We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #35 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This past January I was in Hong Kong, stayed at the Butterfly on Wellington, the hotel not the apartments that are a few doors down from it. It was excellent, lobby is upstairs from street level. Extremely clean, quiet and most helpful. Room was small but efficient good mattress. This place is walking distance to excellent shopping old and new Hong Kong. It is walking distance to the subway, bus depot (a few more blocks than subway) and to the famous soho district. A short cab ride to the docks to catch fairy rides. Right across the road a good restaurant for breakfast . I only suggest breakfast. The soho district has plenty of choice for night meals. Hong Kong tourist board voted Lin Heung Teahouse best for local cooking, we enjoyed the food and the people. Always crowded and everyone is happy to share their table and make you feel welcome. It is on the same side as the hotel just 2 blocks further. It is upstairs from street level just follow the noise.

Room Tip: We booked the superior queen room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorisings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review!

We are glad that you had a great time at Butterfly on Wellington. We use Sealy mattresses in all guest rooms and it's so good you liked it. There are eateries within blocks away from our hotel and Lin Heung Teahouse no doubt is one of our local favorites - as you can experience the local culture more with its variety of dim sum offer and all the food are served in traditional food carts.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel right in Central Hk - in the midst of local life/food markets, shops, cafes, restaurants, bars; 5 mins walk to the Escalators, MTR.
Very clean & comfortable rooms with free WiFi.
Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstymc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad that you liked our location & had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just back from a recent trip to HK. Looking at hotels before it seemed you have a choice...either pay £450 per night at the Four Seasons or Manadarin....or £160 per night at somewhere like the Butterfly.

If you're the sort that likes breakfast in the hotel, gym, room gadgets, lounge bar etc etc...go for the Four Seasons. I spoke at a confeence there and it was very very nice,....expected to be at £400 per night.

The Butterfly isn't glamarous ( the room was a bit tired, but very clean)...it doesn't have a lounge bar , gym etc....but it was perfectly comfortable, the staff we re friendly and it was in a great place. It would have been really easy to do a sterile stay in the four seasons....but the Butterfly on Wellington is two minutes from the Central Business District....yet in the heart of the back streets where you feel a bit of the life of HK. Perfectly safe walking about in the nearby streets and markets.....i'm glad I stayed there and would do again. Certainly great value for money compared to the "big" hotels.

Room Tip: For an extra £10 per night I was offered an Executive Suite on the top (26th) Floor. To be honest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weleasewobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your great review and we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us!

The concept of Butterfly is totally different from traditionally chained hotels. Besides offering a comfortable, boutique accommodation, we want to offer our guests an unique "experience" while traveling this city. We do not operate any restaurants & bars in the hotels, the reason is that we are located in spots that are surrounded by plenty of restaurants and shops. The hotels are also situated in locations that are fully embraced with unique local characteristics, that travelers can easily "experience" the true beauty of Hong Kong.

Once again we are glad to have your support, and we can't wait to welcoming you again with us in Butterfly on Wellington!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and we believe that it's a practical quirky little boutique hotel. If you are looking for a hotel to lazy around or enjoy a nice breakfast or meal, this is not the place to go:
- central location (near escalator and close to Central MTR station)
- very clean, stylish boutique hotel
- no breakfast option possible but hotel does have a Nespresso machine available at reception and tea is available in the rooms (no milk though) and there is a small breakfast diner litterally across the road that we enjoyed as it serves eggs, toast and fresh juices & smoothies.
- the rooms are small but it did not bother us. the beds are very comfortable and we were mainly there to sleep so that was perfect.
- the bathroom goodies are quite limited
- no restaurant, no bar
- free Wifi although it often did not work in our room on the 13th floor...
Would we go back: we might! although we may choose a slightly larger hotel next time where it is possible to hang out for a cocktail whilst reading emails!

Room Tip: Make sure the Wifi works in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thanks so much for writing us this positive review! We use Sealy mattress in all guest rooms and our investment has really paid off.

We understand the importance of Wi-Fi connection and we did monitor it in different area in the hotel regularly. We will pay more attention on ensuring the connection stability and please accept our apology for the inconvenience you have encountered.

Thanks a lot for your other opinions too. We have 4 different room types available for you to choose in Butterfly on Wellington, please do not hesitate to contact us directly to get more information about the room sizes and features and we would be most grateful to offer a room type meeting your expectation. Thanks again and look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great, great location. Literally 30 seconds walk to the escalator. Room nicely appointed and very quiet.

Only negative side was the over zealous housekeeping staff who were so keen to get in, that they would ring the bell and call "housekeeping", but it would be more like "houseke" and they would be opening the door. Not great if you're in the middle of getting dressed. I soon learnt to keep the 'do not disturb' sign on the door at all times I was in there!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJT454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks so much for your comment!

We are pleased that you liked your stay at Butterfly on Wellington. Your experience about our housekeeping service is not the usual standard we offer to guests. We have circulated your experience immediately with our housekeeping staffs and we will pay more attention on this part in order to avoid unnecessary disturbance in future.

Great thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

excellent quiet central location and ease of use on wifi internet. the experience on the whole was good. I will recommend this boutique hotel for friends, couples and business (without breakfast) for their visit. It's within walking distance to the famous Yungkee roast duck place and 5mins walk to Central MTR station.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are decently sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_CSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation! Besides Yungkee, there are lots of other famous and spectacular eateries all within walking distance from Butterfly on Wellington. During your next visit, do seek for our guest services team's recommendation and surely you will have many more great findings here.

Thanks again and we hope to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Butterfly on Wellington is the second butterfly location we tried in Hong Kong in the space of 3 weeks,the other being just of Nathan Road in Tsim Sh Tsui (Butterfly on Pratt).The comments regarding both properties are similar and seem to represent this chain.
Location - in both cases (wellington and Pratt) - is superb - right in the heart of events in the city.The Wellington st location is a few steps from Central and HKG MRT,queens road central,De Voux road ,hollywood road etc - superb location in Central for a tourist.
The service is great - warm and efficient - with the staff trying hard to meet all requests and requirements - for example - the lovely door lady in Wellington rushed out with an umbrella for us seeing the rain outside and our hestitation to step out of the hotel foyer.
The down side is the tiny rooms - around 22 square meters - so basically a double bed fills the space,the bathroom-shower is functional but also on the small size,and the glass doors may be trendy but left me feeling uncomfortable..
bottom line - if u can handle the claustrophobia - Butterfly properties make for a good,reasonably priced 3 star accomodation solutiion right near the action in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: get higher floors to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your support for our Butterfly hotels. We are pleased to hear your compliments on our hotel locations & our warm services.

Regarding the room size, we are regretful that we have not meet your expectations during this visit. When you plan to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will surely assist on arranging you more spacious guest rooms.

Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 723 in Hong Kong
820 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#21 of 723 in Hong Kong
366 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#31 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#76 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,284 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#74 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,469 reviews
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $132 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing