We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquility in the middle of pure asia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #38 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Butterfly on Wellington was a pleasant surprise, you would never imagine to find such a well designed and furnished hotel in the middle of the crowded roads and markets of Central Hong Kong.

Location is excellent: few minutes from the tram/metro lines, right in the SOHO/KFL district, many bars and restaurants close by.
During the daytime the roads below are jammed with merchants selling everything from veggy to electronics.
At night you just need to turn the corner to find yourself on the stairway to hell! :)

Hotel is new and very clean. We had a beautiful angel room on the fourth floor facing the remains of a historic HGK building on one side and an old ladies balcony/open kitchen on the other! it was crazy we loved it was like being in a postcard.

Service is fine. Yes there is no breakfast but if you ask reception they will send you to a nice bakery 50m down the road that makes great coffee and pastries. Also there is a Mc Cafe literally down the hill on Queens Rd.

Yes maybe you can get more/better amenities in other hotels down in Causeway Bay area but you would miss out on the pleasure of not needing a taxi during your entire stay :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

The Central district on the Hong Kong Island remains the real heart of this great metropolis. Butterfly on Wellington is pretty much in the centre of Central, so a great location for restaurants, night life etc. Hotel itself has surprisingly good taste in furnishings (unlike many in this part of the world), and has a real boutique feel. All the necessary amenities for a 4 star- rooms a little small, but very well appointed. We had a good deal at a hard to book time, so some value consciousness here too. No pool or fitness centre-Recommended

Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Excellent location on HK island right by the escalators. 5-10 mins easy walk to IFC mall and star ferries, 10 mins walk to peak tram. Beautiful rooms, clean, quiet with very comfy beds. Hot shower. Tea/coffee provided. Free wifi in room.. Staff very helpful. Highly recommend fit price and I would def stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoonsterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I was very impressed with teh butterfly on wellington. not sure about the reviews I read on here, but our room was immaculate and modern. we booked the standard room so it wasn't big, but we definitely had enough room. and the location was perfect. SO close to the MTR station, we even walked the extra 2 minutes to get to Central because its such a hub. bed was very comfortable and big enough to share. not too noisy at all. free internet downstairs was great. i took the A11 bus from the airport for only 40 HKD and the walk to the hotel was only 10 minutes and easy. if I was looking for a great deal and clean, modern, comortable hotel, i would absolutely stay there again, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: higher rooms have nice views of the market below, and no noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The hotel has a good location near hong kong central station. the staff were very nice and the rooms were wonderful. they were even too good because i stayed too long in the hotel than go sightseeing hong kong. It was rather expensive but its worth the money. In the lobby they have free internet acces.
I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razzor9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend. Its a fantastic hotel... the staff were friendly and the rooms are beautifully decorated.
The location is excellent - short walking distance to the airport express station, central MTR and the ferries.
Literally outside the door in the morning is a local market, a great place to pick up some fruit for breakfast, its close to the bars in the evening (go for happy hour as drinks are expensive in HK) and some tasty cheap, local restaurants. We stayed on the 9th floor, which was very quiet.
We arrived at 9am after an 11 hour flight, and were able to leave our bags so we could explore until check in at 2pm.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I loved this hotel! For those who had some negative comments about it...you are in Hong Kong! All hotels are rather small and all have small elevators that serve 30+ floors. Also be prepared to walk a bit in Hong Kong...it is ok just be ready for it :)

This hotel was great! The room was plenty big for myself and a companion (but I was alone). There was wifi at the hotel. The bed was very comfy and it was in a good location. My room did not have a view...but that is ok...I was not paying $300 plus US dollars for a room with a view at other hotels. If you fly into town...take the express line to the Hong Kong station...walk south through the big IFC mall and meander your way south and a bit west. print out a map before you go and you can find it. However expect to have a 15-20 min walk and if you have tons of luggage you may want to get a cab. I traveled rather light so it was not problem. head south on Graham street (up a hill and it looks more like an alley than a street with tons of food shops and stuff) and it takes you to Wellington, turn right and there the hotel is on your left. See my pics I took of my room and see for yourself.

There are tons of restraunts and shopping around...and Lan Kwai Fang is also nearby...5 min walk..

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 725 in Hong Kong
829 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,149 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#20 of 725 in Hong Kong
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,984 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,324 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $136 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing