We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base of Operations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lee Garden Guest House
Ranked #25 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Base of Operations”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lee's Guest House is in the perfect location to get around and see the rest of Hong Kong.

I was in the cheapest room and there's no other way to describe it other than as cramped and tiny. There was no window. The bed was comfy though with a half decent price and I consider the accommodations as good considering what I paid.

The service at the front desk was amazing though, it made all the difference in the world. I'd stay here again for sure (though I'd probably upgrade to a better room next time).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    67
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
35
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was nicely surprised when I visited some rooms: 'bright & clean' was my first impression. A bit more pricey than what you could find in the Chunking Mansions, but still very cheap for what you're getting: shower inside, good air-con, TV, windows. Located in the center of Tsim Sha Tsui, that's pretty much all you need when visiting Hong Kong!
All my ratings below as well as my opinion are made in comparison to other guest houses in I've been to in HK, so don't expect a Grand Hyatt ;-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are a couple that stayed at Lee Garden Guest House in a private room with an ensuite (room F). We were well aware of the small closet sized rooms in HK so we were prepared. Our room is small, but for the price (and location) it's all you really need. We spent most of our time exploring the city and just slept/showered here. Our room had enough space for 2 large suitcases, and enough hooks/hangers to hang up stuff. I think our room is actually a little bigger than some of the other rooms. So try get this room if you can.

The toilet/bathroom is tiny, but too be expected. The room is clean and serviced every day, with fresh towels and toiletries. There is also a TV in the room which is a plus!

Charlie was really friendly and speaks good English. For a quiet, safe, and clean place, I'd definitely recommend this place. Location is a BIG PLUS! Everything close by - restaurants, massage places, shops, metro.

Note: This is not a typical hostel, as there is no common area to 'hang', so it's probably not a good place if you're a solo traveler wanting to mingle or meet people.

Room Tip: I can recommend room F. It was quiet and had more space than the others. There is also a fire escape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hools007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

stayed there for 4 nights. Only plus point about the guesthouse is it's location. It's located at Tsim Sha Tsui, highly accessible to everywhere. The room is really small. We stayed in a triple bedroom with bathroom in it. The double bed is really small for 2 people to share and the single bed is smaller seemed smaller than the usual single bed. Walking space is minimal with all the luggages in the room as well. There's only 2 powerplugs which limit the number of devices that can be charged at any one time.

The bathroom is REALLY small. There is no way that you can bathe without your clothes hanging at the side getting wet. The showerhead is kind of faulty with water squirting out at the back. There is hot water for bathing. Toiletries are changed everyday but the towels don't seem very clean as there were stains on them though they were new.

All in all, I would recommend the place only if you are running low on budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Went there last May 2012. The room and bathroom/toilet was very small but we didn't feel constricted.My husband and I stayed in the room. The room was clean and A/C was working fine.Bed sheets were clean.Also the hot shower was working fine. The location of the place is really good. It's like 3-5minutes walk to the mtr. You can also walk going to Avenue of Stars, LV store, museum , shopping area, etc. The receptionists were very nice to us.(1-2 women at the reception area) We are like 11 people during that time(entire family). We bought Disney and Ocean Park tickets from them. We asked for directions at times, and they helped us with that too. Even though the room is really small, I guess that's common in hk, I felt safe here. I mean we go out at night to buy at a nearby food store/ fastfood restaurant and there are still lot of people outside and streets were lit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just came from HK and stayed here for 2 nights..location of guest house is perfect for travellers bec its very near the MTR. although it has small rooms it was never a problem because it offered comfort to me and my whole family..you know it is a good place to stay because they are always fully booked, so be sure to get an advance booking..good for people with tight budget but it's all worth your penny.. downside> they only accept cash..so just be prepared..surely I will go back here again if I decide to visit HK soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephPogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travelled solo recently and stayed for a night. As a solo female traveller, I felt pretty safe (even late at night) and most certainly did not have to wait very long for the lift, though it is rather cramped and only accommodates 4-5 people (with luggage in tow).

I was delighted to find that it is centrally located in the heart of TST. The MTR station is just a short walk away (perhaps 5-10min?). The Airport Express Bus A21 stops just at the end of the street (near Park Hotel), which makes it convenient and cheap to get here from HKIA.

Amenities are basic but comfortable. Cleanliness was wayyyy better what I experienced at the supposed 4* hotel along Prat Ave. I am a stickler for cleanliness - yet the only two gripes I have are that 1) the towels seemed a little yellow and old; 2) there were some black-ish things I found on my bed in the morning, which I suppose came from the air-conditioning unit (also a bit old). Other than that, I think the room was pretty functional and adequately clean. The free wifi and hot shower worked like a charm, so I didn't have much to complain about. Do note, however, that the complimentary boiled water, the microwave and fridge are all outside the room, for communal use.

The staff can speak a variety of languages, apart from English and Cantonese. I once witnessed the matronly lady behind the counter converse fluently in Japanese before switching back to English to address me.

A quick look at the shops around the area also seemed interesting - the DNA mall, Charlie Brown Cafe, Wu Dai Tong Tang (dessert shop), etc.

Overall, I would say this place holds great value for money! Based on location, space and amenities at this price... I'd say it's a steal! A lot more bang for your buck if you stay here rather than at the other pricier options nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emscheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#24 of 158 in Hong Kong
161 reviews
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#20 of 158 in Hong Kong
304 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hop Inn
Hop Inn
#6 of 158 in Hong Kong
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 158 in Hong Kong
562 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 158 in Hong Kong
405 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#10 of 158 in Hong Kong
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee Garden Guest House

Property: Lee Garden Guest House
Address: Block A, 8/F, 34-36 Cameron Road,, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lee Garden Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who are looking for a laid back and private feeling atmosphere budget accommodation in central location of Kowloon, with more than 30 years of experience and good reputation, welcome to Lee Garden Guest House. Certification of excellence from Trip Advisor of 2012 to 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lee Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee Garden Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Lee Garden Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing