We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cantonese cuisine”

House of Jasmine (Ocean Centre)
Ranked #687 of 8,054 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cantonese cuisine”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Restaurant is located on the 4th floor of Harbour City which was a bit difficult to find. Ordered a specialty dish i.e. abalone stew with glass noodles in a claypot which was a bad choice. The abalone was not tender and was rather tough. The glass noodles soaked up the gravy and thus the dish ended up very dry. The rice in the bamboo container was mediocre and so was the lemon chicken.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    56
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl River, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A chinese gem”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Located in a shopping complex in the HK harbor, this rooftop restaurant was a wonderful surprise.
We were taken by Hong Kongers who also ordered for the table. A wonderful way to sample different dishes.
The style of cooking is cantonese. From the dim sum to the fish, everything was delectable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant while shopping in Kowloon. It is on the fourth floor of a shopping mall, but do not let that deter you! My mother and I were the only non-locals. Although the service was very slow, the food was typically Cantonese and delicious! I highly recommend the jasmine tea and the dim sum platter/special (which allows you to try 5 or 6 different types). Outdoor seating offers great views of Victoria Harbor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DFWgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We wouldn't return!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This restaurant was the real low point of an otherwise great trip to Hong Kong.  The food was lacklustre and the service very unfriendly and slow. And they had run out of bottled water .....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good business location”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stopped at House of Jasmine for a business lunch and it was pretty good. We ordered a mix of dim sum and the food was all very good if not exceptional. The view is fantastic and it had a good atmosphere however the service is a little lacklustre.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahmac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Jasmine (Ocean Centre) also viewed

 

Been to House of Jasmine (Ocean Centre)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing