We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tourist Attraction?”

Dialogue in the Dark Hong Kong
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.29*
and up
Walking in the Darkness Experience in Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 59 Fun & Games in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience an "Unseen" tour you never experience before. Unlike ordinary sight-seeing spots in Hong Kong, we offer a "dark" and inspiring experience. Please visit our website for more detail. PRE-BOOKING for English tour is essential as there are only a few English sessions daily. Purchase tickets online at our ticketing system before it is too late. Opening: Tue-Fri 10:00-19:30, English sessions: 11:30, 13:45, 17:00.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Tourist Attraction?”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We found Dialogue in the Dark to be an interesting experience but in our view it is more of an educational forum (that doesn't quite work) than a tourist attraction. Certainly it is thought provoking to be placed in the shoes of a blind person and the physical issues they face but explanation from the unsighted or partially sighted guides is all but absent.
We felt it really needs a conclusion in the form of a talk which in some way helps to put sighted people in a position to understand and be of assistance to the unsighted.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Murfs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiDEres, Manager at Dialogue in the Dark Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Murfs,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments.

We will take your advice into our consideration so as to further enhance our customer experience to a deeper level.

Thanks again for taking your time to come by our exhibition center and also give us this advice.

Sincerely
Dialogue in the dark exhibition centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    85
    32
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Want to "see" like a blind person? This is your opportunity. You'll spend more than an hour in complete darkness, trying to experience the world like those who cannot see with their eyes. Something special really, I can only recommend it. The English session with our guide Ruby was a great experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ttila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Humbling...really great!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Dialogue in the dark makes you enter a world you would rather escape thinking of. I have heard from few friends about this museum in Frankfurt, Germany and when I got the chance to visit it in HK, I just told my tour guide to go there. He was local yet never heard of it... never mind. He was also very inspired.
The trip was around 70 minutes and was pretty amazing and humbling. Entertaining for sure but most of it you realize how gifted you are from God that you have sight and at the end you ask yourself the question - maybe blind people sometimes see more than we do?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chavdar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perhaps best done in one's native language?”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I did this with my son last week in Hong Kong, and we were both more than a little bit disappointed. Neither of us found it interesting, and the way the experience was structured made it difficult to learn much about visual impairment. The group was too large to learn to use the cane effectively-- instead, we all just bumped into each other constantly, and because sweeping the cane even a few inches meant whacking someone else, no one used the cane much after the first five minutes. We felt our way using the walls instead.
Young children (six and under) joined, which changed the experience as well; and it isn't very easy to find, even with good directions on their website-- Mei Foo is quite out of the way, and the shopping mall in which it is located has little entertainment to offer if you do turn up early.
But most important, our guide's English was very good, which is important when you are relying on verbal cues to navigate the space: he repeatedly confused right and left, misheard and did not understand questions that were asked, and when we warned him that one child became separated from the group-- a warning that we repeated three times-- he kept right on going. In fact, two children got lost briefly: one joined another group for a time, and the other came back eventually, sobbing from the trauma of being lost in complete darkness. The guide did not seem to notice-- or at least did not comment-- in either case.
I'm so glad the others who reviewed Dialogue in the Dark got so much out of this experience, and while of course I support enthusiastically the idea, we just didn't get much out of it-- despite looking forward to it very much beforehand-- and unfortunately therefore can't recommend it to others, based on our experience.
Parents with younger children and perhaps others might consider whether they might want to try finding Dialogue in the Dark at home (if there is one to be found near your home) with native speakers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oxdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcheung1, Manager at Dialogue in the Dark Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Oxdon,

Thanks for taking the time during your trip to come by Dialogue in the Dark ! We apologize that we weren't able to meet your expectations.

We're working to enhance the level of English within our visually impaired guide team. They are not native English speakers, and before joining Dialogue in the Dark, many of our guide team haven't had many opportunities to develop their English capabilities.

Because of the overwhelming response from the travel community we are working hard to train and improve our English capabilities within our visually impaired guide team. Please bear with us, as a language can't be learned over night - but we are trying hard !

Thanks for your patience, and wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,
The Dialogue in the Dark Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
183 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Incredible experience!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Glad I read about this on tripadvisor... Sometimes as residents of a city you tend to miss things that tourists take the time to research and discover!

As other reviewers have said, Dialogue in the Dark is about a 75 minute experience like visually impaired person. When we entered the pitch darkness I was really apprehensive about how we would be able to manage for that length of time with just our canes and the voice of our guide to help us. The other senses kicked in... And navigating got little easier as we progressed. However, it just brought to light the various things we just take for granted on a daily basis.

Many thanks to our awesome guide, Henry. It was a truly amazing experience. Definitely recommended if you are a resident or just visiting HK and have some time during your trip. The English and Mandarin experiences are fewer in number... So do book in advance. And don't miss it cos you need to pay in advance as well.

If you are driving, there is public parking in the mall building where DiD is located. Some signage indicated that the building was called Nob Hill Square... While the instructions on the site say Household Centre.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kanwalkwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dialogue in the Dark Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Dialogue in the Dark Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing