We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended for budget travellers”
Review of A-Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A-Inn
Ranked #498 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed there for 3 days and two nights. The place was crazy convinient since its in the heart of mongkok. It's close to three Seven-Eleven branches, branded shops, big malls and a money changer that has the highest rates in the area. In three words I can say that its decent, clean, and small. The front desk lady during the day speaks fairly good english, but the the front desk lady during the night only speaks (understandable) fragmented english. If you're good in charades and sign language you'll be fine talking to her. I arrived there in the wee hours of the morning (3am-ish), I was a bit apprehensive not to find the place since other feedbacks I read told me so but I this wasn't the case. As long as you have a good eye and a good map (and map reading skills), you can easily locate the entrace and the small 'Sincere House' sign engraved in silver letters. The 24-hour entrance which I usually use is across Seven-Eleven and outside the entrance is a taxi waiting area. You'll never get lost with these directions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacky_oh_oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 30 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed in another hostel in the same building before so it wasn't hard to locate. TThe entrance is just beside a food stall that sells smelly tofu and all sorts of HK snacks. I like it that the room area that I stayed in had an extra door that required a key to enter. That gives me assurance and security that my room is really safe!

For the price I paid and having 3 individual beds, I am a happy customer :)
Oh yes, the hostel is really smack in the heart of Mongkok shopping district!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liyun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This place is hard to find. We took the Airport Shuttle Bus No. A21 and got off at Mong Kok , but after that we were totally lost, just walking up and down Argyle Street but can’t find the hotel, the entrance was not on the main road, and there's no building number for us to identify the buildings, by the time we found the place we were extremely exhausted. To save time for other travelers, here's my opinion, take the MTR to Mongkok station, exit at D2, walk straight, you will see a 7-11 across the street, you have to turn left before the 7-11, its just on your left immediately after the left turn. The whole journey should take less than 3 minutes from the D2 exit to the entrance of A Inn. Reception is on the 14th floor even though the rooms are on the 8th. Our room is just basic, and very small, but clean. There's also a small flat screen tv mounted on the wall, wifi is free. They only accept cash, so make sure you have sufficient "Cash" for your stay. Although the location is hard to find, once you found it, you can’t compliant about the location, it’s really good, short distance from MTR and with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JennyJian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. The place was a little hard to find(look for the doorways at eithier side of the building) Reception is on the 14th floor (go there first) but we had a room on the 8th. The room was basic but very clean with fresh bed linen and towels. Also had a flat screen tv mounted on the wall, wifi was free and worked very well from our room.
The location is great, not far from the MTR and restraunts and shops.
The building itself is crazy, dodgy looking but weve had no trouble and it was really quiet. Queueing for the lifts gets annoying at times.
Would definatly recommened for people on low budgets like myself

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

A-Inn was a reasonable place to stay in the heart of Mong Kok. It's really just one of the operating names of one group of hostels in the building. The place was clean and towels were provided on request. It is very well located, right near the Ladies Market and the various restaurants of Mong Kok. Reception is on the 14th floor.

My only criticism would be one of the public computers which needed its keyboard replacing.

Room Tip: Private rooms are nice in order to avoid waiting for the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NusantaraRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

From what we've heard about hostels in Hong Kong this was a good place to stay. The room was tiny, only a bit bigger than the bed, but was fairly clean although we think the sheets were dirty. The saving grace of this place is the lady that usually works in the day time on reception - she was lovely and very helpful. Reccommended if you're staying in Hong Kong for only a couple of days, but much more time in the box room could send you crazy. Decent location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Electr0nica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This first night I stayed in a single room that was really horrible, right by the check-in desk. It was so noisy I couldn't sleep and the room was barely larger than a coffin. The second night I moved to a better room, with two beds and its own bathroom. This was much better. The room is nice and clean, the bedding is fresh and does not smell. The bathroom is fine too. I felt safe coming and going. The only problem is noise, of people coming and going, banging doors, etc and some beeping noises from the common area where there is drinking water. So if you're a light sleeper then you may have a problem. If you need a window in your room you also may have a problem. I was able to use the Internet with no problem.
The location is great, so convenient for the MTR and the bus to the airport!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trixxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Asia Travel House
Asia Travel House
#426 of 730 in Hong Kong
55 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
#412 of 730 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Mong Kok
Fortune Hotel
Fortune Hotel
#215 of 730 in Hong Kong
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Sun Ying Hotel
Sun Ying Hotel
#227 of 730 in Hong Kong
20 reviews
Nathan House
#515 of 730 in Hong Kong
7 reviews
Mong Kok
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#493 of 730 in Hong Kong
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Inn

Address: Room 809 & 1304, 8/F, Sincere House 83 Argyle St. Mong Kok 83 Argyle St, Mong Kok, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $40 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A-Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your A-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Hotel Hong Kong
A-Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing