We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, good location and honest staff”
Review of Pop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pop Hotel
Ranked #266 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small rooms, good location and honest staff”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is situated within walking distance to Mongkok MTR station, Shopping streets, malls,and plenty of good food around. THe staffs are friendly and very honest. I left a stack of HKD notes in the room and when i return, there is the money is placed on the bed with a reminder note stating "Please keep your money safely". I want to compliment the staff for being honest and have strong integrity in their work. They didn't take a single dollar from the stack of money that I left behind accidentally. the 1st day we had issue with teh shower door not properly closed and water drainage was slow which casues slight flood in the shower. That was taken care of quickily by the maintenance staff after we complain in the next morning. overall is a good hotel to stay and the only drawback is the room is really tiny. other than that i will recommend to otehrs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    46
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
10
19
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We choosed this hotel due to it's recognized by Hong Kong Tourism Board & Quality Tourism Services Association. But after all I found that I'm totally unsatisfied with the services and cleanliness provided by this hotel. Below are those unsatisfied items;

1. Cleaners provided their services to us everyday. But unfortunately they didn't clean all the area in our room everyday e.g. water closet and basin.

2. They provided 1 small soap only for us during our 6D5N stay. We must used it very save & carefully for our stay in the mentioned period. I'm wonder is the cost for a soap very expensive in Hong Kong? And this is also the important issue make them limited provide the soap to guest?

3. We broke a glass during our stay in that hotel. We knew this is our fault. So we paid HKD130.00 without spoke/complaint a word as per requested by front desk officer. Is that a reasonable price due to I never saw any price list published at whatsoever corner in the hotel?

This is really the most frustrated trip I had encountered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0reen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location and value for money for the suite room. Located near Mongkok MTR station and near shopping streets. Rooms are clean and equipped with basic facilities including free wifi and an ipod dock. Reasonable price for a suite room with a sofa and there were 2 TVs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drumthesticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Pop Hotel and paid HK$995 per night. Made the reservation directly through the hotel and got the bigger deluxe twin at the same price of the standard twin quoted by other websites.

The location was quite convenient, less than 10 mins walk from Mongkok MTR station and about 3 mins walk from the main road. Loads of eateries and shopping places can be found around the vicinity. Our room was clean and brignt and we did not experience any problem with wifi.

Pop hotel would be ideal for a short shopping trip.

Room Tip: Check the hotel site directly for promotion deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Pop hotel became the only relatively cheap solution especially when we travelled to Hong Kong during an unfavourable October period where Hong Kong was holding international conventions. Do take note that hotels get taken up very quickly this period like hotcakes and if you do decide to go during this period, don't! especially when the weather in October doesn't really help.

Back to Pop Hotel, don't expect much from this boutique/ budget hotel as space can be quite hard to find in the rooms especially when you're there for a week long trip. However, it is still a sweet spot in terms of convenience as it is very near Mong Kok Station where, for the ladies, H&M is very nearby.

Will i stay here again? Only during the October period.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayyyrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Simple, small rooms which is adequate for our short shopping trip. I had some trouble manouvering inside the bathroom (space limitation is a challenge here) but it grows onto you. The only peev is the weak wifi signal beyond our room door into the room - our room was an L-shape unit towards the side of the floor's lift lobby. Otherwise, it's value and location are key to a good recommendation from myself. Good food are around the hotel and the night market is fun...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very Nice hotel, a bit more spacious than other budget hotels in hongkong. walls abit thin though but services are superb....very fast internet connection....easily accessible from mongkok ladies market. very clean hotel too...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RozwandiMohamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
#249 of 718 in Hong Kong
116 reviews
Mong Kok
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#464 of 718 in Hong Kong
668 reviews
Mong Kok
Hongkong MK Hotel
Hongkong MK Hotel
#418 of 718 in Hong Kong
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
H1 Hotel
H1 Hotel
#310 of 718 in Hong Kong
53 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
M1 Hotel
M1 Hotel
#288 of 718 in Hong Kong
161 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#107 of 718 in Hong Kong
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop Hotel

Property: Pop Hotel
Address: No.950 Canton Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pop Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pop Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing