We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the dirt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #39 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Jewel in the dirt”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The lobby, room, service were impeccable. The room size was large, by Hong Kong standard (not cramp), clean, modern, well insulated from adjacent rooms and street noise. The hotel was a jewel. The neighborhood was almost HK back alley. Great location in term of distance from business district, a few blocks away from LAN KAI FONG, Landmark Shopping Complex, Airport Express Station, traditional Chinese dry food and herbal shops. It was a lot fun for me to explore the neighborhood, including the trip up endless escalators to mid level peak. The best part was the service. The staffs were good and willing to serve. Good value.

Room Tip: I stayed at a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chawarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your compliments. We hope you had a great time at Butterfly on Wellington. We hope our hotel made your stay more memorable and we are glad you enjoyed exploring our fascinating neighborhood that reflects the urban lifestyle of Hong Kong combined with its traditional cultural features. Our staffs are delighted to hear that their services were appreciated. We look forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    468
    101
    17
    14
See reviews for
140
371
183
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Quiet, comfortable beds, efficient air con and centrally located with access to city centre shops & restaurants.
We stayed on the 23rd floor - terrific view and so quiet.
Cost us about 120€ per night.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quieter the room and the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidtjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. At Butterfly on Wellington, we use quality Sealy mattresses to ensure all of our guests will have a fine night’s rest. We hope you had a wonderful experience. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I travel through Hong Kong fairly regularly and I always choose to stay at Butterfly on Wellington. The location is perfect - a very short stroll into Central, of up the hill to Soho, and right in the midst of the buzz of the wet markets.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and tastefully fitted out with a nice nod to Hong Kong's heritage. (Some might call them 'compact' but for this price in a big Asian city I think they are well sized!). And they focus on the right things - fluffy towels, comfortable bedding (though a blanket in Winter would be good), mini fridge (for you to stock), tea, free wifi and service that's always friendly and efficient.

For a city where accommodation prices can make your eyes water, Butterfly on Wellington offers excellent value!

Room Tip: Pay that little extra and upgrade your room, you'll appreciate the size difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejorpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope everything was up to your expectation and we made your stay even more convenient and comfortable. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and rooms. At Butterfly hotels, our guests’ comforts are always our main concern, we try to enhance our guests’ stay in every way with details in our rooms such as our design layout to maximize the space, and we provide different amenities for different guest preferences. Please feel free to contact our front office staff for any amenities if you so require, we are always available for your assistance. Thank you for your time and we would definitely love to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My mom, sister and I took a vacation in Hong Kong last May 31 to June 2, 2013 and stayed at the Butterfly Hotel on Wellington. The hotel is very centrally located. Its just takes a mere 10 minute walk to get to the MRT by Queen's Road in Central Hong Kong. It is also walking distance to several small boutiques where you can find cheap finds as well as to major stores such as H&M, Calvin Klein, COS, Massimo Dutti, Marks & Spencer, Cotton On, Coach, Gio Lagies and many more.

The rooms have a decent size. We were given a queen sized bed and a single extra bed. The bathroom was also spacious as well as the shower enclosure. They were complete with toiletries and enough towels for the 3 of us. The view from our room wasn't that great but it was quiet.

We were given a room on the 21st floor, Room No. 2102. It was supposed to be a non smoking floor they claimed but there were days when we could smell cigarette smoke. When we called reception, they said our floor was a non smoking floor and that most probably the smoke from the 19th floor (which is a smoking floor) seeps up to the 21st floor. This we doubted.

The airconditioning in the room was powerful because we did not only have one airconditioner but two. This was good for us because when it was too cold we would turn off one unit and keep the other one running. They had a safe to keep our valuables and free bottled water for each person per day. The housekeeping staff were very helpful. I thought I threw by mistake one of the purchases I made from Watsons and when I asked housekeeping to look for it in the trash, they did.

The hotel is reasonably priced and very near Stanley Street and Queens Road. The only bad thing is it is right next to a fruit market. Trash could be seen along Wellington and mounds of garbage would be collected by trucks at night. This was somehow an eye sore for the hotel guests and we think it also produced a foul smell in our bathroom. There were days when our bathroom smelled like a sewer. We reported it to reception and they remedied it. I do not know how but it disappeared. After a few days it started to smell again. Internet signal was strong and there was no limit to the number of untis that can use the wifi. My sister was the one who used the extra bed and they put in in a place where there was a pin light above the head of my sister. The lights were too strong my sister could not sleep. Lastly, their 2 elevators are very slow.

Because of its reasonable price and good location, I would recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives. In fact, I am planning to book my sons when they attend a 10 day training in Hong Kong. The rooms are also pretty with nice interiors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taguirre131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank your for spending time on such a detailed review. We hope you had a great time traveling and our accommodations enhanced your experience at Hong Kong. We truly value such comments as it can enable us to recognize possible improvements for the future. We will definitely take note of placement of extra beds in our rooms so we can provide a comfortable stay for all of our guests. Please feel free to contact our front office staff as they are always available to assist your requests. Thank you for your future booking for your sons, we look forward to meet them and for your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel MADE my 5 day stay in Hong Kong.

The hotel room was very mordern, clean,compact and great value. I opted to upgrade to a room on a higher floor and certainly paid off as I heard nothing from the busy streets below. I slept very very well during my stay. I was impressed with the shower and free Wifi too.

The staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. The location of the hotel is very central to everything I did in Hong Kong! I cannot fault this hotel.

THANK YOU and will be back!

PS The coffee in reception was great too

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor you can - there are approx. 26 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenleader1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for such cheerful comments, your compliments will be served as motivation for our continuous improvements. Thank you and loved to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I found this boutique hotel online when I couldn't get a room at the hotel I usually use. The rate was pretty good, on average $1100 per night + tax, and I managed to negotiate a free upgrade from a Superior to a Deluxe Queen. I found the location very convenient, though some may be put off by the fact that it is right in front of a local market.
The room was clean, and there was room to move about. The bathroom was not too small, no bathtub. The service was friendly, and staff very helpful. If you are there for a few days, there are several laundromats a few doors away, and lots of little cafes and convenience stores around within a block. It is about 3 minutes walk to Queen's Road Central where main shopping strip is in Central District. There is a Supermarket about 5 minutes walk, Mannings Dispensary, SaSa and Bonjour discount cosmetic shops, and an H & M shop on Queen's road, about 7 minutes walk. Soho is a walk up the hill, and Lan Kwai Fong is about a 10 minute walk away. The Central MTR subway station (Island Line and Kowloon Line) is about a 12 minute walk.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor facing the back of the hotel as it seems to be more quiet and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kappyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review. It's always great to receive a free upgrade and we hope you enjoyed our Deluxe Room. We are happy to hear your kind words about our service too, wish to have a chance to welcome you back with us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is located very conveniently in Central, and a 10 minute walk from the Airport Express station (and the MTR). There's lots to eat in the vicinity, and the rest of HK is easily accessible. For the price the rooms are nicely done and comfortable. In short it is excellent value for the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajuniaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for such kind comments. We hope you had a great time with us and we would definitely look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,701 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
795 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,195 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#36 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,092 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Property: Butterfly on Wellington
Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing