We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel in the heart of actions and food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #42 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in the heart of actions and food!”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

It is a real gem, minutes away from major restaurant like Yeung Kee, the famous roast goose place, Lieung Hieang which is literally minutes away. Walking distance to Lan Kuai Fongafale, SOHO, and nearest MTR is central!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    439
    100
    17
    13
See reviews for
129
348
174
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed here for a week and enjoyed every bit of it.

Definitely go for the EXECUTIVE room (430sq) that's on almost the top floor (it's the one that's pictured on their website under that title), if it's available during your travel dates. The room is -huge-, with tons of space and cabinets, a huge work desk, glass windows all around, amenities (like complementary water bottles every day), a really stylish bathroom, a huge sofa - and it feels fantastic to wakeup in one of the tallest buildings in the area!

There was a mix-up with the rooms: we asked for a non-smoking room, they offered a (smaller) smoking room at first, but when we "complained" about it, they upgraded us to the executive room for FREE without blinking an eye! Superb service!!!

The location's great, and when you don't feel like walking or taking an underground, just get a taxi, they're super cheap in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thanks so much for your great review and we are glad to hear your praise about our service & the room – Wellington Executive. Besides the facilities you have mentioned, we have recently started providing free Wi-Fi connection in all guest room too. Hope you will find it useful during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed here this week and it was great. Located in Central, near MTR, LKF, Soho area and right down the street from my favorite Dumpling House. It was Golden Week in China and rates were pushed up due to heavy number of travelers from China. Found a good price for Butterfly and it worked out great. Five minutes to every area listed above. Will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Can't beat the location: fly to HKG, take the airport express train and you can literally walk to the hotel a few blocks away via the escalators. One important thing to note, this is a boutique hotel and I would suggest contacting the hotel directly to confirm the room type. It may not be clear to you or them what your reserved if done online and if the hotel is booked, it could lead to problems. It almost happened in my case. Pretty awesome to wake up to the view of one of the tallest buildings in the world from my window.

Room Tip: Make sure you contact the hotel to confirm your room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thanks a lot for writing this review. Yes, please feel free to contact us directly for booking details or any other things, we would be more than happy to answer your questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
390 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Maybe for your first time in Hong Kong, or if you are not adventurous, this is not the place for you -- then try a chain hotel -- but we loved this place. From the street, you felt like you were right in the middle of the city, which is true enough, but then you could enter a small doorway and be whisked away to air-conditioned comfort. We had a great room, maybe we paid more (?), but it was the best value we have found after visiting Hong Kong on several occasions in terms of size of the room itself, size of the bathroom and shower (and ours was all enclosed for those needing complete privacy), amount of storage and closet space, and a sofa to lounge on and desk to work around (we stayed for four nights). Free internet in the room was much appreciated and utilized; and there are two complimentary computers to use in the lobby area. We were on the 25th floor, corner room, and had views of the harbor and city/mountains; and it was all quite quiet as the streets are side streets without buses and honking cars. What’s missing? There is no pool or food service (although there is coffee in the lobby during the morning) but we didn’t need to eat a buffet breakfast each day and probably helps to explain why they could keep the costs of the rooms so reasonable. The air conditioning worked excellently and while we had a top floor the elevator service was rather prompt. The elevators are small and we had to take two trips to get all our stuff up and down! But you can walk outside the hotel and feel like you are in old Hong Kong, with some very accessible locals eateries (and ubiquitous 7-Elevens), or head over to the mid-levels and escalators or wander down to the up-scale shops in Central, or in about 10 minutes be in the very large Central MTR station and quickly get around. I agree that sometimes getting a cab right outside the hotel is a challenge and if you definitely need one than make a booking or hire a limo to assure being on time (which is always hard to guess given traffic considerations. We were 30 minutes late to dinner, for example, but no one gave it much thought knowing how hard it is to catch a taxi on Friday evenings, any where!).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thanks a lot for giving us such an excellent review! As you mentioned, the experience of staying in Butterfly is different from that of more traditional chained hotels. We focus on providing unique and comfortable accommodation together with services & facilities that could bring the most conveniences for our guests. Hope you would recommend us to your families and friends who are seeking for a true & enjoyable Hong Kong travelling experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed here earlier in 2011 in transit to New Zealand with my wife and found the style and atmosphere of the hotel well up to the expectations I had gained from previous reviews. However, I would question some of the hype around this hotel as there are many alternative places that I have stayed in the area that offer better all round value - the room price quoted was far from "budget" priced and nothing is especially spectacular about the place. The rooms are certainly not large but quite adequate on the basis that Hong Kong is somewhere to explore and enjoy rather than to spend time in a hotel - the glass enclosed toilet and shower was rather unexpected and might be an issue for some visitors who prefer the privacy of an enclosed room but was no problem for us (in this, the design was similar to that adopted in my room when I stayed at L'Hotel Nina - see my review). Coffee facilities in the reception area was rather a gimmick and we ignored it in favour of finding out own brekkie outside. Location is the key winner of this hotel, as it is literally a stones throw to all the sights of Central. We got a taxi from Hong Kong Airport Express train station on the way to the hotel to check-in, but on our check-out in the early evening for a night flight to AKL, we found that there were simply none to be had. We even lugged our luggage over to a nearby road that was busier, but still no luck. The concierge could have been much more proactive and helpful here, but pretty much left us to get on with it. We eventually had to carry our luggage all the way to the in-town check-in desks of HK Airport Ecxpress Station, across the streets and walkways of Central. Not fun, but at least it was not summer heat or pouring tropical rain, but this issue alone, and the poor attitude of the hotel staff to help us, would dissuade me from staying here again unless I was on a very light luggage trip such as a short business trip, or where I could work in an office and have the taxi organised by colleagues from there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cantabflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thanks for your feedback and we are glad that we met your expectation. We are really sorry that our concierge has not been proactive enough to help taking your luggage and catching a cab for you, we promise to make improvement on that. We hope you will come back soon and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

stayed here for 1 night. its a great little hotel. service good. unfortunately no breakfast there
is a nice place down the road were you can have breakfast. we arrived at the hotel at 8am unfortunately we had to wait till 12. which I can understand but didnt appreciate especially after a long flight all you want to do is have a nice lay down. 4 hrs waiting is pretty long. its nice and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n-opp-1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,576 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#30 of 716 in Hong Kong
291 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,038 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#75 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,313 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 716 in Hong Kong
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Property: Butterfly on Wellington
Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing