We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An effective and easy DIY way to explore key sights HK has to offer...”

Big Bus Tours Hong Kong
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.71*
and up
Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$35.45*
and up
Big Bus Hong Kong Open-Top Night Tour
More Info
$80.41*
and up
Hong Kong Market Walking Tour: Mongkok District
Ranked #15 of 138 Tours in Hong Kong
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An effective and easy DIY way to explore key sights HK has to offer...”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

HK is generally not a difficult city to explore on your own. The signs are clear, abundant and in English as well as Chinese. Public transportation is great and cheap. Taxis are not outrageous although language will become your challenge if you dont speak Chinese or Cantonese. Although I pride myself as a frequent and experienced traveller, I still bought this DIY tour as I am bringing my mom along on this trip. The tour offers the most comprehensive routes to explore key islands and sights in HK without you having to do much works except to decide when, where, if any, to get on and off on each route.
For those of you familiar with the hop on hop off bus concepts in other cities, this is pretty much the same. For a newbie customer, this is not a typical tour with the live tiur guide but rather a bus system with very well plotted routes and recorded audio that takes you to major sights across 3 islands of HK. You have either 24 or 48 hours to hop on or off at any of their stops. There are 3 routes (blue, green, red) which covers different paths and some overlapping boarding points that allow you to cross between routes. Once you get off, The next bus comes every 30 mins or 1 hour depending on the route you are on.

3 tips:

1) if you know for sure that you want to see as many sights as possible and you have enough time, buy the 48 hours ticket vs. 24 hours. It is only slightly more expensive (check final price on their website) but will give you FAR more values including a) a free 1.5 hr night tour in KowLoon, b) a 1hr ferry cruise in Victoria harbour (you choose from different time slots) and of course c) double your ride timing to cover 48 hrs which is enough to see all routes.

2) if you know for sure you will do this tour on certain dates, buy the tickets online as it will save you money than if you try to buy it on the spot. I saved $16 per 2 people. The rates vary depending on your dates too.

3) we did the following itins and it worked out well. Start out with the red route (HK) early in the morning...pick selective spots to get off, then we switched to the green route (Stanley and Aberdeen) and ended around 5 pm at the peak tram station. We went up the peak and down by 6.15.....waited for the night tour bus which also picks you up there and cross to Kowloon side for the night light tour. The tour also ended at the famous and must see spot of Avenue of the stars right on time (8pm) when the free nightly light show "symphony of lights" starts. Then, you can use the following day for the blue route in Kowloon. It is productive but can als be exhausting....so pace yourself.

Have fun!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank PoppyLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    492
    186
    83
    91
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excelent way to see Hong Kong”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We did the 2 day ticket and saw much more of Hong Kong than if we had tried to do it by any other means. As well as being able to hop on and off, the ticket included a tour of the main town area, a tour of Kowloon (which we did at night), a tour of the south of the island with a san pan trip, tickets for the peak tram and tickets for both the star ferry and the harbor tour. The taped commentary was very informative. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A superb overview of Hong Kong”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I took this tour on our first day in Hong Kong. The 24 hour pass gives you access to three tour routes - one in Kowloon and two on the island of Hong Kong (one taking in the peak and south coast, the other doing the main city of Hong Kong). We started around 10:30 with the peak/south coast route - included were a trip up the tram to the peak for spectacular views of the city, harbor, and Kowloon, and a sampam tour of the harbor at Aberdeen on the south coast). We enjoyed this so much that it was about 5pm by the time we made it back to the central pier. The day pass included Star Ferry tickets, so we crossed to Kowloon and took the second leg of the tour, finishing up at the Temple Street Night Market. We never got a chance to use the third leg of the tour - of the city center itself.
We rode the entire time on the open top deck of a double decker bus so had GREAT views of the city. It was difficult to take pictures from the moving bus, but being able to get off and explore the different areas at our own pace was great.
In short, I can't think of a better way to be introduced to Hong Kong. The staff are friendly and helpful - and there are staff assigned to key spots around the island (the Peak tram; the sampam ride; Kowloon) to help you get the most of the experience. If you have the time, opt for the two-day (48 hour) version - we wish we did!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald Munroe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not much time to get lost, this tour is good for you”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Since HK covers of many islands and regions which you think you may find difficult to reach alone, plus if you don't have many time, or if you don't have any relatives to accompany you in seeing HK, then this tour is good for you.

Finding the big bus tour crews sometimes can be very tricky. In the pier they appear obviously: people in red shirts walking back and forth on pier 7, just below the sign "Central Pier". But not that obvious in the other places. You have to watch carefully to find the red-shirted persons, or if you're lucky, just follow the bus route if you're coincidentally see it.

Before make a plan to buy 24 or 48 hours ticket, you need to determine your target. Do you want to enjoy all of The Peak, Night Market, Stanley Market, Aberdeen Promenade and its sampan ride to jumbo floating restaurant, Repulse Bay, and Ocean Park? If yes, even 48 hours may not even be enough. In my opinion, for slow-paced traveler, several parts of this tour should be explored alone, because they limit the bus arrival only until about 5-7pm every day.

My suggestions:
1. If you really need to explore all of those places, take 48 hours ticket, go to the first bus stop as early as possible (i.e. the first bus of the day), and take the last bus stop as late as possible (i.e. the last bus of the day).
2. Be on time while waiting for the bus. The bus wouldn't wait as they always depart on the exact time as they said.
3. If you cannot stand hard wind, don't forget to wear your jacket or sweater while in the tour, especially tour on green line bus.
4. If you are a traveler who likes to explore all places alone without to-the-point and well-programmed guidance, then, I'm sorry, forget this tour. You should do your trip alone to fulfill your satisfaction.

Helpful?
4 Thank chameleontrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was the best tour! You get to see the Hongkong Island, Stanley and Kowloon side of Hongkong. With this, you get free ride to the tram that would take you to the PEAK. Free ferry to Kowloon side and a ferry side to experience get near the boat houses. If you could go the the upper deck of the bus. It was great to see those high rise buildings. Staff are very friendly, specially May who helped us at the PEAK station. Every tourist who goes to Hongkong has to do this. It was all worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AgnesFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bus Tours Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Big Bus Tours Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing