We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Gem of Hong Kong”
Review of The Shamrock Irish Pub - CLOSED

The Shamrock Irish Pub
Cuisines: Irish
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Irish Gem of Hong Kong”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great cosy little Irish pub in a back street south of Kowloon park. It is especially cheap if you have the specials of the day. In August (2012) they cost 69 Hong Kong Dollars which also included a pint of Tiger beer. But be warned a pint of Guiness cost me 70 Hong Kong Dollars, just under £7 a pint.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Do i need to give a title?”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Pad for the best beer in town with great football matches which are streamed. Double Tan is the best in the entire region. Five Stars go to the Staff who are always keeping an eye open for the customer satisfaction.

Visited August 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good Service, Sweet Soup, Tepid Pizza”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Perhaps one if foolish to order pizza in an Irish pub in Hong Kong! But we did it and got what we deserved: rather undercooked pizza with a sliver of fresh basil. Service was cheery and efficient and the soups were hot, although the pumpkin soup was too SWEET! The best part of the meal was the Tiger beer!

Visited September 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food good but cover charge to watch footie”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Previously been here to eat and the food and service at that time was good. Recently sat down to eat and was very quickly asked whether we were going to watch the FA Cup final in 3 Hours time and if we were they would add a 240HKD cover charge!. At this point we left and had a polite chat with the Manager whom stated all the local bars will be charging this sort of cover charge. Walked into Delaneys, which is very close, and eat and drank all night, NO cover charge here and projector screens rather than 32inch screens!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Huge plates”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We were 3, ordered T-bone steak, sussage plate and stack sandwich, all we're reseanibly good and very big.

Black bear was OK.

Atmospher is good and service is good as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shamrock Irish Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing