We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Indian Food in HK”
Review of himalaya

himalaya
Ranked #805 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: +852 2527 5899
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Indian Food in HK”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is one of the better Indian Restaurants in HK. It's much better value than similar places in Central.

Prawn Vindaloo is great (..and V hot), Chicken Tikka is also good..

Steer clear of the lamb / mutton, it is tough as old boots.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sakubona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    41
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very Poor Service & Food”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Staffs do not have enough training on customer service.
Food is so so. Go only when you do not have any other option.
Quality of Indian food is veru mediocre with poor management.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great Indian, and then some more”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Discreetly located in a sidestreet to Johnston Road in Wan Chai this modest restaurant is truly a gem. The staff is friendly and helpful and the restaurants is a typical family-owned place with a warm atmosphere.
The menu is rich and offers a wide selection of Indian dishes, both tandoories and curries, and the ones I have tried (I have visited three times) have all been excellent.
But there is more. Besides the Indian dishes there is a good selection of Nepali dishes, which although not very different from the Indian ones offer variations over the normal themes at an Indian eatery. Last time I tried one of the Nepalese dishes; the Himali Lamb Sekuwa, and found it very good, not least when accompanied by a tasty Nepali potato dish.
And the Nepali dimension includes beers too. I found the Mustang (see photo) to be an excellent companion to the food.
Last, but not least. the prices are very favourable, I paid around 300 HKD for a very full dinner, drinks included.
There is a buffet lunch, too, by the way, which is good value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rottan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I have ever eaten!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We came upon this little upstairs restaurant while wandering the streets of Hong Kong in the summer of 2010. You have to go upstairs and we were a bit skeptical at first because it didn't seem like there were many patrons. It did start to fill up shortly after we arrived though.The atmosphere also isn't the greatest. It sort of feels as if you are in an elderly person's dining room.
There were so many menu choices as it is Indian and Nepalese food, but we stuck to our regular dishes- Channa Masala and Palaak Paneer. We ate every single bite because it was so delicious! The naan was also very good- soft and crispy bits- so good! I will say honestly that this is one of the best meals I have ever eaten. I will be back if I am ever in Hong Kong again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very delicious - and good value”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stumbled across this place on a Saturday afternoon and were very glad to have given it a try. The lamb kebabs were stellar and the momos were good (not as good as those of the Deerhorn in Mui Wo but still...)

The service was efficient but beware of the air conditioner - it was freezing in there and we asked for the aircon closest to us to be turned off.

I would go back just for the lamb kebab but the other things on the menu were very good too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluemercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed himalaya also viewed

 

Been to himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing