We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally amazing”

Dialogue in the Dark Hong Kong
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$28.25*
and up
Walking in the Darkness Experience in Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 59 Fun & Games in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience an "Unseen" tour you never experience before. Unlike ordinary sight-seeing spots in Hong Kong, we offer a "dark" and inspiring experience. Please visit our website for more detail. PRE-BOOKING for English tour is essential as there are only a few English sessions daily. Purchase tickets online at our ticketing system before it is too late. Opening: Tue-Fri 10:00-19:30, English sessions: 11:30, 13:45, 17:00.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Totally amazing”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked this and it was amazing. You do not realise how much you can do without one of your senses - it really is totally black - you cannot see anything at all. You have you guide stick and your guides voice to help you - the rest is done by your other 4 senses kicking in very quickly - and things you didn't realise you knew. I actually found it quite scary that I couldn't see anything - but by the end of the 75 minutes - I was much more confident and was able to lead the group out to the exit. Its very clever - you visit a park, ride on a boat (which moves), go a market, the theater and if you want purchase a drink and biscuits in a cafe - but its all inside a huge hall. Don't miss this - its brilliant

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank busy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    85
    32
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

What an experience. When we first went in to this "attraction" I felt slightly claustrophobic. It is pitch black. Our guide Joanna told us that lots of people don't make it to the end of the tour, that they can't cope with the darkness. But I persevered and I am so glad that I did. It teaches you to respect and use your other senses and also to realise what visually impaired people are doing on a daily basis. I loved this experience and would fully recommend to everyone. One practical tip - when you come out of the MTR station turn right!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a must do activity. We took our 3 children (aged 16, 14, 10) & we all learned a lot about what it's like to be visually impaired & had fun at the same time. The experience lasted over an hour but it felt a lot shorter. The kids talked about this experience for days. Call ahead to book a tour in your language.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanettek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What an experience. I now understand the challanges blind and partially sighted people face and how they can overcome these challanges. The tour guide Joanna was amazing as she makes you use all other senses. The tour lasted approx 70 mins which went really quick. Would recommend this tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DQbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“this is something you should experience - no words will give you full picture”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I really enjoyed the time that I spent with DiD. We had a guided tour in which we experienced different situations from real HK life as a blind person would experience that. It is a very unusual feeling - not to see the world around you with your eyes and try to utilize your other senses in order to survive.
I recommend this to everyone - plan to visit DiD after you spend several days in HK

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank edennnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dialogue in the Dark Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Dialogue in the Dark Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing