Station, traditional Chinese dry food and herbal shops. It was a lot fun for me to explore the neighborhood, including the trip up endless escalators to mid level peak. The best part was the service. The staffs were good and willing to serve. Good value.

Room Tip: I stayed at a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chawarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your compliments. We hope you had a great time at Butterfly on Wellington. We hope our hotel made your stay more memorable and we are glad you enjoyed exploring our fascinating neighborhood that reflects the urban lifestyle of Hong Kong combined with its traditional cultural features. Our staffs are delighted to hear that their services were appreciated. We look forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Quiet, comfortable beds, efficient air con and centrally located with access to city centre shops & restaurants.
We stayed on the 23rd floor - terrific view and so quiet.
Cost us about 120€ per night.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quieter the room and the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidtjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your great comments. At Butterfly on Wellington, we use quality Sealy mattresses to ensure all of our guests will have a fine night’s rest. We hope you had a wonderful experience. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I travel through Hong Kong fairly regularly and I always choose to stay at Butterfly on Wellington. The location is perfect - a very short stroll into Central, of up the hill to Soho, and right in the midst of the buzz of the wet markets.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and tastefully fitted out with a nice nod to Hong Kong's heritage. (Some might call them 'compact' but for this price in a big Asian city I think they are well sized!). And they focus on the right things - fluffy towels, comfortable bedding (though a blanket in Winter would be good), mini fridge (for you to stock), tea, free wifi and service that's always friendly and efficient.

For a city where accommodation prices can make your eyes water, Butterfly on Wellington offers excellent value!

Room Tip: Pay that little extra and upgrade your room, you'll appreciate the size difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejorpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope everything was up to your expectation and we made your stay even more convenient and comfortable. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and rooms. At Butterfly hotels, our guests’ comforts are always our main concern, we try to enhance our guests’ stay in every way with details in our rooms such as our design layout to maximize the space, and we provide different amenities for different guest preferences. Please feel free to contact our front office staff for any amenities if you so require, we are always available for your assistance. Thank you for your time and we would definitely love to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 725 in Hong Kong
829 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,149 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#20 of 725 in Hong Kong
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,984 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,324 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $136 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing