We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do bus tour.”

Big Bus Tours Hong Kong
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.78*
and up
Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #16 of 136 Tours in Hong Kong
Attraction details
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A must do bus tour.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

There's three routes, two on Hong Kong island and one in Kowloom (you get a free ferry ticket across the harbour to get this). You really need two days if you're going to hop on and off. The green route spends most time on the south side of HK island. Make sure you get off at Stanley and wander through the market. You get a Sanpan boat ride included at Aberdeen as well. The green route alone could take a day with hop on and off.
You also get a ticket to go up to the Peak on the cable tram (which is a complex of shops and restaurants at the top of HK "mountain").
The blue route is across the harbour in Kowloom. Make sure you visit the Ladies Market for gifts etc and remember to haggle haggle haggle. There's also a Night Market bearish by (15 minute walk). If you time it all nicely you can get back to the harbour to see the Symphony Of Lights where the some of the buildings on HK island put on a light show.
The tour commentary is recorded and played through earplugs (supplied)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    484
    182
    81
    88
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good, but repeating quite a bit”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We only had one day, so we decided to skip the walking and take the Big Bus tours on Hong Kong Island (we skipped the Kowloon one). We had a good experience, and this enabled us to sight-see parts of Hong Kong we probably would have missed otherwise. Tickets for this were 200 HKD (for a single tour) and 350 HKD (for 24 hours all tours + extras) for the one-day options. We went for the 350 HKD one.

We enjoyed most the "green" tour, which passes the side of Hong Kong containing Repulse Bay and the floating restaurant, offering some amazing views. This is great if you want to spend some time on the beach, if you want to visit the Stanley Market, or if you want to do Sampang ride or floating restaurant. The "red" tour takes one through Hong Kong island CBD-side only, and was very interesting too.

As for the extras, we skipped the Sampang ride, as we did not find the harbor on that side too interesting. There is a free peak tram ride included, but every time we passed, the queue was incredibly long, so we decided to skip that one too. The tour also includes a free ferry ride from HK Island to Kowloon, which we took advantage of.

The only downside that I found with this tour is that some parts are repeating a fair bit (generic bits about Hong Kong especially), even if they try to vary which parts they tell. Plus, the bus tends to go quite fast, so photo-taking is a bit of a challenge.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank xristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth the price”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The big bus was a great time. We bought two days, and there was so much to see that we didn't get to it all. The routes showed many of the main attractions, and the commentary helped give a good background of the history. I would highly recommend!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“48 hour ticket is the way to go...”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We used the big bus tour for a two day two island tour and enjoyed all of it.

The tour includes star ferry trip, the peak cable car and a sampan boat ride.

There are great sights and photo stops along the way.

Best value but the 48 hour ticket and do the night lights tour

Helpful?
4 Thank spiceoflifetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a misconception I had... Tks Big Bus,”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Always thought these kinds of buses were for the elder, retired turists... Big mistake!
The Big Bus HK allowed me to relax,unwind and while doing so, going through key sites listening to somewhat interesting info via headphones.
Yes you may go from A to B quicker and cheaper, but the Big Bus allows you to do the same with no hustle and with some tickets included.
Suggestion to BB Management: you should try another kind of ticketing system... Issuing from that little usual ftpos machine looks sort of improvised, specially if you take the 48hrs tour.


Helpful?
2 Thank rkiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bus Tours Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Big Bus Tours Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing