We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hop Inn
Nearby Hotels
$200
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
$234
$166
Cordis Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
$267
$182
Hotel ICON Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$239
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
$144
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$106
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$178
$129
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$167
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
$97
$71
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
196
244
54
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
244
54
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomgreat locationtsim sha tsuiwater dispenserdouble roomhot and cold waterwalking distancecleaned dailymtr stationchina ferry terminalminute walkbus stopstayed nightstrip to hong kongcarnarvonhosteltoilet
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 516 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had stayed both Hankow & Carnarvon branches and each branch has a different experience. It depends what are you looking for. For example,

Hankow branch is very much peaceful and quiet place to be, it has 2 level of security – 1 from security guard station at ground floor and the other is the hostel main door whereby u have to ring the bell for the personal staff to get u in. Because Hankow has only about 8 rooms (which I had counted correctly I think), means there’s only less movement from your fellow neighbors outside which made ur overall atmosphere quiet and undistributed.

As for Carnarvon, they provide public facilities like living room, rooftop terrace good for fellow-shipping moments with your peeps with a bottle of beer as well as the chance of meeting new people there if you happen to be solo traveler. They also provide DVDs, Foosball, board games etc… for your extra entertainment. The best thing is that, in case u cant sleep in the middle of night. Just hit at your nearby corridor and do your own scribbling on those artistic walls…!!!

Whereas, Room was cosy, clean and I liked the idea of those different artistic design in particular room. As those art pieces can bring up my sense of delineation according to my own world that self-entertains me a lot which I don’t feel so alone in the room anymore then hahax…!!!

Lastly Staff were very helpful of course and show no language barrier…….

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0yOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in early January 2014. We loved the location right in the heart of Kowloon; close to transport, restaurants and shops. Friendly staff and like minded travelers! Will definitely return. Rooms clean and comfy...cannot fault it!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank chrismatonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at the Hankow location in July and very much enjoyed my stay. The location is fantastic, your really able to get around HK from here and the area around the hostel has plenty of shops and cafes at a range of prices. I had a private single room and it did the job nicely. Place was clean and the staff friendly. I liked the funky decor though the public hallways are a little on the dark side and there isn't really any communal areas to meet other travelers which I know is a big appeal of hostel staying for many but didn't bother me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliodhnaZtoical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Was there for 6 nights and it really was a great stay - you get to experience the way locals live! Location is among the buzz of Tsim Sha Tsui. Hop Inn Carnarvon comes with a common room complete with a sofa, dvds, books, traditional fridge with drinks (you need to pay for the drinks but the convenience and the thought is here!). There is also a water cooler with both hot and cold water (free). Best of all, there is a rooftop hangout place! You can have supper or a drink beneath the HK night sky, just like what you see in Hong Kong serials!

What's great was the super helpful, friendly and thoughtful staff who is always around to answer questions and to help in any way possible! And yes, they also have "lobangs" over the counter for all kind of tickets - Disneyland, Ocean Park, Peak.. you name it, they have it!
Its walking distance to 3 TST MTR exits and there are many HK cha chan tings in the area. The inn is near the China Ferry Terminal (can go Zhuhai for shopping), bus stop to Airport (A21), Avenue of Stars & HK Skyline, and two shopping centres Miramar Shopping Centre (American Eagles, Uniqlo) and The One (Broadway cinema and tons of eateries).

The only reason this inn didn't get an 'excellent' from me is that the bed is small and hard, and the walls are not sound proof. If you are a light sleeper, you can be easily woken up by voices in the hallway or in the next room. We booked a queen bed but it felt more like a super single instead. Guess this is due to the fact that land/space is scarce in HK and the rooms are hence smaller. If u like a fluffier pillow, bring a neck pillow. Wish the pillow has more stuffing!

Other than that - it's a GREAT & RECOMMENDED INN to stay!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desmond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

HK is very expensive so to stay in this hostel, you'll pay enough as well. But don't hesitate. It's a nice place for young people, even with young children. Our room was small but clean, we had a clean bathroom and enough hot water in the morning to take a shower. It's very close to the metro. You'll find lots of nice restaurants in the neighbourhood. They don't serve breakfast but you can have breakfast at Délifrance if you like bread.
Our children really liked drawing on the walls!!!
It's in a very busy street, so take earplugs!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingwithtw0kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews