We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view, and even better food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Gray Deluxe

Cafe Gray Deluxe
Ranked #8 of 7,790 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Admiralty
Description: Cafe Gray Deluxe, A 21st Century Grand Cafe, Offers Stunning Views of Victoria Harbor. The Restaurant Marks the Return To Hong Kong of Celebrated Chef Gray Kunz, with His Unique Style of Modern European Classics, and Signature Dishes From a Lifetime of Leading the Finest Kitchens in Europe, Asia and America.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great view, and even better food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went here during lunch. Be sure to make reservations because the place fills up pretty quickly. I ordered toasted bread with salmon and herbs and pasta over stewed tomatoes, both of which tasted great. The staff was very pleasant and was very helpful in deciding what to order (i am not sure if the menus change often, the website shows only the sample menu). If you are into scenic views, request for a window table, some of which show great views of the Tsim Sha Tsui area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lois L, R&B Secretary at Cafe Gray Deluxe, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Cafe Gray on tripadvisor.

I'm so happy to read that you and your guests enjoyed the lunch with us and delighted that you thought the food was good and our staff were pleasant.

We all hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

With warm regards,

Lois Lai
R&B Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    254
    64
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

the restaurant found in the upper house, amazing views of hong kong. beautiful design hotel with lovely cocktails and good food. worth a stopover in the wan chai area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FRParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,240 reviews
582 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Meets the very high expectations...delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were quite skeptical as we have been to many great restaurants and we weren't sure if Cafe Gray would live up to the large expectations we had and it did. The view is not as good as some other places on the island but the food is well worth the visit. The appetizers were the hits of our meal with the scallop ceviche and the beef tartare - they were full of flavor, light and absolutely perfect. The duck was the 2nd star as the meat course...the curry flavor in the 2 sauces was amazing and the duck was cooked perfectly. The fish (trout) and dessert (apply & phyllo) came in 3rd but still were wonderful. The yogurt dip for the bread was really the only miss...it would have been nice to have olive oil as an option as well but that was the only downside. The servers were a bit rushed at the beginning which was a little uncomfortable but after that, they had perfect timing, always knowing when to stop by and check in. We will definitely consider coming back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“When the weather is nice and sky is clear, you think of this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

SO, on a sunny afternoon, you begin wondering about the view from this lovely bar/restaurant, and head off straight after work for a glass of wine and a few nibbles, or some light snack.

It works particularly well when you are feeling down.

The service is nice, the decor is nice, the toilet is nice.
Of course, the food is good, and so are the selection of wines.

Prices are on the higher side, but you will get the experience.

I compare this place to the peak. This is much easier to get to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carioca500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lois L, R&B Secretary at Cafe Gray Deluxe, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Cafe Gray on tripadvisor.

I'm so happy to read that you had a memorable time with us and delighted that you thought the food and service were of a high standard.

We all hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

With warm regards,

Lois Lai
R&B Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic view but then what do you expect from the top of a huilding overlooking the Harbour.
Food ok
Service good

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gray Deluxe also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Gray Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing