We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good year for Christmas decor at 1881 Heritage (Dec 2012)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 1881 Heritage

1881 Heritage
Ranked #48 of 812 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,424 reviews
3,471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,788 helpful votes
“Another good year for Christmas decor at 1881 Heritage (Dec 2012)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

1881 Heritage is an outdoor, cultural and shopping landmark in Tsim Sha Tsui that offers visitors a unique experience of looking into Hong Kong's history while being able to enjoy some luxury brand shopping.

We usually save our visits to 1881 Heritage for the Christmas periods and have enjoyed seeing their nice outdoor decorations over the past three seasons. 1881 heritage participates in the annual Hong Kong WinterFest Programme, sponsored by the Hong Kong Tourism Board, and they put up some of the very best decorations in the city each year.

This year the 1881 Heritage Christmas decorations feature the 10 meter high Christmas tree, similar to the past two years. However, there is a giant teddy bear which sits next to the tree that is nice, really makes you wish we had colder 'proper' winter weather during the Christmas season. Several additional bears are located within the 1881 Heritage grounds, which occupy three staged levels. These are easy to find and are worthy of a few pictures. However, it is worth saving some camera battery and memory card space for pictures from the front entrance of 1881 Heritage, near Salisbury Road. Here you find the beautiful, colonial era scene, with the Heritage Hotel serving as a backdrop for the shopping arcade area and the nice Christmas decorations in the foreground.

While we don't normally shop at 1881 Heritage, we do enjoy what they have done with this historic landmark, which served as the Marine Police Headquarters for over 100 years, between 1881 and 1996 and offer recommendation for a quick walk around, especially at night time as they make quite good use of lighting to illuminate the entire building compound and especially during the WinterFest Programme, which generally takes place each year from the third week of November until early January.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    141
    45
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
357 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Always Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ever visited 1881 Heritage on Valentine's day... it was fabulous!
This time I visited it again on early January and still stunned by it's british carriages festival.
I wonder what it would be on my next visit....hmmm....

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aang174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Eh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Seems like just another shopping center. It's decorated beautifully for the holidays, but I wasn't all that impressed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank orlavaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“historical building revival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

heard about it 2 years ago, always want to go, i thought it should be in hk island, but it actually face to hk culture centre, easy to go by subway or star ferry.

in this busy and clowded area, 1881 heritage is like a backyard, quiet, green and beautiful building.

i don't care about the luxury shops inside, i'm more intreesting in the restaurant and hotel. recently they have a dance exhibition in it. until nov.

it's a similar concept than shanghai Bund's building, turn the historical building to a lifestyle place, in this case, the dinning place and hotel is more popular than the luxury shop.

anyway, i enjoy the garden very much

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank miy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

All in one place to find a high end luxury brand shops. Prices are almost the same as shop in Europe. Also, a good place to take a relax after long day shopping!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Due33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1881 Heritage also viewed

Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to 1881 Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing