We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, and good location”

House of Jasmine (Ocean Centre)
Ranked #760 of 8,042 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Reading
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, and good location”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Found this by chance in the shopping centre, really busy so we had to wait, but it was worth it. Went for the set menu which included lobster and shark- food was beautiful, service good and price even better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    56
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Dim Sum -- Quite an experience”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visiting Hong Kong with a friend and colleague who recalled a delicious Cantonese restaurant in the Harbor City shopping center across from the Star Ferry terminal in Tsim Sha Tsui, we quickly found it on the fourth level with a nice outdoor space with beautiful views of Hong Kong island. While the view was lovely, the food immediately caught our attention!

We started with delicious tea with ice (cranberry and lemon for me) and then rolled right into beef, scallions and fried garlic. The flavors were subtle and savory. This would be our experience with every dish. We argued over which was the best: noodles with spicy peanut sauce, baby pork with a salad which was a nice contrast. Steamed shrimp dumplings and abalone rice in a lotus leaf were all perfectly done. In the end the airy dumpling and delicious balance of the pork of the spicy pork bun was the star of our perfect meal. The entire service was engaged and with reasonable prices, the entire meal was a knock-out.

Most of the families and groups on a Sunday afternoon were locals and so the only challenge for English-only tourists is that many of the servers do not speak English. All-in-all a real find and a wonderful experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Innkeeper_8DyerHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worst cantonese ever. Beware. ”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Attracted by thebice view and the locals (always a good sign) I gave this a try. The service was disorganized and more interested in chinese guests than takibg my order.
The food was really bad. The dim sum and the vedgetables were swimming in oil. The meat was of doubtful quality badly cooked and probably not fresh any more. I would have given 2* if it werent for the fact that the food ruined my stomach for 3 days. This Restaurant made me stay clear from chinese cusine for some time.

Helpful?
Thank phoebos02
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maui
Level Contributor
300 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Enjoyed nice harbor views while dining.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Look where the locals go on Sunday for lunch and this is it. We ordered a variety of dishes and shared with a group of 5. Food was hot, fresh and very delicious. Wait staff was very pleasant and told us lots of funny things about living in HK. Located at large mall so if you want to shop it is a good location.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
706 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
“A cut above other dimsum places”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I used to live in Hong Kong and have had dimsum (savory dumplings, a typical Cantonese breakfast or lunch) in restaurants of all quality levels. This one compares favorably with most others, and is a good choice for shoppers in Ocean Terminal/Harbor City, which is the largest shopping complex in town.

A turnip-Yunnan ham pastry was quite nice - light, flaky, no hint of oiliness. Apart from the dimsum, a chestnut and mushroom dish was also very good.

A very filling meal cost US$20, about right for the location and the restaurant amenities.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Jasmine (Ocean Centre) also viewed

 

Been to House of Jasmine (Ocean Centre)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing