We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Boutique Hotel in Central HK - location is great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly on Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #42 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel in Central HK - location is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Went to Hong Kong for the weekend and needed to be relatively close to the mid-levels/central Hong Kong area. This hotel is great both for location and for the overall quality of the hotel.
The room size was relatively large (for HK standards) having attractive modern decor in the room. The bathroom/shower was all glass (very nice) giving the room a feeling of a upper end hotel.
Extra's such Free internet and ipod/iphone docking station were good.
Conceirge was helpful in getting taxi's when needed. Cost was surprisingly low for HK for a good hotel in great location.
Can not comment on the restaurant as I did not try it (not even sure if they had one) but there are plenty of choices outside for restaurants.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that there are many famous restaurants and local eateries in the area. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    432
    99
    17
    12
See reviews for
123
341
172
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at the hotel last week and had an excellent stay. The hotel's location is fantastic, very convenient to the mid-level escalators and just a 5 minute walk to the MTR. The staff was professional, friendly, and courteous. They were always available to answer questions. The lobby is a small area with comfy chairs and free coffee in the morning...it was a great place to meet fellow travelers. Rooms are small, but this is Hong Kong, and that's pretty typical for most small hotels. It's a small price to pay considering the location of the hotel. For single or two person travelers, room size shouldn't be a problem.
If I could change one thing, it would be the lack of wi-fi in the rooms. You had to go down to the lobby to access the free wi-fi they have, which was fine, but a tad bit inconvenient.
Some previous reviewers noted a smell problem. We didn't notice it. In fact, the hotel interior smelled positively fresh and flowery compared to the marketplace outside.
To sum up, for the price this hotel is an excellent value. A fantastic hotel for travelers looking for a bargain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brabisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thanks so much for your encouraging review! We will continue to seek for improvement in different areas and we hope you will find Butterfly On Wellington even more impressive during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

I've been to HongKong many times, even used to live there. So, I know this city and I know what I want there. I found this new hotel might be a good match for me when searching on this TripAdvisor, and it really was.

Good:

-Decorated with modern-chinese interior. Simple and sophisticated.
-Great location! Easy to come from & go to everywhere. From airport, just take Airport Express, which directly arrives at HongKong stn, the nearest stn. Also, convenient to take the subway(MTR) to both HK island side and Kowloon Peninsula side.
-Many choices for eating-out. From early morning to late at night, many reasonable local restaurants are available around.
-Close to both business / shopping area, which means good for both business traveler /
individual sightseeing.
-The staff are very helpful and work efficiently, which is quite HongKong-ish I think.
-No many group guests are staying.

Not good:

-In the guest room, bedroom and bathroom is not well divided. It's hard to explain, but, in the superior room I stayed, the bathroom is just a corner divided with glass door. it's very unique and stylish, even use the limited space efficiently at maximum, but still I suppose some will not like it.
-Some smell comes out from the drain. I guess because it's surrounded by local shops and restaurant, still again, some will not like it.

Well, in HK, you have bunch of choices regarding hotels. I would stay with this hotel if they keep their room rate when they've started, but seems not. (I checked their latest rate on their website, seems a bit higher than when I stayed.) I will try another one next time, but might come back here again depending on their rate.

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank akiko_nnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

As HK is one of my transit stop, I had been staying here several times this year. I feel so sorry that my experience has not been positive recently. I was really disappointed with the room tidiness and hygienic situation. There is nothing I can say about this basic housekeeping service except that I hope to see some improvement.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NamAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
We are very sorry to hear that our room condition did not meet your expectations. We value your comments and the concerned department has already made the effort to ensure the usual high standard of cleanliness. We sincerely hope that you will provide us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Please feel free to drop us an email when you plan for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed for a few nights at the Butterfly, in terms of location you can not go wrong.
It is in central close to Lang Kwa Fon and a 1 minute walk to the escalators.
There is free internet access included in the room which is a nice touch.
Unfortunately on our level as you come out of the lift there is a damp smell, I believe there are ongoing works and this didn’t effect our stay. The room and small and cosy
But there is little in the way of privacy – the bathroom pane door is almost see through and there is a lack of sound proofing so you can here EVERYTHING when someone uses it. No problems with the service since we didn’t ask for much and spent a lot of time outside of room. We would always have breakfast outside and never spent an evening indoors there This is a perfect location for those wishing to explore at a good rate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

What a great stay. I was in Hong Kong for a 26-hour layover, and this was a random choice after only an hour of research on TripAdvisor. What an excellent, excellent decision!

When I arrived, the greeter whisked my bags away, and showed me to the reception area. The gentleman that checked me in was friendly, helpful, and more than happy to explain all of the evening activities I could enjoy during my brief stay in HK.

The room...fantastic. Comfortable beds, spacious and elegant bathroom, rainhead shower...just top notch. Internet is included, and little touches, like slippers and a power converter, really made me feel like I was in a 5-star hotel.

The neighborhood is fabulous. A quick walk to the amazing Lan Kwai Fong nightlife district (which puts Cancun to SHAME!), a US$3 cab ride to the Peak Tram (amazing night views), and a nice walk to the botanical gardens and the docks.

The concierge / reception staff were so helpful, and helped me pack a lot of activities into a little amount of time. A BIG thank you to the staff!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Washingtonian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
We are so glad that you found Butterfly On Wellington an excellent choice though it’s just a very brief stay. We look forward to welcoming you again for a longer trip soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

HK is first stop of my Asia trip. Though it is a small city overall I prefer to stay in somewhere convenient to save my time traveling back to my hotel everyday. This hotel is just 2 blocks away from the famed Lan Kwai Fong area, me and my friends ended up chill out ourselves everynight there in different clubs, which cost us quite some time for sightseeing since we need to hang over a bit each morning.

By the way, the hotel itself is excellently designed in some stylish oriental mood, it's exceptionally clean and comfortable. Staffs speak perfect English and helpful. Might come back again when I come to hk again with my family next year

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halleeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#94 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#35 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#74 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#52 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Property: Butterfly on Wellington
Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing