We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #35 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

At first, was difficult to find as I arrived in the evening via the Airport Express. Walked from HK Station to the area as it looked quite near on the map. It was just a few blocks (around 15 minutes' walk) but I didn't see the street signs and so I walked further than where the hotel is. Once I found the hotel, everything went smoothly. Location is quite good on a narrow and busy street. No breakfast in the hotel but plenty of eating places around like Pizza Express, Pacific Coffee Co., and other decent Chinese eateries. Had three 7-11s within 1 or 2 minutes' walk. In front is a public market from which you can buy fruits. Adjacent is a Japanese handy store. 2 minutes away is access to the mid-level escalators, from where you can go to places like Soho and the mid-levels. 2 blocks away is Queen's Road Central and another block further, Des Voeux Road from which you can take all sorts of buses and trams. Location is quite the best in Central for a mid-range budget.
Lighting and interior design quite good. Room a good size for HK and very clean and quite new. Bed so very comfortable! I didn't want to get up from bed. Toilet partition is of glass so can be quite awkward if sharing room with somebody. Otherwise, perfect set-up for a solo traveler like me. Water pressure very good. Toiletries average. Had a small refrigerator and an electric kettle for coffee and tea. Cabinets have an Asian touch which I like. LCD TV available but I never watched tv. I stayed on the 2nd floor and room noise wasn't a problem. Elevators quite fast and you need your card for access so was extra secure. Very comfortable stay and I would definitely want to return if I have business in the area.
On the way back, it took 23HDK on a taxi to the HK Station for the airport express. Can walk to most everywhere from here. Speedy check-in and out. Cleaning ladies never bothered me when I put out a Do Not Disturb sign.

Room Tip: Most rooms okay, even on the lower floors. A bit of noise in the morning but still fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Butterfly is a boutique hotel, by this I think they mean no staff participation. When I booked, selected because it was very near where I was working and because it was a smoking hotel, I noticed that there was no restuarant. No problem, I'm in Hong Kong near both Soho and Lan Kwai Fong, excellent places to eat and drink. What I did not realise was that it also meant NO breakfast was available!!
Opposite the Hotel is a small cafe run by a Thai. They serve a full steak breakfast with tea/coffee for the princely sum of HK$23 or £2.14. astounding. ( my next hotel 200yds away charged HK$165 for breakfast.)
The hotel itself was comfortable, the room quite large considering this is HK Island and the laundry service was very efficient. but after staying there ten days the only time staff were seen was if you actually went to Reception.
A quiet, cofortable hotel usefull for a short stay.

Room Tip: All around the hotel are markets so it doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Only 3 blocks from the IFC mall with the airport express. Adjacent to the mid level escalators with access to tons of dining and bars. Graham Street next door with It's old world street markets. We were on the 5th floor. Never heard any noise at all for the 3 days!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortHardyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My 2nd stay. It is consistently clean and the staff are generally pleasant. Location of course is one block from mid-levels so an easy walk to IFC, Queens Road and LKF. Welcome supermarket one block away on Queens Road (down a number of stairs). You get a good selection of pillows from firm, soft and hypoallergenic which is a nice touch.

If you're in HK for a longer stay, and want facilities such as a gym, and a more cost efficient (but similar standard) option, I think there is better value to be had by selecting a hotel just out of central but on a convenient mtr line. I think this hotel is at the higher $ end for the standard and facilities offered.
Experienced some small service issues. Wi-fi did not work in my room; night clerk smirked and said nothing could be done; day staff were going to investigate and update me, which they never did. Took and hour, and then a follow up call from me to get an iron. These are really small issues but it does seem that service, particularly in the evening, may be slipping.

A very pleasant stay, a generally consistent offering with no unpleasant surprises which makes this a safe, convenient choice.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a single bed - ask for a twin room. These are larger, and you will get 2 close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jr9145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you're looking for a smaller hotel in the heart of a vibrant, sophisticated neighborhood right in the heart of Hong Kong I would highly recommend this hotel. Right out the door are great restaurants, coffee shops, wine bars, local markets, galleries plus the mid-level escalator. Yet our room was perfectly quiet. Rooms are smartly appointed with Asian furniture and a nice bathroom. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I chose to stay at Butterfly on Wellington for the first time primarily due to the other great comments posted here...and I was not disappointed. The location is superb and one can walk easily to almost any destination you would like within the Central District. The sub-train is close by, can access trams/buses easily...and the more local neighborhood means great finds for food!

The room was tastefully decorated, not huge, but certainly all I could have asked for even on a business trip (had desk, light, great wifi).

I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KC O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location. The rooms are small but modern and clean. Overall, I found this hotel to be a great place to stay in Hong Kong - so close to everything - Ferries, Lan Kwai Fong, peak tram, etc. The wi-fi service was great and the bed was very comfortable! I absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzieqgwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#29 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,174 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#23 of 730 in Hong Kong
847 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#20 of 730 in Hong Kong
420 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,556 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $132 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing