We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hostel”
Review of Oi Suen Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oi Suen Guesthouse
Ranked #398 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at OiSuen very much, it's located conveniently near the subway (and a lot of shops if you are interested in shopping) and felt very safe and clean. As everybody is saying Rainbow is really nice and very helpful and the non english speaking staff was nice as well.

It is located near a busy street so until 12 p.m. you can hear some noise but after that I had no problems sleeping (and I'm susceptible to sound). For first time HongKong visitors to avoid disappointments: The rooms are very small but from my experiences you will not find bigger rooms in that priece range.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jakob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

Very nice place to spend several days in Hong Kong. Good location, clean and comfortable rooms. 5-star hospitallity. Rainbow - the hostess, was extremelly helpful. Do not hesitate to choose this guesthouse in Mongkok area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArtuKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

really a nice location
i stay single room , it clean ,safe ,service computer.

Rainbow is so cute. and her English is very well.
i have a good time at here. ,

i would book them again because of this. i'm quite satisfied with the quality of service and the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Narin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Clean, safe, great location. It was a bit of a struggle to check-in since the guy did not know how to speak English, thou pleasant and accommodating. Rainbow was very easy to deal with and had a very charming personality. Good discounted tickets to the Macao ferry. No window but the ceilings were high so it didnt feel claustrophobic at all. Bathroom was really tiny.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed here for more than 2 weeks, had no problems with their service, cleanliness and security, it was just perfect! Highly reccomend it to everyone if they want to enjoy the night life of Hong Kong at an incredible cheap rate!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

My first time stay in hostel. It a good idea for budget travelling. Although the room is small and clean but still acceptable. They do the cleaning daily. The owner Rainbow and all staff very helpful and nice. Rainbow will guide us about the travel information. Very good location, in the centre of Mongkok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

If you are claustrophic and traveling alone - do not stay in the private room.

This was my first time staying in a hostel in HK and even though I was aware that the room was going to be small I was not prepared for the prison like conditions of the private room for a single person.

The total size of the single private room is about the size of a closet. The bed is encased by three tiled walls and when you slip off the edge of the bed you are literally at the bathroom. I barely could close the door to take a shower b/c there was just no space!

The noise in the room is also very creepy. The sounds get flitered through the exhaust pipes and by the time it reaches your room it has an echoey effect. I could not sleep and was very grateful someone happened to have been hammering at the same time and I was able to get upgraded to a double occupancy room.

The double occupancy rooms were much better (I stayed in a room with windows) in terms of natural sounds (Mong Kong is busy so be prepared for city noises) and a bit more space. The bathroom is still very tight so if you're not that close with your traveling partner you'll need to schedule shower times as you will have to step out of the bathroom naked. There is no space and everything in there will get wet.

Pros:
- staff very friendly, however as noted by others the brother and mother have very limited English
- clean
- free wifi (hard to find in the city) and free local calls
- discounted tickets to local attractions
- location is pretty central with food and 7-11 close by

Be aware:
- If I havent' said it enough times - SOLO travelers do not stay in that private room
- I stayed on two separate occasions (once by myself and the 2nd time with a friend) with a one day break. They charged me to leave my luggage behind. I was a bit surprised as I was coming back to continue my stay and it was 1 piece for 1 day.
- Check out time is stated at 12pm on the bookings but they will try to get you out by 11am. I stayed until 12pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window. Even though the noise from the street might keep you up you'll fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yachingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
#183 of 729 in Hong Kong
135 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Asia Travel House
Asia Travel House
#427 of 729 in Hong Kong
56 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
#415 of 729 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Fortune Hotel
Fortune Hotel
#223 of 729 in Hong Kong
52 reviews
Mong Kok
Sun Ying Hotel
Sun Ying Hotel
#250 of 729 in Hong Kong
20 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Wellyet Guest House
Wellyet Guest House
#423 of 729 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oi Suen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oi Suen Guesthouse

Address: R811-812, 8/F Sincere House, No.83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $44 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Oi Suen Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oi Suen Guesthouse is located at Hong Kong shopping center, Mongkok.We are newly established,comfort,clean and tidy,providing free computer Internet access,WIFI,cool and hot water,towel and personal appliances etc.All railway and bus stations can be reached within 5 minutes which is convenience for you to travel,visit and stay with us. Mongkok is crowded for 24hours,so the eating,shopping……all are surroundings.Even Hong Kong People ourselves also tend to book a hostel for our relatives in Mongkok as it is too convenience!We believe that nothing is more important then communication. We are pleased to be a travel consultant and solve your doubt with email, msn, facebook for communication. We wish the relationship between us is friendship. Our staffs are friendly and keen to make a recommendation about shopping and eating for you.So, OiSuen Guesthouse is your best choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Oi Suen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oi Suen Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Oi Suen Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing