We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for just resting your head”
Review of Oi Suen Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oi Suen Guesthouse
Ranked #264 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place for just resting your head”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Oi Suen

The location in the centre of Mongkok is ideal for tourism.
Hong Kong is all about high rises, so you will have to go into the building and take the lift up to the 8th floor.
The staff are accommodating. Just remember you are in a foreign country to so remain patient when making requests as not everything can be done with the click of a finger.
This is not the worlds best accommodation, but if you just want somewhere to rest your head and be in the heart of Hong Kong, I found Oi Suen very suitable.

Given my expectation based on what I read before arriving, there wasn't much I disliked.
Make sure you are prepared for a room with very small space. Bags will have to be put under the beds and your toilet, sink and shower are all in the same area and room.
Beyond you bed and the washroom. There is very little space available in the room.
If you need a spacious room, this is not the accommodation for you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank WB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    37
    9
    11
See reviews for
27
27
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked for a room good for 5, but when we arrived, Ms. Rainbow gave us the room good for 6! :) There was a water heater for coffee inside the room too. Ms. Rainbow was very helpful in giving us instructions on how to use the heater (for shower). It's also very near to the MTR Station. And there's also a Western Union money changer just outside their Tung Choi entrance/exit. Another thing I love about this place is the WiFi! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emz0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

First of all I would like to say if you're looking for a budget price for a group of 2-4 which is located in the city where in everything is accessible this is one of the best hostels that I can recommend. It's near to the ladies market, money exchanger, expensive and not so expensive restaurants, Street food, MTR, Mongkok Station being it's closest MTR station which is close to the stations of some Tourist spots, Techy Stores, Buses and Convenient Stores such as 7/11s. Just an advice, don't expect too much with the room size, luggages should not be that big because the rooms are not that spacious it just fits exactly a few luggage (Which can be put under the bed), they have clean sheets and clean small bathroom (with hot water) and the hostel has wifi! You can request for your room to be cleaned all the time, the helpers are very kind and cheerful, mostly the Hostel's Manager Ms. Rainbow, She's very kind and fun to be with. She will help you with all your problems anything to do with tours, entrance tickets, Macau ferry tickets and other tourist spots that you prefer to go to, directions and when your lost you can use the MTR's free wifi to contact her on the WeChat App or other Social App to ask for directions plus she speaks English that makes everything easy. :) I would recommend this Hostel to people who are in a budget trip but would like to spend everything with having an adventure around the City.

P.S she sells cheaper entrance tickets, ferry tickets, soda, coffee and other things at the reception of the hostel! And there are a lot of MAPS and MTR Directions posted at the wall and even pictures at a folder booklet.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

First let me give the good points. The rooms, being tiled from floor to ceiling, are clean as is the bedding albeit slightly grey and the staff are friendly. That is about it. The establishment resembles no other guesthouse I have ever seen and indeed the names "crash pad" or "flophouse" spring to mind although a new name should be coined for this type of accommodation. It is but one of a number of similar establishments in a 14 storey building. Maybe "squeesotel" or "cramatorium" would be appropriate. The rooms are so small (about 2x3 metres) that they should more honestly be called "cells". The only storage space is under the elevated beds (which are so short that if you are taller than 5ft 8 you will have to sleep in the foetal position) and the "bathroom" consists of a toilet, washbasin and shower. The shower is positioned directly over the toilet so you can have a bowel movement and shower at the same time although you would have to sit sideways on the toilet to do so. Sitting normally you would not be able to close the sliding shower door unless you had legs the thickness of vermicelli. When arising from the toilet I found it was not attached to the floor and flushing it caused the contents to be pouring all over the floor. Not a pleasant experience. Unlike an hotel you are not provided with towels and have to purchase these at HK$20 apiece and this for a scrap of material the size of two washcloths. Drinking water also has to be purchased. The corridors are frequently lined with other guest's luggage which makes navigation difficult. In our room the air conditioning did not work and neither did the fan so we had to sleep with the window open (most rooms do not have the luxury of a window) and this allowed the noise and smells from the street to penetrate, making sleep difficult. The racket went on until 3AM. When we left we found to our horror that the lifts were not working and had to lug our bags down a flight of stairs to the 7th floor where by a miracle the lifts were operative. Had they not been we would have missed our flight. Would I stay here again? NO and not merely because I never intend returning to Hong Kong, the most unfriendly, congested, polluted, expensive, soulless and dreary city I have ever visited but because I would rather pay a bit more for a real hotel where, if I had a cat, I would have room to swing it. I felt less claustrophobic in the Kutchi tunnels of Vietnam and paid less for a room in 3 and 4 star hotels in Bangkok, Halong Bay, Hue and Hanoi. I felt sorry for Ellen, the friendly and helpful young lady who seemed to be in charge and did not have the heart to tell her what I thought of her cramatorium.

Room Tip: Avoid this type of place but if you have to, choose a room without a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank esratrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oisuen, Owner at Oi Suen Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi esratrams,

Thanks for coming to experience Hong Kong and stay at Oisuen Guesthouse.

Being Hong Kong residents,100% agree the space in HK is unreasonable expensive with extremely limited space. Located at perfect location with perfect transportation network and convenience for shopping and eating, and would like to pay for very budget rate for accommodation, then please don't complaint about the size again and again.

Here we would strongly advise the guests don't expect Hong Kong can provided a huge space for staying like your home town because hostel room in HK just like the size of your bathroom. Please don't compare the size with Vietnam, Bangkok, Hanoi... ... which is not make sense at all.

We suggest:
1. Reserve a star hotel in Hong Kong with over US130-260.
2. Upgrade our room from double to triple or bigger

The fact cannot be changed is 90% of HK hostel is " the "bathroom" consists of a toilet, washbasin and shower" or you pay more for HOTEL(like you said), please,please,please. :)

Something very untruth is:
1. All our air-cons are 100% works for sure. Why don't you ask us if you don't know how to open?
2. Our drinking water is from eSpring filter and provides 24hours for FREE with hot and cold. Only the new bottle water would be charged. Our guesthouse is famous in some countries because we provide FREE eSpring water.
3. We checked that the lift in December 100% works. We told every guest when check in that we have 2 lifts; one is 7am-11pm and one is 24hours. (we even made a notice stick at the lift).

Something very truth is:
1. We are clean, but small
2. We are friendly and helpful
3. Our new fresh towel sells at $20; we wish guests bring the own for saving the world.
**Free teeth brush upon request*


At Oi Suen Guesthouse, there's not only Ms Ellen is friendly,but also the aunts and those staff who are deaf and mute. Although some don't speak English or even Language, they all are well-trained to show all facilities.Also, the guests are always welcomed to ask any questions from us. We don't mind some guests never respect us when we clearly introduce all service we have; however, please don't complain everyone after you don't listen or even don't ask if you don't know how's the air-conditioning works and where is the drinking water... ... :)

We are friendly because we have love and respect and we wish the love would continue forever.
Thanks for any guests who spend time to read my honest and true heart reply. Tripadvisor is fair to let the hostel to have a feedback, but not only keep hurt by the untruth comments.

Thanks again and again.

Best Regards,
Ms Ellen aka Rainbow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in October for 5 days. Like most other living abodes in this tightly knit city, it was small (as in shower over toilet kind of small!) but clean and the staff were generally friendly and helpful. If you just need a room to sleep for a 2-3 day stopover then it will do! Location was pretty good (we sort of enjoyed the subtle rough edges of Mongkok), near the metro and across the road from the Ladies Market.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Kim Singapore
good location, 3-5 mins to mongkok mrt, its convenient to travel to any parts of kowloon or hongkong. shopping and eateries within walking distance. room is clean and comfortable, they do room cleaning every day, WiFi very good, they provide drinking water both hot and cold, service is good, the boss Ms Ellen is very friendly and helpful, speaks good english, i like her honesty, at first i bought ferry tickets to macau from her but when she found out that we are going macau city instead and the ferry tickets we bought does not bring us there, she actually refunded us the money straight away and even give me advice how to get another ferry near macau city. its an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: if you prefer spacious rooms, you may want room with twin beds though it may cost a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimlimck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

First of all, the service is really good because the woman in charge at the reception is fluent in English and give you all useful advises for your visit of Hong-Kong and Macao and even for mainland China. Nevertheless do not expect too much for the room, wireless internet is good, no breakfast. At the time I was here, only one lift was working so be patient to go upstairs and downstairs. Rooms are extremely small according European standards so be ready, do not be surprised. The quality of the beds are very poor, air conditionning is working well but very noisy. For the bathroom, space is even more smaller, toilets and shower are mixed and this makes it very exotic. The rooms are not very clean and it seems that sheets of all beds are not changed every day.

Room Tip: The best advise is to take a bigger room (take a room for 4 if you are 2) because space in the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOUSS190273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
#196 of 718 in Hong Kong
106 reviews
Mong Kok
No photo provided
Jinhai Hotel
#250 of 718 in Hong Kong
2 reviews
Mong Kok
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
#249 of 718 in Hong Kong
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Pop Hotel
Pop Hotel
#266 of 718 in Hong Kong
94 reviews
Mong Kok
Sun Ying Hotel
Sun Ying Hotel
#222 of 718 in Hong Kong
19 reviews
Mong Kok
Mongkok Railei Hotel
Mongkok Railei Hotel
#402 of 718 in Hong Kong
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oi Suen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oi Suen Guesthouse

Property: Oi Suen Guesthouse
Address: R811-812, 8/F Sincere House, No.83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oi Suen Guesthouse is located at Hong Kong shopping center, Mongkok.We are newly established,comfort,clean and tidy,providing free computer Internet access,WIFI,cool and hot water,towel and personal appliances etc.All railway and bus stations can be reached within 5 minutes which is convenience for you to travel,visit and stay with us. Mongkok is crowded for 24hours,so the eating,shopping……all are surroundings.Even Hong Kong People ourselves also tend to book a hostel for our relatives in Mongkok as it is too convenience!We believe that nothing is more important then communication. We are pleased to be a travel consultant and solve your doubt with email, msn, facebook for communication. We wish the relationship between us is friendship. Our staffs are friendly and keen to make a recommendation about shopping and eating for you.So, OiSuen Guesthouse is your best choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oi Suen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oi Suen Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Oi Suen Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing