We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible; dont stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shama Central Serviced Apartment
Ranked #211 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We paid heaps for a luxury one-bedroom room. Beyond disappointment. Staff are surly and rude and extremely unhelpful. "Everything you need to know is in the services book." would be their motto. Room smells musty and seems to have not been stayed in for a long time. Sofa wasworn and provided minimum support. Not to mention the extremely squeaky bed. 2 of the 5 waasher/ dryers in the laundry room are broken and seemed to have been so for a long time. My family was sneezing once we entered the room. Everything needs to be paid for. We wont be staying ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MeiLhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 64 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2010

I stayed in the Shama Central from mid-September through the end of November, and absolutely loved it.

The location was absolutely perfect. Near the escalator, it was a short walk/ride to my office at IFC. It was also very near fabulous night life, great restaurants, a Park N Shop grocery, the wet market and all of the great shops along Hollywood Road.

The service was spectacular. My room was cleaned thoroughly daily and the staff was wonderful in helping me with my baggage and transfers to/from the airport. I arrived at the Shama at the tail-end of a typhoon. I called ahead for the porter to assist with my bags as the taxi can't get down the street. Not only was the porter nicely waiting at the appointed spot, but he had graciously brought along two umbrellas!

The laundry room is pleasant and well-lit. I didn't use the exercise facilities but that looked nice as well. The bedroom was large and well-arranged. Staff left helpful notes about preparations for typhoons and celebrations for local holidays. They would even arrange a tour of the neighborhood for you so that you could discover all of the nooks and crannies of the place. I stayed on the 13th floor and had a lovely view of the Hong Kong skyline.

I have to say, I particularly miss the shower in the bathroom. It was so large and stylish, it was kind of pleasant to get ready in the morning.

I used the dry cleaning services several times and was pleased with the quality of service and the reasonable costs.

As a woman traveling alone, I found the safety and security of the building to be first rate. Elevators will only stop on floors if your key fob activates them and I saw staff monitoring security cameras of the entrances several times.

The only slight negatives I found to the place where that the stovetop wasn't really enough to make anything on, there wasn't an oven, the wifi was incredibly slow and there weren't really enough English-language channels outside of all of the sports offerings.

Honestly though I'd recommend this place to anyone and look forward to staying here on future trips back to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristie617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Shama Central

I was planning for a trip to Hong Kong in Feb and this was my 4th visit to Hong Kong (just love the city!). I always stayed at hotels in Tsim Sha Tsui or Causeway Bay as they are the central hub for shopping! But for this visit to Hong Kong, me and my friend decided that we want to stay in a more quiet area of Hong Kong. It worked out great as we saw this promotion at Shama (serviced apartment) with the daily rate special in Central. The room was spacious, furniture was nice AND comfy! I liked the design of the room too – clean and simple! Another thing about serviced apartment is that you won’t see many people walking around the building like in a hotel, I enjoyed the total privacy.



Though it was already my 4th time visiting Hong Kong, I still didn’t quite know the way around the area in Central. But staff at Shama was just so helpful! I still remember the day when we arrived, their staff came down to pick us up and helped us with the luggage from the bottom of the hill! It’s always easy in Hong Kong cause you see taxi everywhere, but as I can’t quite understand Chinese (and obviously can’t speak Chinese), a nice Shama lady came down with us and helped us telling the driver where to go!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

It is really a pleasure experience to stay in the Shama at Central. It was the first time that we went to HK. Compared with hotels, shama offered us more detailed guides for travelers. And what impressed me most is the service, warmth and consideration of the property management people there . After the check-out, we found we left some coupons and receipt s in the room. We went back to the property and wanted to try out some luck. Beyond our expectation, the staff helped us to search for them in the dustbin, and even clean the dirt on it. They said 'sorry' again and again to us. Actually, it should be us feeling sorry about it. I have shared the story with some of my friends and suggested them to choose shama when coming to HK.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I stayed in several Shama Buildings and was a long-term guest staying for about a year and a half. I can only advise to please, please stay away from Shama. The service was terrible, the room had problems that were not resolved, the management was unresponsive, and they were always raising the prices or asking the guests to pay more. When I first moved in, my feet were cut as there were nails sticking-up out of the carpet! They had laid the carpet carelessly and it was old and stained. I still have scars on my feet. I am happy to give you more details but I will never, ever stay with any SHAMA ever again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gurentai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Shama Central is one of several service apartments that the Shama group operates in Hong Kong and cities in mainland China. The Shama Central and the Shama Causeway Bay are the only ones currently rented on a daily basis in HK. We stayed in a standard one-bedroom unit during the Xmas holidays. We wanted something bigger than a hotel room for the 3 of us, with a kitchen for snacks in the evening or if jet lag had us waking early in the morning. We made the reservation by phone from the U.S. with their English-speaking HK office. If you book 5+ days you can get a “weekly-rate” discount off the daily rate. We booked with the discount but then called 48 hours before arriving to shorten the stay, so our rate reverted to the normal daily rate, still a bargain compared to hotel rates. The rate they quote covers everything – no tax, service charge or internet fees on top of that.

This apartment is not really located in Central, it’s in the trendy south of Hollywood (SoHo) district close to the mid-levels and a couple blocks beyond the Escalator. Insert the address in Google Maps and you’ll get an accurate fix on the location. The apartment is on Peel Street, a pedestrian-only street of boutique restaurants, bars and street vendors. Your taxi will drop you off at the top of the block at Hollywood St. Call ahead so the apartment will send a porter to help get your luggage down the hill. This location is a little difficult for taxis to navigate to because of one-way and closed streets, but you can always get a taxi quickly at the Hollywood intersection. It’s also a fairly long (6-8 blocks) walk to the Central or Hong Kong MTR stations. On the other hand, the immediate neighborhood is full of local color (see photos) with fish mongers, vegetable stands, and all kinds of clothing and trinket street vendors, as well as wonderful high-end and low-end restaurants.

The apartment building was newish-looking; the Shama web site photos of the building and units are accurate. The office was on the second floor (3rd floor by U.S. standards, as the first floor is the “ground” floor) and seemed to be manned 24-7. The staff was calm, extremely friendly and had a desire-to-please attitude that was genuine and not the plastic, trained friendliness you find in hotels these days. Every staff person we ran into, in the elevator or hallway, would greet you as if you were a family friend. This resulted in a very homey feel to the place. The office had two Mac computers for guest use and a printer. (I believe there is a charge for printing.) Free cookies were laid out and a Nespresso espresso machine with a free selection of regular and decaff coffee pods was available all the time. I would pop down a couple times in the morning for a brew to take back to my unit. Since the number “4” is unlucky in Chinese, there was no 4th, 14th or 24th floor – but there was a 13th floor!

Our unit had a tiny kitchenette with stove, microwave, under-counter refrigerator, hot water boiler, toaster, pots, plates, glasses, utensils, chef knives/scissor and cleaning items. There were single-serve instant coffee packets and a selection of teas. Two bottles of water were set out on arrival and sometimes (not always) replaced by the daily maid service – you can get more (sometimes but not always) from the office. Despite what the website says, there was daily maid service even on holidays. There were air conditioning units in the living room and bedroom with remote controls, but no heating. As this was during the cool period in Hong Kong, they brought in a portable sealed-liquid electric radiator which did the job nicely. There were many windows which opened to allow in fresh air. When we made the reservation, they said there were no non-smoking rooms so we wanted windows that open as we’re sensitive to smoke. But our room surprisingly had none of that residual stale smoke odor. In fact, during our entire stay we never saw (or smelled) anyone smoking in or around the apartment building. It was also very quiet, to the point where we wondered whether anyone else occupied the two other units on our floor. We never heard any noise from the unit above, or from the street. There are no real views from the windows except rooftops of apartments below.

Furniture was of medium quality, not new but in good condition. The bed was equivalent to an American king size (very large). The mattress was very hard, which was fine with us, and the linens were white high-quality finely-woven cottons now found at all high-end hotels. The sofa was not a sofa-bed, the management brought in a roll-away bed for our son and waived the HK$200/day fee. There was a small dining table with two chairs and a bench. Lighting was plentiful, with ceiling indirect dimmer lights in the bedroom and living room. The bedroom had a large closet with drawers and plenty of wooden hangers. Two bedstands also had drawers. A small electronic safe accommodated a 15 inch laptop and paper files. There was an iron but I don’t recall if there was a hair-dryer.

The bathroom was tiled with a marble-top counter. It was clean, but didn’t have that antiseptic, hospital-clean feeling that you get in some hotels. The sink counter had two drawers. Toiletries were high-quality Bulgari shampoo, conditioner, lotion and shower gel. There was a large shower stall (no bathtub) with a rain-type shower head. This didn’t produce the high-power fire hose spray that some people like. As is standard in Hong Kong apartments, there was a switch (on the lighting switchplate) for the water heater which you need to remember to turn on a few (2-5) minutes beforehand. The hot water in the shower sometimes varied hotter or colder during a shower. There was a standard 110 volt – 220 volt electric shaver outlet that took U.S. and European two-prong plugs.

This apartment came with a 42-inch Hitachi flat panel TV and a Toshiba DVD player that played US region-1 DVDs that we brought from home. The visual quality of the DVDs played on this setup was among the best I’ve seen, better than what we had at home. English-language TV stations included CNN, BBC, CineMax, HBO and Discovery. There was a small “boom-box” type stereo that we didn’t use. In the bedroom was a small stereo with iPod dock. There was no TV in the bedroom. Shama shrewdly anticipated that guests would use the dining table as the office desk, so the wall next to it had two electric outlets plus (and I’ve never seen this anywhere else) a 4-outlet power strip, in addition to the LAN high-speed network cable. All outlets were Hong Kong 3-prong UK-style, so you’ll need adapters (we had several so didn’t need to ask Shama for any). My laptop also detected a Shama unsecured wireless node, but I didn’t use it. The free wired internet worked great. There were phones in the living room and bedroom. Local calls were free -- which means calls anywhere in Hong Kong (that’s why storekeepers will let anyone use their phone – the territory is so small you can’t make a long-distance call). The room came with a direct-dial phone number that you can give out so others can call you directly at your apartment. A voicemail system takes a message if you’re not there.

In addition to expensive laundry/dry cleaning service like you get at hotels, the Shama had a self-service laundry room on the 6th floor with three washers and two high-capacity dryers. Amazingly, these were free; you only needed to provide your own detergent. The laundry room also had a wash sink, an ironing board with iron, TV and sofa.

There’s no restaurant or room service at the apartment. Outside, if you go down Peel Street and turn right on Gage Street (also mostly pedestrian, with an occasional delivery truck wading through the sea of shoppers) there’s a Park-N-Shop grocery store with the essentials (e.g., laundry detergent). Before there is the Lan Fong Yuen restaurant. This is a well-known local spot for cheap Hong Kong/English style comfort food. Breakfast of milk tea or their special milk coffee plus their specialty roll with butter and condensed cream costs about HK$20. Their grilled pork bun (the picture on the wall made it look like a hamburger) also was a cheap local specialty that’s quite tasty. For lunch, I had a wonderful fish in white sauce over rice.

A block over from Peel at 17 Aberdeen Street is the Red Tavern, a high-end continental restaurant. A relative took us there for dinner and it was fabulous. HK$350-400 got you a complete dinner with hors d’hoeuvres, appetizer, soup, salad, pasta, entrée, dessert and coffee/tea. Each plate they brought out was surprising and wonderful and by the end we were stuffed. They had no wine menu, so our host, a connoisseur of international wines, stopped by the Park-N-Shop and bought an unexpectedly good wine– so good that she bought a case and had it delivered to her home. The Red Tavern doesn’t charge a corkage fee. Book ahead as it has only about 7 tables.

We toured all the room configurations at the Shama Central. Our apartment was about 725 square feet. There was a larger “luxury” one-bedroom apartment with a separated living room with a pull-out room divider that can make it into sort of a bedroom separated from the kitchen/dining area. That unit also had a small TV in the bedroom. The full two bedroom unit has a second half-bath (toilet and sink only). The studio unit was much roomier than a hotel room and a good value.

In summary, we found the Shama Central to be a comfortable and quiet alternative to a hotel, particularly for a family, that generated a home-away-from-home feel, and we enjoyed the local color. We wouldn’t hesitate to return there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank PA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shama_Management, Manager at Shama Central Serviced Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 726 in Hong Kong
830 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#20 of 726 in Hong Kong
395 reviews
Central
Hotel Madera Hollywood
Hotel Madera Hollywood
#97 of 726 in Hong Kong
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#168 of 726 in Hong Kong
241 reviews
Central
Butterfly on Wellington
Butterfly on Wellington
#38 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shama Central Serviced Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shama Central Serviced Apartment

Address: 2/f, 26 Peel Street | Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $226 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Peel Street, in the heart of Central, our 56 chic contemporary serviced apartments provide calming retreats in the perfect location. The city’s most vibrant neighborhood boasts traditional market stalls, fashionable restaurants, antique shops and stylish boutiques all nestled side by side and offering a true slice of Hong Kong life. With their unparalleled location, lavish furnishings and our staff’s uncompromising care, the apartments of Shama Central exemplify luxurious city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shama Central Serviced Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shama Central Hotel Hong Kong
Shama Central Serviced Apartment Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing