We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute and Total Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madame Tussauds Hong Kong

Madame Tussauds Hong Kong
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.66*
and up
Hong Kong and Macau Attractions Pass
Ranked #54 of 807 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As the one and only celebrity-inspired attraction in Hong Kong, guests can meet over 100 A-Listers from around the world in one place at Madame Tussauds Hong Kong. Not only can fans get up close with their idols and snap pictures, they can also interact with these celebrities and iconic personalities as they step into each of the specially designed exhibition sets. Play martial arts with Jackie Chan, meet with Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt, pose with David Beckham, savour a chic breakfast with the adorable Audrey Hepburn in her little black dress or pose alongside the ultimate fashion and music icon – Lady Gaga. Who do you want to meet?
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute and Total Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is my first visit, and last visit (20/7/2013)

1. Despite with the exchange ticket on hand, you can only wait in front of the ticketing counter for more than one hour. when you look at the helpless crowd with tickets on their hand, you understood immediately that even if you successfully exchanged the ticket- you need to wait for another bazillion hours until the people inside "is willing to come out"!

2. If you don't want people to take photo on you wax toy, KEEP IT INSIDE! don't show outside and ask the crowd DO NOT TAKE PICTURE.

3. The quality of wax? I cannot comment much. But for sure all the displayed wax toys outside (including the highly protected one from photography) are utterly ugly and horrible (you can tell it is wax and it can be used inside scary movie).

Why should we waste money and time on it?

Think thrice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JIANNLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    427
    211
    48
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Qatar
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've been to the museum yesterday and it was my 3rd time to visit. It was very disappointing to say the least. Getting a ticket needs a waiting so long as they only have a counter open. It took me at least 20 minutes to even exchange my prepaid vouchers to tickets!

Then you have to queue again to enter the premises. They ask everyone to line up so they (Madame Tussaud staff) could take your photos with the Jackie Chan and sell it to you later on. You can not use your own camera to take photos with Jackie. This creates chaos in the whole area as everyone has to queue even if you don't want your photo taken with Jackie Chan! Lines are so long and could take another 15-20 minutes of your time when they could just create a separate line for those who would opt not to have their photo taken.

As far as the main exhibit is concerned, they've taken a lot of the personalities out. You don't see Brad Pitt anymore, nor the Beatles, Freddie Mercury and is now really short. It's not worth it to visit especially with the price you are paying for! They said they were renovating but they should slice the price if they have removed a lot of the pieces for viewing.

No wheelchair access.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for getting whakies with the stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

What can you say, wax, camera and people everywhere....
the problem will be waiting for your turn and being crative on the wax figures.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rye-Yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tagaytay, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

it is not everyday you see celebrities in their preserved and very identical form. the kid's love this museum, they are amused on how they made this look alive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GisselleDeLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not what I expected !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

There are fewer icons than the one in London
I was at the one in London 4 years ago and visit the one in Hong Kong based on my London experince.
I think there are some modifications goin on to make it better place !
I do not recommand visiting it anytime soon

Helpful?
Thank Sharaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Madame Tussauds Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Madame Tussauds Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing