We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #39 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Have just returned from four days in Hong Kong staying at this delightful hotel. It is situated on Wellington Street in Central, surrounded by many restaurants, local markets and just a few blocks from the trendy Soho district. Just metres from the mid-level escalators, all areas of Central are very accessible and the ferry terminals (including Star Ferry Pier) are within easy walking distance (around 15 mins). The hotel does not have any restaurant or bar facilities but with so many places to eat this is not necessary. A restaurant a couple of doors away serves a western breakfast (bacon/eggs/omelet) for just a few Australian dollars and, if you prefer, McDonalds is only 5 mins away. Our room (Executive) was very spacious, clean and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was very large. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    468
    101
    17
    15
See reviews for
141
371
183
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We've been there for 2 nights and it has been a remarkable experience!

Extremely clean and very modern style hotel, located right in the heart of Hong Kong! Extremely easy to reach from the airport: just get into the airport express, get out at Hong Kong station (end of line station) and then walk for 5 min to the hotel

Quite tricky: reception is on the 1st floor and not immediate to understand especially if exhausted by the typical sizzling HK hot!

Room was big enough for 2 although not much space left with luggages around. Bathroom quite small. Everything exceptionally clean

Everyone was extremely friendly and available to sort anything out for us

Definitely a good hotel to consider when planning a trip to HK!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Was in Hong Kong and stayed at BOW for 2 nights. Very conveniently located at Central, Hong Kong, within walking distances to the train stations, great eateries and shopping centres.

The reception staff are wonderful and the room is clean. Loved it and strongly recommend it anyone who wants to stay at a conveniently located hotel in downtown Hong Kong!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The staff at this hotel really bend over backwards to be both helpful and charming. Nothing was too much trouble for them, be it restaurant recommendations or organizing taxis. The rooms were a good size for Hong Kong, and actually I prefer the room here to those at the Marriott in Pacific Place. The only downside is the lack of facilities. Great location for local food and the Lan Kwai Fong night scene for those that are interested

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I am staying in this hotel, booked by my friends. We booked 4 rooms all together.
Location is very good for whoever want to go near Lan Kwai Fong.
Problem is it just beside the market, so expect a lot of rubbish pile up when you look over your rooms window.
quite expensive for the the tiny room, but very tidy and well maintained.
The reception is friendly, they offered us to upgrade the rooms with additional charge. My friend did, and said it doesn't different much with my room. you got free wifi, with apple pc to use in small lobby.
Overall , location is good, but not very enjoyable. I personally feel it very cramp.
good only for anybody wan to be near the party scene.

Room Tip: most of the rooms is at the corner, so facing to the road and alley. but the alley is at the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limwiehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. It was our great pleasure to have you as our guest for your last visit. We are particularly glad to learn that you have enjoyed using our convenient location, and also we were able to provide you with the facility and service that are up to your satisfaction. We appreciate your kind comment towards to our reception and housekeeping staff. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at Butterfly on Wellington in Central again last weekend. I can confirm my impression that this is a well located gem. I met the manager who offered assistance during my stay and the young conciege went out of his way to organise taxi's and prepare written directions for drivers.
very helpful and professional. A great small hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnb1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights as a stopover from London to Auckland and thoroughly enjoyed this small boutique hotel situated right in the heart of Soho, Mid Levels, 50m from the famous escalator, and easy to stroll out at night to all the local bars and restaurants. Rooms excellent, check in and out excellently done, but extremely limited "hotel" facilities other than the room.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get more views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faberge36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,705 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
795 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,195 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#37 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,093 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Property: Butterfly on Wellington
Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing