We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to locate!”
Review of Hop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hop Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Pasig, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Easy to locate!”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

What I like most about Hop Inn is the location, next is the unique and artsy feeling once you stepped in. I got busy reading almost everything posted on their boards. Some rooms are quite big but unfortunately we stayed in Room 2 which is their smallest room. In my opinion, the rate is quite pricey. We paid 610HKD/night for the smallest room. How I wish they can lower down the price. Other than that, everything is OK. They have fast wifi connection, working hot/cold shower, cable TV, and a quiet AC!

With regards to service, there's only one staff (a old woman) who doesn't want to change our bed sheet. We found a stain and asked if they can change it. She said that it is clean and that they only change sheets like every 2 days (for conservation purposes). She talks too much and insisted that if there is a stain she is pretty sure that it is not blood. I guess all she needs to do is check it, and change it. So as not to make a big scene out of it, I just said that maybe it is just rust or something. The night was young, and I don't want to ruin it. The rest of the staff are very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopinn, Owner at Hop Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear ShinaG,

Thank you for your valuable comment & sorry for the worries caused during your stay. We shall seek improvement in our servicing in order to provide a hustle-free experience for the guest. Hop Inn guarantees to change & provide new set of clean linens & towels for every newly check-in guests. And we shall change linens & towels upon guests' request.

Best regards,
Simon
Hop Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    239
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
65
137
106
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I spent a lot of time researching places to stay for my first visit to HK. I'm glad I found the Hop Inn. I stayed at the TST location which was perfect. It is surrounded by MTR entrances, a few minutes to Nathan Road and a 5 minute walk to the Star Ferry.
Yes, rooms are small, as advertised, but are clean and adequate. Staff were excellent and helpful. Wifi was also an excellent added bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acoolbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I went by the reviews here and booked in at Hop Inn. They have two properties now and we stayed at the new one in Carnarvon. Being a new property there are some minor issues which they are trying to rectify.

Other than that there is nothing you can complain about. The staff are are simply superb.
I would definitely stay here if I visited Hong Kong again. I would not waste my money on staying in expensive hotels when this place offers you everything, from lonely planet book to adaptors, umbrellas, computers, printouts and more.

Surely this place will give you peace of mind and will save you money to shop!

In addition the location is fantastic too - whether you want to reach the station, take the bus to airport, shop, go to harbor, eat ---- everything is nearby.

Cheers to Simon, Wilson and everyone else at Hop Inn.

Room Tip: Book in Advance!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melblore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Read the reviews on here and decided to go with them, and didn't regret a moment of it. Located centrally in TST minutes away from everything, the location was perfect. The real stars are the staff who were incredibly helpful and very friendly. Beds are a bit on the stiff side, and be ready for a bit of noise at night, but otherwise a great choice. Also a little tricky to find.cheers

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PersianCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This place is located right in the middle of everything on the Kowloon side and the people running the front desk while we stayed there were very kind and helpful. The rooms however are very very small but it's not like they're keeping it a secret, you see them all on their website. I was also traveling with three people and the room size would've worked just fine for two of us. Once again though, the location is really good, close to the water, the MTR, Nathan Road, the night market, everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Hop Inn is a hop away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Strategically located in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, Hop Inn is minutes away from shopping, dining and the MTR. The staff at Hop Inn are (very) friendly and accommodating. With some of them having worked at the Hong Kong Tourism Board, the recommendations for cheap and great eats are spot on! They will be opening up another branch not too far away in the near future. Bring earplugs as the powerful shower may get a bit noisy at times. This place is a gem and worth keeping in your little black book of places to stay. It has made a mark in mine!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PapsKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was a beautiful hotel, the rooms are lovely and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The food was great and the staffs were nice. The location was great , too. Overall a great choice if you want to have a good relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,805 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,621 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,618 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,721 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 157 in Hong Kong
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hop Inn

Property: Hop Inn
Address: 9/F James S. Lee Mansion, 33-35 Carnarvon Road, | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hop Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor's CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2015 / 2013 / 2012 Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2013 WINNER - Top 20 Bargain Hotels in China Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2012 WINNER - TRENDIEST HOTEL Most Popular Hong Kong Hostel 2012 by Hostelworld Voted the No.1 HONG KONG HOSTEL 2012 / 2011 / 2010 By Hostelworld ~ Recommended hostel by Lonely Planet / Fodor’s / Petit Fute ~ Located in TST, each living space is unique – designed and transformed into living artwork by a different talented local artist or illustrator. Whether you are travelling with only one backpack or lugging along a couple of suitcases, we are pleased to offer you a comfy, modern and clean, yet affordable, living space while offering friendly and helpful service. HOP INN is more than just lodging -- HOP into a living art space! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hop Hotel Hong Kong
Hop Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing