We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and away from LKF”
Review of The Wanch

The Wanch
Ranked #5 of 66 Nightlife in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Well located and away from LKF”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Neat venue, playing mostly covers from metal and rock bands. No cover charge, small asahi is 45hkd, which is a fair premium for the band, friend,y staff- they don't strong arm you to buy more drinks. Songs can be bit dated like blues brothers and Roy Orbison, but there was some snow patrol and U2 tonight. Comfortable atmosphere with patrons more interested in the music than trying to pick up girls so it's safe and welcoming.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank adit3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Must go to The Wanch for live music”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Though small in space, this place is big on atmosphere. The night we were there we saw three bands, all quite different, but all great. The place just kept filling up with people as the night went on, everyone obviously there to enjoy the music. The staff were friendly and the drinks just kept coming. Don't miss this if live music is your thing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karends1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly, great music, open late”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Small bar, friendly staff, beers are cheap before 10pmish, music is what we come for and with free entry and jamming you can't go wrong.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal for a night of music and drinking”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I entered in this place during happy hour, when no one was playing music and the place was still empty. My first thought was that the place was incredibly small for a music band, but it wasn't a problem after all.
I was there for a whole night; nice variety of music, and very good environment.

The staff was very, very, (and very) friendly. Kudos to them.
Most of the customers were expats, some of them were nice too...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank t_bickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An evening at The Wanch, Hong Kong”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were told we should visit The Wanch because we like music. It turned out to be one of the best pieces of advice we have had. The place is brilliant, it's comfortable in a packed with people, interesting pictures, photographs, loud music, kind of way. We were given snacks to keep us going and lots to drink and great music. For us it was like home from home and we have linked it to the Blues Bar in Harrogate, another favourite place, the two are the best places to spend nights in good company and great music. If you like music and go to Hong Kong you must go to The Wanch.l

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank reneere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wanch also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Wanch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing