We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but wi-fi is perpetually broken.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Y Loft (Youth Square)
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad, but wi-fi is perpetually broken.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here several times, and it's convenient to be close to the MTR and have a laundry room in the hotel. However, if you depend on Internet access for work, you'll have to find another place to connect. The wireless here is simply a disaster. It works only intermittently, and then only very slowly when it does work.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    164
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
58
65
59
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very clean, excellent service by the staff, I wasn't expecting it to be more like a hotel than a hostel. Very convenient to transportation, a few steps away from the MTR rail line so it was just easy to hop on a train and just go. I loved the shower, as it dipped into the ground and so didn't have to worry about it going out of the room. The design is very modern. The beds are very hard, which was just perfect for me and I slept we'll every night. I gave it a 4 star rating because of the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

A modern youth hostel that looks like a hotel. Its so clean and safe. The staff are very helpful, friendly and honest. On our check out we were rushing to get a taxi and one of the hostel staff rushed towards us to tell my husband that he forgot his watch in the room. very honest! We always stay in this place whenever we visit Hong Kong. Really value for money. Its right beside the MTR and mall.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8audrey8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Although it was at the end of MTR Hong Kong line, but the hotel was near the MTR station through the overpass. It was located in the midst of locals, two markets around and not as congested as others suburbs. Our hotel room was facing the hill with nice scenery and tranquil. Room was spacious with large windows. The room was well lit up with 11 lights in total. The hotel staff especially the male receptionist Tony was extremely helpful and friendly. We have stayed there for seven nights. They have a gym area with 7 machines which we didn't have time to use them. They have a common computer and another one which need a password from the receptionist near the reception area. Not bad wi-fi connection. There were no charges for using the internet. It served me well as I didn't bring a laptop. We enjoyed the quietness and the tranquility of the place. It's surprisingly neat and clean, most of all very economical and price was very reasonable. Since it's at the end of the MTR line, there was no problem in getting a seat, a bonus especially during peak hours.
It was very confusing in locating the hotel on the first night when we arrived from airport. It got signs with Chinese wordings and the direction was not clear especially when you are on the overpass, you just simply got lost as there were couple other overpasses as well. I wish there would be more improvement in pointing to direction; so many hotel guests complained the same thing. My daughter and my son-in-law have resided in this hotel a year ago, it took them over 30 min. round and round circle just to locate the entrance of this hotel. They have asked the locals but most of them don't speak English.
After all, surely I will come back and stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room facing the hill, 12th floor i.e. the reception floor, lift direct to ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette2010Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I just booked my second stay in Y-Loft and I would definitely say its one of the best place you can stay in hk if you do not want to spend too much on a hotel. In fact, I find it better than a lot other hotels in hk. The room is spacious and nice. The whole place is kept clean and conducive (because there's hk's youth studying there). I actually like it there so much last year that I'm returning to this hostel this year. Although it is located far from central area, it is 5mins walk to MTR Chai Wan station, with shopping mall linked by a bridge.

Besides, the person in charge (guest services supervisor- Teddy Tsang) is really helpful and nice. He replied my email promptly and even told me the promotions going on without me asking so that I can enjoy better offers. I remembered the last time I went there, all the staff are fluent in English as well. This is definitely one of the best choice when visiting hk with friends or family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WangQiWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

very very far from the city. It's at the very end of the the Island Line and about 5 minutes walk. The rooms are clean but it was a hassle getting to our room because we have to go up to the top floor and take the elevator from the other side to get to the 3rd floor (our room floor). Very confusing layout.

If you are on a budget, then this is the place for you. But consider the long commute to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge how to get to your room. There are rooms which are on the other side and you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kipper_kipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a great place to stay in HK. Just set your expectations accordingly and you will be fine! Youth Square <Y Loft> is called a Hostel, but it's really like a hotel. We found the staff to be very nice. If you need an adapter for your electric portables, just ask at reception (which is yes, oddly enough located on the 12th floor) and they will let you borrow one for the length of your stay.
Our room was bigger here than at other pricier hotels in HK that we have stayed at. The room was very clean, and housekeeping kept it spotless everyday. The Hostel surrounding area is OK. There are stores to buy what you need close by, and is connected via overhead walkway to the rather seedy Jade Mall. The restaurants in the area are not wonderful, but convenient. One of the huge pluses is that the Metro station is just a 5 minute walk away, and it's all covered walkway and indoor Metro Station, so you won't be soggy from the rain!
Our room had a kettle, cups, towels and a shower with the greatest water pressure in the world. Bring your own shampoo and other amenities including instant coffee for the morning. The flat screen TV was great, and there were a couple of English channels- so bonus points for that. Laundry is on the 12th floor, and although the washer and dryer are pricey, you can use their awesome irons to press your clothes for free in the laundry room. The hair dryer is located in the nightstand :-)
The WiFi was sometimes spotty, but FREE! Other Hotels we have stayed at in HK charged a huge fee for WiFi. So, we felt happy to just have free WiFi.
The beds are of the standard Asian firmness, but we sleep well every night. Bedding was ofnhigh quality with no stains. The air conditioning works really well in the rooms. We found the staff at the front desk spoke good English and Mandarin. So, communication was not a problem.
We downloaded the HK Metro map to our phones before we arrived, and found that to be super helpful.
This Hostel was not even close to the area we needed to get to everyday on our trip, but HK Metro is super user friendly, so we didnt mind getting to where we needed to go by Metro. Buy a Ba Da Tong card before or when you arrive. Just swipe at the Metro station and you are set! You can also use this card at a lot of stores in HK as well to pay for your purchases.
There is a Starbucks located on the Ground floor of the Jade Mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runandwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#115 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
The Mahjong
#1 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Loft (Youth Square)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Loft (Youth Square)

Property: Y Loft (Youth Square)
Address: 12/F, Youth Square, No.238 Chai Wan Road | Chai Wan, Hong Kong 000000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Y Loft (Youth Square) 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Loft houses 148 rooms located in the Main Block and Hostel Block of Youth Square. Room selection includes Twin Rooms, as well as Twin Rooms With Balcony, Triple Rooms, House of Six, Duplex and Accessible Rooms. Equipped with full-service facilities like The Oasis, SkyTrack, common area, fitness centre and laundry marts, etc., Y Loft provides a perfect accommodation for budget travelers all over the world. It also offers concession rate to youth organization or youth activities held by non-profit organization or International Student Identity Card (ISIC) and International Youth Travel Card (IYTC) members. Y Loft has been awarded the Certificate of Excellence for three consecutive years in 2012 – 2014 and 2016 by TripAdvisor in recognition of its well-appointed facilities and the attentive service provided by staff. Y Loft further received a Bravo Badge and Certificate of Recognition from TripAdvisor and an online travel agent respectively, for delivering good levels of guest service and experience this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Y Loft (Youth Square) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y-Loft (Youth Square) Hotel Hong Kong
Y Loft (Youth Square) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing