We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butterfly on Wellington - very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #44 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Butterfly on Wellington - very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have stayed in Butterfly on Wellington twice in the past year. At the outset, I have to say that this hotel just has rooms and then a reception area (with computers) - it doesn't offer breakfast or have a leisure suite or other facilities. But it is a very clean, very modern lovely boutique hotel with an enviable location on Hong Kong Island. We stayed in executive rooms to get extra space and found the rooms to be extremely comfortable. From an aesthetic point of view, the rooms are great, the beds are lovely, the tv is flatscreen, there's a nespresso machine in every room as well as kettle and tea, a fridge, safe, lots of closet space and the bathrooms are equally lovely - with big showers, earthenware sinks, very modern.

The staff are brilliant, very helpful, showed me how to use the Nespresso machine, fixed our safe when we accidentally locked ourselves out of it, and willing to do housekeeping whatever the hour. Best of all about this hotel is the location. It's 2 mins walk from the famous Mid Levels Escalator, it's 5 mins from the IFC and the ferry piers, it's 5 mins from famous Lan Kwai Fong and all the bars and action and right in the heart of the shopping district. Likewise loads of lovely restaurants and cafes nearby so plenty of places to get breakfast and eat throughout the day.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone doing business in Hong Kong or just staying a few days to do some shopping or sightseeing, if you don't need a pool or a gym, then this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive rooms, preferably on a corner for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurcher500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    440
    100
    17
    13
See reviews for
129
351
174
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
202 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Butterfly on Wellington for a long weekend this past September. If you are looking for a not too expensive spot right in the center of the action on Hong Kong Island then this is a great hotel for you. The rooms were clean and big enough that we didn't feel (too) cramped. 10 minutes walk at most to LKF or the Central subway stop.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed here a couple of times and found it very good value for Central. The location of the hotel is excellent with all of Central an easy walk. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and you get free internet connection. I found the hallways dirty but the rooms were always clean enough. Be warned to put on a Do Not Disturb sign in the mornings if you don't need to get out and about before 9am as the cleaning lady will knock every morning until you answer the door! There is no food available at the hotel but plenty of decent restaurants nearby (especially if you go local). The staff were willing but not very efficient. This is by far the best value option I have ever found in Central.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. It is a clean, classy, well appointed hotel. Only drawback is that we got a room in floor 2 so didnt get any views despite I asked specially for a higher room when I booked, a while ago. So the views are pretty ugly, but being so closed to the lobby, we have good wifi signal.
Anyway, this is Hong Kong. In a different city you might pay less for this kind of room, but here, the deal is quite good.
For me, thea bed and linen is one of the most comfortable I ever had in a hotel, perfect to help you deal with jetlag.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
286 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I had lived in HK for 3 years and this was our first trip back after over a year.

Knowing how expensive hotels were in the city, we were quite nervous about where we were going to stay and didn't want to end up in a nondescript hotel somewhere in Kowloon.

When I discovered the Butterfly group of hotels on this site, I jumped at the thought of having a hotel option that had good reviews and was centrally located. The group has 3 properties in HK, with two of them located on HK Island and one in Tsim Tsa Tsui. We opted for the property on Wellington Road in the heart of the mid-levels where we had lived before.

I loved the hotel. It turned out to be located next to a restaurant we used to frequent called Habibi and we almost missed the entrance as we walked down the street.

Like apartment buildings in HK, the entrance is narrow and you have to take an elevator up to the lobby, which is minimally yet tastefully done up. Check-in was smooth and we were soon riding up the elevator to our room.

The room and bathroom is small - but then this is HK. However they were done up really well and were very comfortable. The hotel is truly functional in its services - so no breakfast or lunch is served here. But you only need to step out and head up to Soho in the mid-levels to enjoy a vast variety of delightful restaurants.

The room rates were really affordable, given both the city and the location in the city, which was a pleasant surprise. We intend on going back to HK and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed there during my last business trip to Hong Kong. I tough I would check-in in a good boutique hotel in line with the boutique market in the city. Wrong guess!!!
The rooms are very small - 15m2, bad TV reception, no Wi-Fi, no water pressure in the shower and the hot and cold water are not stable! Plus the bedside alarm clock was not reset before I check in and therefore ringed at 6am..........
As for the hotel itself, there is No breakfast, No restaurant, No gym...basically no lifestyle!
Plus their internet prices make no sense! Rates go from 800 to 2500 HKD within the same week!!! For 800 HKD it might be a good deal but for the price I paid - 1800HKD...no!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eolopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for three non-consecutive nights on our way to Vietnam. It was hard to find a hotel in HK, since good hotels are very expensive. Finally I made it. This hotel is very good value for money. Excellent location, very "Central". Rooms are small but very well appointed, decorated with modern-chinese interior, modern and stylish. Beds are big and very comfortable, with firm matress, that provide a good rest. The staff were all helpful, friendly and spoke very good English.
The only downside is that there is no restaurant for breakfast. Anyway is easy to find a place to have breakfast in the neighborhood.
Really enjoyed our stay and would most likely choose this hotel if staying in Hong Kong again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#94 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#35 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Property: Butterfly on Wellington
Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing