We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Clean, and Great Location”
Review of Hop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hop Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My friends and i stayed in Hop Inn on Hankow late last August 2013. The rooms are smaller than usual but we knew this right off the bat. The place was clean overall and the staff was very accommodating. It's in a great location with lots of places to eat around. It's a good 5-10 minute walk to the TST MTR and the big TST shopping malls are also within walking distance. We totally loved our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Hop Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 506 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed 4 night in a single room. There was no window, even if i had emailed before and especially asked for a room with a window. Anyway, it was fine. The room is really small, but also quite cheap in Hong Kong standards.You could hear it clearly when people were slamming the doors but other than that, quiet. The whole room is really clean, and the bathroom is new. Tv has lots of channels and ac and wi-fi are working perfectly.
The staff is friendly and everything is near and accessible. A free airport bus is departing right across the corner. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellu666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great loctaion!
The hostel in in the middle of Kowloon and in walking distance from the star ferry pier and the MTR.
The rooms are tiny but spotless and comfortable.
There is a common liviing room with games and books and a terrace as well. They provide hot and cold water through dispensers.
There is a McDonald's across the streat and a 7-11 down starirs.

the loctaion, the helpfull and friendly staff and the quirky painted rooms make thsi place a great budget option to stay in HongKong!
I stayed here with my husband in April 2012.

Room Tip: The twin room woudl be more spacious than the double bedroom for 2 people.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NUPURG321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Hop Inn Carnarvon for 10 nights in a twin room and a friend stayed in a single room. Rooms are small but what I expected for price! Really what more do you need other than a bed And a good shower. The beds were a little hard and the pillow too soft but you get used to it. All the staff are friendly and the rooms are really clean. My husband and I are 45 and our friend is 57 and we enjoyed it. No problems being older! If you are on a budget and would rather spend the money on the activities than the accommodation this is the place for you. Right in the middle of it all. Don't forget to pack your walking shoes! We will definitely stay again. Lisa, Dave and Alan NSW Australia

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Cheery, bright, clean but rather small rooms were what we paid for when we arrived in Hong Kong's Kowloon district on a cold December night. I liked it the moment I stepped in, fuss free, friendly staff who were very helpful, lots of info everywhere on places of interest found within the inn and best of all it was a stone's throw away from all the major shopping areas. We easily walked everywhere (Sogo, Chunkin Mansion, Tsim Sha Tsui MRT, Science museum and every morning to Mc'D's for coffee and breakfast)
I was also lucky to spend a night in their new branch which was just a street away (the rooms were fully booked in the inn, hence I was given a room in their new inn)
My cousin was happy with his tablet that he loaned from the reception for a deposit of HK$50. Same charges apply for adaptors borrowed.
It was a nice and new experience for us who always frequent hotels. It was definitely friendly on the pocket too.

Room Tip: Most rooms are on twin sharing basis but the rooms for a single person is very small. All rooms have...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenukaMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

the walls are thin, you can hear tv from the room beside you.

the counter was staffed by interesting personalities, chat with them to get a feel of HK.

the lounge and roof top was a nice touch. we spent alot of our time there.

Room Tip: not the room next to checkin counter
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wongnwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hopinn on hankow in a room with private bathroom for 2 nights on a stopover on our way to the UK. The room was clean and the ac worked. The place is in a great location and for price definitely good value for money. Reception was friendly, spoke English and the room even had a tv - mostly local channels though.

The main problem with the place is how small it is, which is a pain with 2 people and trying to find space to dig through our bags for clothes. It could also use a sign out the front because if you don't know what you are looking for can be a bit tricky. Minor complaints are that the water is either scalding or freezing so you have to adjust constantly and the bed is shorter than what I'm used to and not very comfortable.

Overall good value for money and recommend for short stays or if you don't have much luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shockie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,890 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#97 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,678 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#161 of 721 in Hong Kong
437 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#4 of 159 in Hong Kong
410 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 159 in Hong Kong
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hop Inn

Address: 9/F James S. Lee Mansion, 33-35 Carnarvon Road, | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: $47 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hop Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor's CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2015 / 2013 / 2012 Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2013 WINNER - Top 20 Bargain Hotels in China Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2012 WINNER - TRENDIEST HOTEL Most Popular Hong Kong Hostel 2012 by Hostelworld Voted the No.1 HONG KONG HOSTEL 2012 / 2011 / 2010 By Hostelworld ~ Recommended hostel by Lonely Planet / Fodor’s / Petit Fute ~ Located in TST, each living space is unique – designed and transformed into living artwork by a different talented local artist or illustrator. Whether you are travelling with only one backpack or lugging along a couple of suitcases, we are pleased to offer you a comfy, modern and clean, yet affordable, living space while offering friendly and helpful service. HOP INN is more than just lodging -- HOP into a living art space! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hop Hotel Hong Kong
Hop Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing