We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter Class”
Review of Hullett House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hullett House
Ranked #31 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

In a city that seems to keeps its older history tucked away, and where the modern and 'now' rules, Hullett House offers a taste of colonial splendour mixed with taseful innovation that is guarenteed to delight, impress and charm the visitor.
The building was once the police headquarters. Built in the late 19th century, it has a courtyard in a city where every square-inch is at a premium. It has a number of beautiful bars where peace and quiet can be found amongst the vibrant city life around it- and a couple of the prison cells have been left as a reminder of its past use!
The staff are absolutley charming and could not be more helpful and the food and drink match the quality of their surroundings.
There are a number of bedroom suites that are decorated in a unique theme. We stayed in a room decorated in a traditional Chinese style which looked out towards the harbour and gave a feeling of being splendidly superior and luxury - which was probably how the original occupiers wanted to feel.
Hullett House is a very special hotel. We were very well looked-after and our time there really added to the whole Hong Kong experience. It's a perfect choice for anyone looking to add an extra dimension to their city-stay or for a romantic stop-over that will be remembered for the fact that no one else in the world is staying in a room quite like yours - or if you're not a resident - the resturant & bar service is worth visiting in its own right.
Without overstating the point... It's a unique and beautiful destination that made us feel very welcome. Thank you!

Room Tip: Visit the website for more info on the suites and / or ask for a description of those available. Re...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond S, Manager at Hullett House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Thank you for staying with us. I would be delighted to pass your compliments to our teams. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

-Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Hullett House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 250 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

We recently celebrated our Anniversary with a stay at Hullett House and were delighted to fine such a rare boutique hotel experience in Hong Kong. This heritage building has been beautifully restored, and with just 10 hotel rooms, each has been designed with a different Asian flavour. Our Lido Suite was decadent black and gold, lovely balcony overlooking the Cultural Center, and a 4 claw bath tub. We rounded off our visit with an excellent breakfast at the Parlour and walked away happy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmandaO-HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We've been fortunate to have lived in Hong Kong for the last few years but, sadly, have just left. We decided to spend our last night in a special hotel and we considered the usual options - Peninsula, Mandarin Oriental, Conrad etc - and had we chosen one of them they would, I'm sure, have been excellent. But we decided that we didn't want big and impersonal, however good, and opted instead for Hullett House Hotel. It's part of 1881 Heritage in the former Marine Police headquarters - a rare thing in Hong Kong where redevelopment seldom means anything other than knocking down old and replacing with new. The building is grand colonial and we had eaten at some of the restaurants and drunk in some of the bars. There are just ten very large rooms in the hotel which open onto a wonderful terrace. Despite the featureless Cultural Centre opposite blocking the Harbour from view, there is still a glimpse of the magical skyline of Hong Kong Island. We chose the Stanley suite as we wanted something soothing rather than the sensory overload of the decor in some of the rooms, and it was perfect. The bathroom, like the bedroom, was massive with a wonderful bath and separate rainforest shower. Service was faultless. We had a problem with hot water which was corrected immediately. With just ten rooms it is very quiet and we hardly saw any other guests. This wouldn't suit everyone but it was just what we needed after a frantic few weeks. Location is great, a short walk from the Star Ferry and from Tsim Sha Tsui underground station and right beside Harbour City shopping centre - with prices a bit less eye-watering than those in most of the shops in 1881. Access is a bit unusual. The entrance is on Kowloon Park Drive from where you take a lift to the reception. Someone came down to collect our baggage but it did take a little while. When you're not checking in or out you can enter through 1881. Hullett House is very different to the other 5 star offerings in Hong Kong. We found it the ideal escape for the hustle and bustle and will definitely stay again when we're back in the city.

Room Tip: They are all unique. Check out the website before you book.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowendips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed there for our honeymoon and it couldn't have been a better place to live: the hotel is the oldest building of HK and now a superb boutique hotel which has kept all the charm of its history and heritage, while being very modern and artistic in its interior design.
Huge rooms/suites, terrace, it is extremely quiet, you feel transported a century ago thinking you are a King and a Queen! The bed and huge room and high ceiling was a dream, in a word: a dream!
On top of that, it is perfectly located right next to ferry going to Central and at 30 seconds to HK shopping center, and 2mn from Tsim Sha Tsui subway.
We went to the French restaurant on the first evening which is pure refinement in atmosphere, food and service. Breakfast were also top notch!
This hotel shall definitely be 'The' hotel in HK: it offers such a different perspective and feeling than other 'standard/branded' 5*hotels. Go for it you'll be amazed!

Room Tip: Ask for the 'Stanley' suite, it has a georgeous terrace overlooking the harbour!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard79087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

All suite marketing is false as they are large rooms, not suites. management is completely confused an the service is terrible. refused to recognize my leaders club card and give me the amenities. Rude staff. should not be a leading hotel under any circumstances. no 24 hr room service. things don't work. internet painfully slow internet. Rubbish hotel at exorbitant prices.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kssahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The rooms are totally amazing. The staff is lovely but young and not yet polished. This property is so unusual that it could be a very elegant hideaway in the bustle of Hong Kong but it falls a bit short in delivering the quality of experience that you would expect to get when paying the kind of money you are for this hotel. My flight arrived pretty much on time but my driver was not there to greet me. I had to make a call to the hotel to get the driver to come to the arrivals hall. From there it was smooth sailing. Check in was interesting....the lobby is small and tucked away on the first floor but the bellman (boy) met me at the entrance and escorted me upstairs - I would never have found it on my own. The hotel was very empty. Only 2 rooms were occupied. VERY quiet. I was upgraded to the Lido Suite....absolutely breathtaking room and bath. Huge tv screen. All kinds of options for electronics such as ipod, dvd, cds but impossible to figure out. I tried to get my things to work but no luck. If I had called down someone would have been up in shot to help but I did not. I had other things to do. I think the person who brought me to the room should have showed me a little more about the amenities. She was young and although extremely pleasant - inexperienced. I had a package that included a restaurant credit and American breakfast. The food was amazing!! I had dim sum lunch with my friends on the first day and on the second day by myself. It was delicious and the credit was very substantial. Breakfast was delivered promptly to my room and it was hot and delicious! Attention to every detail on the cart.

The room itself had 3 balconies - one of which was usable. The other 2 were unfurnished. The bed and bedding were divine. Towels and amenities were excellent - of VERY high quality. The bathtub (with feet) was purely decadent, however the faucet sprayed all over when turned on......a little disappointing but I "McGyvered" it and got it filled. The rainshower was fab!!

This is a lovely property, most unusual and situated perfectly with a view of the Harbour (you can peek through the Star Ferry building and see the water a bit). With time and attention to training and marketing - it may develop into a very unique hotel but it surely lacks the finishing touches to make this property worth the $$$$$ you pay now.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank princess416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Do you know the feeling of waking up in a hotel room and not remembering “where” you are?
Do you also hate the generic look of hotels that leave you wondering “why” you bother travelling at all, for the rooms all look and feel the same? – I most certainly do!
Last time I came to Hong Kong, we wanted something “different”, so we stayed at the "Hullett House" boutique hotel.
It’s an exclusive boutique hotel located inside the former Marine Police headquarters, cleverly restored without sacrificing any of its former glory I suspect. We were particularly charmed by the pigeon holes in the court yard, which used to house carrier pigeons. (The manager explained all this to us while he gave us the "grand tour" of this amazing building. There's so much history; I never knew this about Hong Kong...) Best of all, you’re right in the heart of this vibrant city. And while being touched by the ancient history, you remain thankfully untouched by the noise and madness that is Tsimshatsui.
The hotel has a selection of spacious suites, each of which are completely different, representing a different period in Hong Kong's history. We chose the suite called “Shek O”. The splendid and somewhat sinfully decadent decor, paired with the superb service really brought back the magic of travel that we've been missing for so long.
The suite we had gave us a stunning view of the Hong Kong skyline from your own private balcony (already this feature made our stay worthwhile). Their staff was utterly charming and the manager really went out of his way to help us book the perfect table for a special occasion at one of their lovely restaurants, the “St. George” (an excellent choice, by the way!).
I can honestly recommend this hotel; it made our last stay in Hong Kong just this much more special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,030 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,740 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,937 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hullett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hullett House

Address: 1881 Heritage, 2A Canton Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $363 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hullett House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Canton Road in Tsim Sha Tsui in a magnificent white-stucco colonial building dating back to 1881, Hullett House provides a collection of bespoke, individually hand-crafted suites that join the property's seven popular dining and entertainment venues in this elegant celebration of old Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hullett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hullett House Hotel Hong Kong
Hullett House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing