We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Hong Kong”
Review of Hop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hop Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best of Hong Kong”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The building entrance to Hop Inn at Carnavon Road looked dodgy but our fears were allayed once we stepped into Hop Inn on Level 9. Six of us stayed 3 nights in triple sharing room. Though the rooms were compact, they contained all we needed : air-conditioning, hot shower, clean beds & towels. Simon & his team are most welcoming and patient in recommending eateries nearby and giving directions to Hong Kong attractions. They did not hesitate to extend late checkout at 1:30pm when requested, which allowed us to freshen up before leaving HK (usual checkout time is 11:30am). The downsides to Hop Inn as mentioned by others are the lack of soundproofed rooms and a relatively thin mattress on one of the foldable beds (the rest of the beds were comfortable). Other than that, it was a value for money, safe and comfortable stay at Hop Inn. LIKE !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    238
    51
    11
    9
See reviews for
63
137
105
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel deserves five stars for value. If you are looking for luxury, this is **not** your place. But if your alternative is to stay at the Chungking Mansions, this is a million times better at the same price. You get a clean, small, spartan room, with AC, a TV, private bathroom, towel, and shower amenities. You get an excellent common space, with an amazing rooftop balcony to enjoy some of the city bustle from up high. You get a small price tag. Five stars for the amazing value! But, I would probably rate it at 4.5 if TripAdvisor let me. The walls are kind of thin, so you can hear your neighbors talking and shutting doors. Also, the doors automatically shut by slamming, which wakes you up every time somebody enters your block of rooms.

Room Tip: If you want a window, you should double check with reservations to ensure you get one. Some rooms l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Hop Inn Carnavorn and it was really a great stay. Even though the room was small but it's just nice for two of us. I especially love the location. there's a nice HK snack in front of the inn , walking distance to MTR , few steps to Paul Lafayet dessert place (with awesome creme brulee) and of course Nathan Rd. Those who are looking for a good place to stay in HK , look no more. Just choose this place. You won't regret it :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyu2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed in the Hop Inn in Hong Kong in October and highly recommend it to anyone planning a short stay in Hong Kong.

I was travelling for work and Hop Inn had been recommended by an architect friend who had visited but not stayed in it. The booking was made on my behalf by someone else and proved to be the source of a great joke and prompted questions such as: have you seen where you are going? Do you know how cheap it is? Rumors abounded that I would be sharing a room with other people … The disbelief resulted from the seemingly absurdly cheap price.

The reality was… a clean (albeit tiny) room, with en-suite (power shower), 24 hour air conditioning, free WiFi and a fabulous location. Hop Inn is also very easy to find arriving on the airport bus.

The very friendly and helpful staff provided much appreciated advice/recommendations on places to eat/visit.

Hop Inn, Hong Kong provides high quality service in a very compact package, it is an ideal base for exploring the city, and offers unbelievable value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariposa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Tsim Tsa Tsui (TST), in my opinion, is the most convenient area to stay in Hong Kong and Hop Inn Hankow is less than 5 minutes walk from the MTR. Shopping, dining and attractions are within walking distance. TST MTR station is in a very centralised location that allows you to travel to different parts of Hong Kong easily.

The 2 Hop Inn locations are within walking distance so no real difference which one you choose (location wise). I stayed in the Hankow one for 4 nights and on my very first night, walked to Carnavon Road (where the other Hop Inn is located) for supper and back.

During my stay, I found the staff to be very friendly, rooms are small but clean. Wifi is available and they have laptop and tablets for lending, all this for free. There is a staff round the clock who will open the main door for you so if you need any help at any time, there is someone there.

Maybe the only thing to highlight is that even though there are efforts to sound-insulate the doors, it can't be helped that you may get disturbed if another room have noisy kids or loud guests due to the close proximity of the rooms.

Will definitely come back when in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chank1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed in this place for about a week with my wife and son. I have to say that the place is really well located, close to TST MTR, and it's kind of funny how you get to the hotel, the entrance is hidden and in my opinion that makes the experience more interesting.
The rooms are quite small (I paid for a triple room but it's even smaller than the room of my son in my apartment), anyways it's clean and the staff is helpful. The TV is Ok, quite modern device, and the internet is fast.
I would recommend this place if you are young, you want to meet people from other places and you have little budget and you need to save some money. Or if you are an experienced traveler and it's Ok for you to stay in a very small place. Outside the building there is a 7-Eleven so you can buy everything you need.

Room Tip: I would go for a triple room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmendeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at the Hop Inn Hankow for 5 nights.

Pros:
- Excellent location and very close to TST MTR
- Very cheap rates
- Fast free wifi internet for downloads
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Fast and helpful replies to emails
- Very clean and modern
- Good sized LCD TV
- Nice artwork on the walls in the room

Cons:
- Relatively slow internet for uploads
- Very small room but perfectly functional

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richhewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Kowloon Hotel
The Kowloon Hotel
#138 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hop Inn

Property: Hop Inn
Address: 9/F James S. Lee Mansion, 33-35 Carnarvon Road, | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hop Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor's CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2015 / 2013 / 2012 Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2013 WINNER - Top 20 Bargain Hotels in China Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2012 WINNER - TRENDIEST HOTEL Most Popular Hong Kong Hostel 2012 by Hostelworld Voted the No.1 HONG KONG HOSTEL 2012 / 2011 / 2010 By Hostelworld ~ Recommended hostel by Lonely Planet / Fodor’s / Petit Fute ~ Located in TST, each living space is unique – designed and transformed into living artwork by a different talented local artist or illustrator. Whether you are travelling with only one backpack or lugging along a couple of suitcases, we are pleased to offer you a comfy, modern and clean, yet affordable, living space while offering friendly and helpful service. HOP INN is more than just lodging -- HOP into a living art space! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hop Hotel Hong Kong
Hop Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing