We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'hotel Island South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ovolo Southside(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
KAZA Wanchai(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gang Wan Hotel(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Shama Midlevels(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveler rating
224
311
113
29
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
311
113
29
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean parkcauseway bayhong kong stationthe shuttle bus servicemountain viewstanley marketlong staymodern hotelbus stopenjoyed my staycentral areaoutdoor poolhigher floorhouse keepingdecent sizehotel staffoctopus card
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 702 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I had the misfortune to spend a weekend at this hotel, and it was an experience I truly hope never to have to repeat. There was nothing redeeming about the hotel, it's staff or the services provided. The hotel didn't have my booking when I arrived [even with my email confirmation of booking from their sales manager], the staff were entirely unhelpful and unsympathetic, the restaurant was fully booked on the Saturday night, and there is nowehere in the vicinity to eat. Breakfast was uninspiring, with dishes and cutlery left out long after guests had left, I couldn't get any cash [nothing again nearby] so wasn't able even to have a drink in the bar. When I complained, the only thing to try to sweeten the experience was the offer of a late check out -- the last thing I wanted to do was stay longer!

Location is terrible, contruction of the MTR is ongoing, cleanliness is suspect - it's the one hotel where I've felt I needed to wear the complimentary slippers. When I went to the meeting I had on Saturday, I found I was the only person staying in this hotel [which had been recommended by the company hosting the meeting] which sums it all up. Stay once, but never again.

Room Tip: Get as high a room as possible to avoid construction noise
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tsferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear tsferguson

Please accept my sincere apologies concerning the case in which we may have caused you inconvenience. Your constructive comments have been shared among our team for investigation and internal review for improvement. Although they have proved to be simple human errors, they have highlighted miscommunications between various departments. To forestall recurrence of the same kind, please rest assured that the concerned department heads have been appraised of the situation and the staffs have been well-briefed again regarding service delivery and effective communications.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention which enables us to evaluate our services and products more effectively. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience that the situation may have caused you. We sincerely hope this isolated incident will not impair your confidence with us and look forward to serving you better in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in a standard room on higher floor, which was OK, no frills/extras, not much of a view, interior somewhat "cheap-looking", although clean. Location is a drawback, can't walk around the hotel, surrounded by ugly construction sites and highways. Driving to the hotel entrance was stressful(we had a car with driver one day), due to detours from construction work and many one-way roads. Although distance to Central is short, one day, we had to take a detour to avoid traffic in the tunnel to Central, and it took a long time. Room rate is less expensive compared to hotels in Central, but traffic could be a problem. Breakfast buffet was somewhat disappointing, due to limited choice, but it was inexpensive, so can't complain. Altogether, relative to what you pay, this is a reasonable hotel, but nothing more than that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myasha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Myasha I

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor platform. We apologize for our breakfast selection shortfall, and rest assured that your comments have been shared among our associates for review and future improvement. I agree with you that the building work of the MTR station project does have effects on the outlook of this area. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will certainly bring more convenience to our guests in the future. Meanwhile, our hotel provides complimentary daily scheduled shuttle bus service to Central (Airport Express Hong Kong Station), Causeway Bay, Wanchai, and the Ocean Park Hong Kong for guests’ convenience. In addition, Jumbo Kingdom, Deep Water Bay, Repulse Bay and Stanley are simply within approximately 15 minutes taxi ride from our hotel. On your next visit, please feel free to reach our concierge staffs for more recommendations in exploring Hong Kong.

Once again, thank you very much for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we hope to be of your service again to regain your confidence with us.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is modern and the rooms are clean and you might have a good view, if you are on upper floors facing Ocean Park. The staff is very friendly and the service is rapid, sometimes even too rapid. The breakfast buffet was quite ok and you could order egg dishes, which were made for you. We once had dinner in the restaurant and it was good with lot of fresh salads and sea food. The only minus point is the situation. The hotel in in the middle of nowhere or building sites, so you can´t walk anywhere. Fortunately there is a shuttle bus to the center and Ocean Park. If the weather allows, you can have a good swim in the hotel´s swimming pool.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing Ocean Park
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Kilkki

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor platform. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us! I agree with you that the building work of the MTR station project does have effects on the outlook of this area. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will certainly bring more convenience to our guests in the future. Other than our hotel location being close to the Ocean Park Hong Kong and Causeway Bay, Deep Water Bay, Repulse Bay and Stanley are simply within approximately 15 minutes taxi ride from our hotel. On your next visit, please do not hesitate to speak with our concierge staffs for recommendations in exploring the relaxing southern district of Hong Kong!

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here on April 29th 2013.

The room is big, super comfortable bed and a standard bathroom. We had booked a room on the high floors( see their web page) to avoid too much noise from the construction below. We could not hear the construction at night but during the day. The AC however was horribly loud in the room.

The rooms have no nice extras or so. Just standard rooms with comfortable beds.

The surrounding is not good at all. Huge roads and construction.

The breakfast really is disappointing for the money spent. Just eggs and some basics. Croissants taste stale, coffee is basic, service is poor ( asked for coffee and got a " get it yourself" even though there were almost no guests and ton of staff, no fresh OJ or anything...m

Basically it is ok for a few nights if you need to be in the area.... But the area really is just a huge construction site now... S for normal tourist this hotel is NOT a good choice at all...

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelRaoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear TravelRaoul

Thank you for giving us feedback via TripAdvisor platform. We are sorry to learn about your unpleasant experience, and please rest assured that your comments have been shared among our team for review and future improvement.

The fact that the building work of the MTR station project does affect the outlook of this area. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will certainly bring more convenience to our guests in the future.

Once again, thank you very much for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we sincerely look forward to another opportunity to rebuild your confidence with us in the future.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Arriving here is a bit unnerving, especially during the present major building work on the new MTR line outside. However, the grim exterior surroundings betray a deceptively stylish establishment.
Unfortunately, the architectural term 'form over function' applies to this hotel, as the chic, stylish surroundings mask the lack of practical items (eg heater; drawers and storage). Certainly the staff brought a heater and bathrobes when asked (the second time), which made the chilly room more pleasant (and this from a Scotsman!).
I have to disagree on the review criticizing the cleanliness; I found the rooms exceptionally clean and the bed very comfortable. The shuttle into Central station was efficient and, with easy access to Aberdeen harbour, the location is ideal for the tourist.
I have stayed here a couple of times, and given the value for money this hotel represents in comparison to the expensive central ones, have no doubt I will return.

Room Tip: Stayed a few times and all rooms pleasant.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotelislandsouth, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel Island South, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear EdinburghSky

Welcome back to our hotel, and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor platform! I agree with you that the outlook of the area does get affected by the building work of the MTR station project. However, with the extension of the MTR metro system in the Southern district of Hong Kong, it will definitely bring more convenience to our guests in the future. On your next visit, please feel free to reach our concierge staffs for recommendations in exploring Hong Kong!

Thank you for your comments once again, and we look forward to your next visit to Hong Kong!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel Island South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews